The Pyrenees

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:16
ThreadID: 51084 Views:2899 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
Is the Pyrenees area under a total fire ban ATM??

If it is, I just found the Vic CFA info on what is required, I got it at christmas when we were down there.

Page 1

Page 2

Reply By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:20

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:20
Ha ha
I was intending to have an image not a link LOL

Try again

AnswerID: 269133

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:24

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:24
I don't think they would let you in ....A

FollowupID: 531951

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:30

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:30
Not every Queenslander is a Pyro ha ha

FollowupID: 531952

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:23

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:23
WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOIN'

AnswerID: 269134

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:24

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:24
I'm struggling ATM LOL

FollowupID: 531950

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:32

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 16:32
I live about 70 KM away from the Pyrenees and the Weather is not too bad at the moment, cool with some showers around.

However, the fun about the climate here is that it can be 10 degrees and sleeting one day and 42 Degrees in the shade with a TFB the next so you need to pack gear to be able to handle both.
AnswerID: 269135

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:24

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:24
G'day Kev,

We believe we have the most up to date infromation we can get as to the Declared Fire Danger Period by munacipality.The Pyrenees Shire will be declared the weekend after we are there according to the information I have. That doesn't bar Total Fire Bans though which can be declared any time.

I have been keeping in touch with the Manager of the local DSE branch who is also the fire controller. He will have the phone numbers of all the leaders for the trips across the forest areas. Just in case of evacuation.

The camp area itself is a declared Fire Refuge. It is a cleared space that is largely kept mown by the Pyrenees Shire. Heather and I have actually just returned from the camp and the grass is drying, I don't deny but is still green and less likely to burn. I today mowed the area around the two buildings we will use to keep wild life exposed and danger to a minimum.

There is a fire place within the building with a chimney, but that couldn't cope with the number of people we are expecting. We have another prepared area mown to cope with a larger number of people. Bonz will mark that and I am endeavouring to find something suitable for a fire ring.

I am also taking our ute with a water tank and fire pump and expect to take one or two waterfilled pressurised fire extinguishers.

For fire danger days, it would be better to not have fires, but I do suggest that campers have some non-solid fuel form of cooking.

From the above, you will note we are trying to prepare for all eventualities, so we don't have to defend anything but will be prepared anyway. Interestingly, the Elders Weather site is predicting a little dampness for that weekend.

Another thing........... make sure you have your fly defences, there are a few about.
AnswerID: 269142

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:45

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:45
John,

I have a steel rim that is 700mm in diameter and about 450mm wide, I can bring that down if you think it will be big enough for a fire ring. I'll get one of the boys at work to cut the guts of it out.

If it's not needed it's heading for the recyclers LOL

FollowupID: 531965

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:55

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 17:55
Kev that'd do a treat mate, JR is looking at getting a couple of tractor rims, but if you've got that we're half way there

FollowupID: 531970

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 18:46

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 18:46
I think it was off an LX120 Loader and I've got plenty of room in the trailer LOL

FollowupID: 531998

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:01

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:01
G'day guys, actually I hope to get something bigger than the one you are talking of Kev. I really liked the size of the ones at Warraweena which must be 1500mm across. The John Deere shop in your town Bonz, has a tractor rim about the size that Kev is talking about. Will say at the moment Kev, thank you for the offer, but am still looking, preferable for something a little larger.
FollowupID: 532002

Reply By: Member - Chris G (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 12:54

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 12:54
Hi QLD Kev from us all heeyah in them thar Pyrenees.

Happen like there aint none of them thar 'Fire Restictions' in force roundabout now. Folks here is lookin' forward to all yous city folk visiting real soon. Sent my brother Jethro's boy Cletis out and around to 'Sus Out' [like yous city folk say] where to get the best 'Grits and smoooothest Shine' . Jobs done [there I go agin dang me] Like I said we's all lookin' forward, why even the wimminfolk is gonna shave evvveeerrry day. Just while yer here.
PS The crick is dry so dont none of you good old boys bring yer canoes this time. Preacher John was here with his sidekick'Moses'
I also saw his frien Lucy? Thought we had some plain folk hereabouts but my oh my.
AnswerID: 269275

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 13:01

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 13:01
Chris,

I am forced to live in the city at the moment LOL
Although it will be good to get back to Cletisville to wet the appetite ready for return to Gods Country.

As for seeing "Lucky" well I supose that the good times had to end sometime ;)

FollowupID: 532162

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:01

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:01
Lucky is tucked away, will be releasing more info later. Got his feet up thinking of Yota mods ;-]
FollowupID: 532173

Reply By: Member - Chris G (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 13:24

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 13:24
Hi Agin Kev

You said its 'LUCKY' I thought Big John said it was 'LUCY'
I thought at the time 'wow that there woman dfferen', whats in THAT power bulge on HER truck'. Mind you, a measure a' body hair is seen as quite fetchin' hereabouts. Please fergiv me as that was my very first post..........feels odd to be a vergen of any kind round these parts.......if yer know what I mean
See yous soon
AnswerID: 269282

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:00

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:00
That power bulge is the owners false sense of security ha ha

I'll see ya when I'm lookin' at ya

FollowupID: 532172

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:03

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:03
The Droopy is Lucy, we just say HE is LUCKY. It may be indicated more later
FollowupID: 532174