People have lost the plot

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 23:13
ThreadID: 51105 Views:3252 Replies:19 FollowUps:18
Interesting day today. Driving along Warrigal Rd and came across a broken down Rodeo. Bonnet up , bloke looking flustered. So i pull up and ask if he needed any help.

A quick look found that he had blown a head gasket. i advised him that he shouldnt drive it, as the oil had mixed with the water. After a little chat, we tells me how he only lives up the road about 2 kms . I look inside and see that it a manual and offer to give him a tow , since he lives on Warrigal rd . He was excited and said as long as it wasnt out of my way. In true 4x4 faction , snach strap out and off we go. Half way there and I have this IDIOT, freaking at me , YOU CANT FLAT TOW , ITS ILEGAL he screamed.

I thought , why dont people mind there own Bloody business. This guy leant over to wind his window down and let me have it , he was so into telling me off and quoting the law that he didnt see the car infront of him stop , so he rammed straight into it lol .

I couldn't stop laughing. We get up the road to the guys house and pull into his drive way, before I could say anything , i noticed the guy in the rodeo on the phone. After a few secs , he got off and started laughing. I asked if he was laughing at the guy who stacked his car , he replied yet and then flipped out his freddy. This bloke was a cop and called the local boys to make sure he get a ticket for recless driving lol.

Now , how do you see it ?

If people think that I broke the law and should put up with the abuse , hey ill cop it on the chin , my view , bend the law and help someone if you can.

Be interested to see people view .

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 23:35

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 23:35
Bloody Beautiful!!!!
That's justice isn't it
AnswerID: 269219

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 23:44

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 23:44
hahaha, bluddy funny stuff, love it.
AnswerID: 269222

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 00:28

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 00:28
Hmm. funny.

So the moral of this story is mind your own business ;-)

In the end is it breaking the law to tow someone in that circumstance?

Andrew wondering since when has his phone been his "freddy"?
AnswerID: 269227

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 06:08

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 06:08
Andrew,

His "Freddy" is his Cop badge LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 532120

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:52

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:52
Strewth.........I thought his "Freddy" was something he'd normally hide in behind his fly zipper!!!!!! LOLOL
FollowupID: 532141

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 17:39

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 17:39
at first i thought he was talking about a something too?
FollowupID: 532211

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 06:09

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 06:09
A good story a lot can happen in 2ks.

AnswerID: 269233

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 06:49

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 06:49
My old man once told me "Rules are for the obedience of fools and the guidance of wise men"...

If only a few more people applied some common sense ;-)
AnswerID: 269234

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:08

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:08
Nice one :)

It _is_ legal to tow - there is a Victorian Road Rule which deals with it (can't remember the number). The rule specifies a maximum length tow rope and requires you to tie a white (red?) rag of a minimum size around the middle of the rope.

AnswerID: 269235

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:12

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:12
Towing rule in Vic
FollowupID: 532122

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:23

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:23
I just love those type of rules ! "The steering and brakes must be in working order". If the engine is witched off then you do not have power assist on the brakes and steering so are they in working order ?

Also, even with power assist in full working order you are not allowed to follow to close to a vehicle in front of you but you can if you are connected by a tow rope !

Mike, are you / have you done the canoe trip ? How did it go ?
FollowupID: 532123

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:17

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:17
I say you should never break the law no matter what/who/why/where

NSBAREIn.
AnswerID: 269236

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:33

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:33
Rock Crawler
Goo one, like that story, I towed a little Morris Minor 1000 70klm from a Park bay back East to Balladonia back in Febuary,
Can't work out why an RACQ vehicle would tend a breakdown on Kingsford Smith Dve ,Inbound, left lane and work on a car causing massive traffic problems when he could have towed it 400m around the corner and into a side st, Or a taxi driver changing a tyre in a roundabout on Airport Drive Eagle Farm, or why a bloke would leave his car parked in the center lane, downhill run on Cumberland Hwy and Woodpark Rd set of lights with bonnet up and go stand on the bloody footpath , I would have let it rolled left around the corner into Woodpark Rd getting it off the main route , People can't think for themselves these days, like Zombies.

Doug

AnswerID: 269237

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:34

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:34
Bugger I left the GOO behind

FollowupID: 532126

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:46

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 07:46
Good on ya mate, you continue to do bloody good. Hope to see you at Glenpatrick
AnswerID: 269239

Reply By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 08:10

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 08:10
As regards the NRMA these days they won't do anything that might endanger themselves, attract attention from workcover etc. Which is fair enough but does pee you off sometimes.
Had a flat on the bus recently, me jumping on the bar wouldn't undo it and there was no way the NRMA bloke was going to swing on it.
Nearly cracked up laughing when he pulled out his Shentai cordless rattle gun, was LH thread and the rattle gun wouldn't work in that direction.
AnswerID: 269245

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:57

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:57
Don't underestimate the power of those Shentai units. I realise this bloke's one was knackered by the sounds of it; but when working properly they have a huge amount of torque potential....enough to snap a stud easily.
FollowupID: 532142

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 18:04

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 18:04
Mine does traveller!
Works both ways, use it all the time, great tool to have around when workshop jobby isnt available.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 532216

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 18:04

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 18:04
Mine does traveller!
Works both ways, use it all the time, great tool to have around when workshop jobby isnt available.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 532218

Reply By: handy - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 08:31

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 08:31
Bloody classic. lol
AnswerID: 269246

Reply By: Member - Dennis F (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 08:49

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 08:49
It is good to see people helping people.There is not enough of it in this country.
AnswerID: 269247

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:26

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 09:26
OOPS, might have fractured the odd law in helping form the "bonztrain" 2 weeks ago...... with Lucy's winch extension strap doubled over I'd say we would have been over the reccommended 4 metres apart, 4 metres would have been scarey at 100 tho.....
nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 269256

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 12:25

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 12:25
Nick, You are one VERY BRAVE man....... Getting yourself into anything remotoely resembling a recovery situation with both BONZ _AND_LUCKY at the same time, would require the dexterity or Houdini to come out with all your digits and limbs still in tact. Strewth, what a daily double those 2 make when they're together!!! (I reckon they're actually brothers......their other brother is Russell Coight).....Schiit-magnets; both of 'em....hahaha
FollowupID: 532157

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 19:34

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 19:34
Mr moses was meant to be keeping an eye on Bonz (is this a good thing???) from the passenger seat of the towed vehicle, how he did this through his eyelids is beyond me but we got home safely somehow.
Incidentally I had a request from little miss bonz in the back seat for a trip through the maccas drive thru in tow, not b___y likely, KFC or nothing!
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 532241

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 12:12

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 12:12
Bloody Pisser Rock Crawler..! I have been laughing so hard it hurts..! What would have been even better would have been the guy he hit, gets out of his car and belts him , then all 3 of you could have stood there and laughed at the c__sucker..!
AnswerID: 269272

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 12:51

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 12:51
Great read - justice is so sweet.
So the guy you towed was a copper... now if it was illegal u'd think he'd have said something (but then again most likely just happy to have a good samaratin help out).
Hugh
AnswerID: 269274

Follow Up By: pojo - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:07

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 14:07
Sounds like good karma to me
FollowupID: 532175

Reply By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:04

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 15:04
I rear-ended a car this morning on the way to work.

I knew right then and there that it was going to be a REALLY bad day. The driver got out of the other car and wouldn't you know it, he was a dwarf.
He stormed over to my car, looked up at me and said "I'm NOT f*#%ing happy!"

So I said "Well, which f*#%ing one are you then?"

And that's how the fight started......

I just couldn't not post it LOL

AnswerID: 269296

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 17:50

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 17:50
yuo silly bugger!!!!!
FollowupID: 532213

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:13

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:13
Kev,

Judy and I have just had an absolute cow of a day and suddenly you have just made it all better!!!

How are your kneecaps???

Muddy
FollowupID: 532249

Follow Up By: Mamba No 1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:34

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:34
Now THATS FUNNY hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 532257

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:17

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:17
Knees are fine,

But I think he broke my toe LOL

FollowupID: 532281

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:27

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:27
Please dont tell if your story isnt true , It took me 1 hr to stop laughing, One only hopes to be in a situation like that to use that line lol
FollowupID: 532287

Follow Up By: Mamba No 1 - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 21:02

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 21:02
First time I laughed out loud for ages hahahahahah

I think I might have wet myself a little
FollowupID: 532845

Reply By: Mamba No 1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:35

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 20:35
Good on yer Mr Air Bag for helping a mate, even for being rewarded for it
AnswerID: 269375

Reply By: madfisher - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:16

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 21:16
I have been waiting for dio to put his 2 cents worth in. Good on you mate thats what I would have done. And made a mate as well
AnswerID: 269399

Reply By: curious - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 22:11

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2007 at 22:11
Good on you, Rock Crawler. Well done.

I reckon you get back what you put out when you help people. I've done a couple of long distance tows on the Port Augusta - Alice Springs Hwy: one was a German family run out of petrol, another was some Poms in a broken down combi van. Hitched them behind the truck I was driving (semi trailer not fourbie) and hauled each of them 100 + kms to help.

Then two years ago, I holed my car sump on the Strzlecki Track and a bloke from Moomba in a Cruiser towed me 120 kms into Copley. It was raining heavily at the time and I was like a water skier behind a boat in all the mud. He wouldn't accept payment but I gave him $40 to buy a carton. Anyway, I always stop to help people out; I reckon you get repaid somehow even if it's a few years later.
AnswerID: 269422