Which Soft 4WD to choose?

Submitted: Saturday, May 24, 2003 at 23:31
ThreadID: 5105 Views:5738 Replies:13 FollowUps:17
This Thread has been Archived
G'day All and thanks for your time,
At the moment I'm stuck between the choice of two soft 4WD's mainly due to price, fuel economy and I'm very new at off-road travelling. The choice is between a Nissan X-trail and the Subaru Forrester. Firstly I've managed to squeeze the Nissan guys for a good deal and yet to push the Subaru dealer any further and due to space and engine specs the X-trail is coming out on top. We want the vehicle for occaisonal weekend camping in the mountains (nothing too serious as yet) and the trip up to the Fraser Coast - beaching driving. The guys selling these machines will tell you that the vehicles will have no problems with dirt tracks and beach driving. However after reading some reviews and comments by experienced off road drivers, each vehicle has their limitations in each environment. Friends are pushing me towards the higher end of the 4WD market, however the cost is limiting and we would like to crawl in this new environment before we can walk...
If anyone has any comments on this choice I would really appreciate it.

Thanks heaps.
Tony.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Saturday, May 24, 2003 at 23:52

Saturday, May 24, 2003 at 23:52
Theres a couple of guys who drive the Forester on the Overlander forum and im sure they would be happy to help.
AnswerID: 20970

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Saturday, May 24, 2003 at 23:58

Saturday, May 24, 2003 at 23:58
gday tony
dont know much about the xtrail but nissan build good cars
the forester is a very capable 4wd in its range both have limitations which you will only find out when you use it as only then will you be able to compare effectivly it suitabilty to your needs i asume that you are buying new rather than second hand