Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 09:51
The Esplanade
I have an 03 V8 100 series. The car has done 100,000 K's. All
services have been carried out to Specs. Diff oil replaced at 80,000K.
The other day I noticed that when the front
wheels were turned a bit and I began moving I could feel a grabbing through the steering/car. As though the centre diff was locked in. Checked this but was unlocked.
Went to the mechanic and he felt that it was the clutch in the Rear LSD grabbing. This makes sense as I generally only notice it when turning at slow speeds.
He suggested adding an additive to fix it.
Any thoughts please?
Is this common?
Will the additive work or create more problems?
Am I better to replace the diff oil? If so, what is the best?
Eventhough the oil had been replace at 80,000 should I be getting this, or does it mean a problem?
We have recently come back from a trip to the"Centre" We did about 3000k on dirt roads.
Reply By: obee - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:05
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:05
Someone might have put ordinary gear oil in. You need LSD limited slip oil. Buy some and put it in yourself. You cant trust the dealers or anyone for that matter to do anything right. I had the same problem but it was the oil getting too old and a change did the trick. The old oil came out looking like
old engine oil, black and horrible.
At any rate a litre of oil wont break the bank and you eliminate that scenario before moving on to getting the speciallist surgeon in.
You should be able to use a squeeziee bottle to put the new stuff in.
Many people do not believe in additives and I would not give work to a mechanic that did. LSD difs in particular need oil that is such that the clutches both do not bind nor slip when you need them. Sticking other lubes in on top wont help that.
Owen
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:42
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:42
Your sentiments on additives are really curious.
You say you wouldn't give work to a mechanic that would use an additive.
It's curious because LSD oil is normal diff oil with an additive for the plates.
Follow Up By: obee - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:02
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:02
Oil is a balance of ingredients designed by the oil company to provide an optimum product for the purpose defined. Mucking about with it only detracts. Nothing curious except the way people throw money at things that are not required.
Thats my take anyway but I appreciate your comments. I would never learn anything if I didnt listen.
Owen
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:28
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:28
It's true that oil companies do a lot of research to find new and better oils for various applications, and virtually all products are in fact a mixture if ingredients. Each ingredient is an additive.
But it's equally valid to create your own blend if you need to.
When we were kart racing, we needed to blend our fuel manually all the time - for some engines 50:1 pulp with fully synthetic Silkolene Pro oil, others required 16:1 with caster oil, others 18:1 with relatively standard 2 stroke oil. If we were to try and run the engines without the oil additive, they would seize and on the other hand to try and run them on the oil only wouldn't get us far. In each case the additive transformed a show stopper into a fully functioning engine (and heaps of fun !!! )
If you are at
Birdsville and need to change your LSD oil, you may need to use plain diff oil plus an LSD additive because that's all that you can buy. The additive will transform the plate shuddering diff into a properly functioning unit. Clearly if you can buy the manufacturer recommended diff oil it makes sense to do so.
That's why I reckon any additive for any product should be evaluated on its merits, and not dismissed because it isn't available pre-mixed.
Follow Up By: obee - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 07:35
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 07:35
Point taken. I shall take that on board and stop criticising additives.
Thanks for the feedback.
Owen
Reply By: Nav 8 - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:06
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:06
This symptom is common with the Navara rear diff. Although the service book recommends oil changes every 40000K they need to be changed every 20000K or the clutches will start to grab.(especially if towing a heavy van) Drain the diff and fill with a good quality limited slip diff oil and you will probably find the problem has disappeared. Regards Nav.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:12
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:12
Make sure you open the filler first, as it is a PITA if you drain the diff and can't open the filler plug LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:27
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:27
Nav 8
Don't be silly, I don't see the need for diff oil changes at 20K or 40K , I have always done
mine at or near 100K to 150K , the rear Diff has done 712,000Klm , I add Wynnes or Nulon,
Doug
Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:44
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:44
No there shouldn`t be a need to change at those Ks but on two occasions now I have experienced this problem. I change the oil and the symptom immediately disappears. It starts to grab at around 30000K and I use a good quality oil Penrite LSD 90. Nav.
Reply By: ooze - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:16
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:16
Had the same problem with my commodore. New LSD diff oil AND additive which was recommended/required. My mate works there so wasn't getting ripped off. You may not need the additive though. As above, proper LSD oil, see how it goes, then maybe an additive. The LSD oil is very common and easy to find.
Reply By: The Esplanade - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 11:55
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 11:55
Thanks for the replies and info.
Any particular oil that is better? What should I be looking for?
I think the manual says 90w.
Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:43
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:43
just use a major brand
LS90
Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 13:46
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 13:46
I use Castrol LSX 90. Available from Super Cheap for a good price...
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 07:56
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 07:56
your breadbox has 100k klms on it, the LSD will be long gone...
Toyota have never been able to make an LSD that lasts.
Reply By: The Esplanade - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 08:25
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 08:25
Changed the oil last night. Went for a quick run and it did seem better.
Will report back tonight.
The old oil was nice and clean and no metal on the magnet.
Follow Up By: The Esplanade - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:47
Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:47
All is good. No noise and no leaks.
Thanks for the tips.