Off Road Caravan Under 2.5 Tonne

Does anyone know any off road caravans that weigh 2.5 tonne or under - FULLY LOADED?
Lyndi Lou

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:19

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:19
My 16'6" Trakmaster comes in just under 2500 loaded. It was 2170 dry out of the factory.

AnswerID: 269098

Follow Up By: Lyndi Lou - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:31

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:31
Thanks, will check it out.
Lynda
FollowupID: 531930

Follow Up By: ddr - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 14:25

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 14:25
My 15'6" Trakmaster is under 2t Loaded, with shower Toiler etc.
FollowupID: 531938

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 20:42

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 20:42
Hmmmm ......been researching van options for awhile now .... - whatever the Trakmaster weighs (timber framing), I recon the Kedron might be a bit more (metal frame) and the Bushtracker 2 bits more via HD metal frame...... no ? The latter two both use HD leaf springing as well.
FollowupID: 532047

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:25

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:25
My Parents 16ft Phoenix is just on 2.5 tonne fully loaded. Their's is pretty speced up though.

I believe the smaller Supreme's , 11, 13 & 14ft vans are under 2.5 loaded depending on options.
AnswerID: 269099

Follow Up By: Lyndi Lou - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:33

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:33
Thanks, will check this out too!
Lynda
FollowupID: 531931

Reply By: RedGibber - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:41

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:41
...and another to look at is the Sunland Longreach. At 18'6" and fully loaded comes in under 2.5t as well.

Red
AnswerID: 269104

Reply By: marcus - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:47

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:47
Hi Lyndi Lou,
Supreme Getaway make vans with either single axle or tandem which have a good reputation for value and off road toughness.
www.supremecaravans.com.au
Another possibly worth looking at is Compass terrain tamer
www.compasscaravans.com.au
Cheers Mark
AnswerID: 269106

Reply By: honestjohn - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 15:31

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 15:31
Lyndi Lou,
how offroad do you mean? we have just bought a new Millard Horizon 19'0' offroad pack, full van i took it to the weighbridge and it came in at 2300kgs fully loaded water and 2 80 watt solar panels 2 105amp deepcycles in boot. we have taken it away a few times already,simplicity suspension no worries on dirt and corrugations(where 90% of people go anyway) just an option to look at anyway,works for us.
honest
AnswerID: 269123

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 18:11

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 18:11
Lyndi Lou, I suggest you look at the Kimberley Karavan as one of your options at the Kimberley site. They will come in close to two tonnes fully laden.
Some think it is an ugly duckling, but it has some endearing features like great diesel hot water, diesel stove and heaps of other special features.

My rig pic has ours behind Moses the Nissan, but the one above is well travelled behind Peter's Disco. There are somewhere near 160 on the road so far.
AnswerID: 269153

Follow Up By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 18:31

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 18:31
Hi John
long time no see

They want a CARAVAN not a pregnant trailer

BillF
FollowupID: 531990

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 20:41

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 20:41
hahhahaha Bill, I know you just want to hear Bonz on the UHF again saying"all I can see in my mirror is a swaying block of flats" with Fay'd Away immediatly behind him.

I always look out for that unmistakeable outfit mate, but not seen you since. Best wishes to Pauline too.
FollowupID: 532046

Follow Up By: Lyndi Lou - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:33

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:33
Hi John,

Love the Kimberly Karavan but have to sleep three adults & think it's a bit of a squash. Thanks anyway.

Lyndi Lou
FollowupID: 533013

Reply By: jdwynn (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:31

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:31
Just out of interest, does anyone know the laden weight of a 16-18' Bushtracker or Kedron?
AnswerID: 269174

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 23:01

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 23:01
Willie was talking 3.5T two-three weeks ago for his and he was adding to it the diesel hot water systems that the Karavan have so there will be quite a few kgs added.
FollowupID: 532107

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:00

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:00
My Trakmaster brochure states 1960kg (approximately) for an unladen 18' Nullabor. A few options would easily add 200kg or so to that - then add the load for the road - from what others have said here and eslewhere, these figures might be "unhelpfully optimistic" on the part of the builders.
FollowupID: 532135

Follow Up By: Members - Bow - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 18:28

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 18:28
My 18ft Bushtracker weighs 2400kg including Solar and extra water tanks
FollowupID: 532226

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:40

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:40
Hi Lindi - Our 19ft Supreme Getaway (poptop) is 2.3 fully loaded.
Tows behind the 4.2 Patrol, and we get about 17 ltr/100 Klms.
Prior to this, we owned a Coromal Corvair offroad - 1.6t fully loaded.

Both very capable (poptop) vans, and well appointed....Keith
AnswerID: 269209