Camels are they as bad as we are hearing.

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:27
ThreadID: 51177 Views:4416 Replies:16 FollowUps:38
Is the camel population out of control in the NT.

We are hearing of hundreds of thousands being shot each year but are still out of control.

Has anyone heard this or anything different.

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:38

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:38
Um 100,000's shot - I find that number a bit remarkable.

Surely you would see more carcases if that were the case.

I have seen them down in the Northern Flinders, across the Simpson from one side to the other, and certainly across into WA where they are in huge numbers and down to the Nullarbor.

Not one day goes by in that country that you don't see tracks and most days you see beasts.

But 100,000 shot is a big effort... it would need huge teams out there on four-wheelers to manage anything like that and I'd have seen such an effort if it was indeed going on.

Sure, there are heaps of them - I have heard up to 1,000,000 in Australia.

They do most damage to wells, water courses and fences... they are pretty easy on the environment. Funny, I saw one pushing over a substantial eucalypt on a creek to eat it's leaves - yep, surprised me too, but generally they tread lightly and aren't competing with much native stuff.
AnswerID: 269615

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:39

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:39
four wheelers or choppers I guess, but that is pretty expensive.
FollowupID: 532484

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:54

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:54

No, there are not hundreds of thousands shot each year. Where did you hear this dibble from?

Kim
AnswerID: 269621

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:56

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:56
I am a member of the SSAA Sporting Shooter of Australia Association, and reports have it that up to 300.000 each year are being shot around the top end of WA and across into the NT.

Not sure how or what they are supposedly using re vehicles.
Word has it that they are populating faster than they are being culled.

AnswerID: 269622

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:59

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 22:59
Even the Howard government were talking about how to try a rid them from those areas as they were wreaking havoc in WA and NT.
FollowupID: 532494

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:10

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:10
Even the Howard government ...... ???

Didn't they breed when Labor were in office?
FollowupID: 532497

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:12

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:12
If this is the case then what a better way to eliminate them, than use licenced and trained shooters, by putting a bounty on the camels.

This would take the strain off the farmers as well in the times of Drought.

Farmers could also get a benefit from it by charging a fee for shooters.

Put some money back in the pockets of the needy.

FollowupID: 532498

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:12

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:12

I'm also a member of SSAA and have dealings with the Executive. I can't recall any discussion that talks about the doom and gloom you describe.

If camels over populate a property, the station owner does a bit of culling. Simple at that.

If the damn things are creating a problem on Crown Land, then it's up to the Government to control it.

Kim
FollowupID: 532499

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:13

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:13
even the howard gov.....

early friday funny

AND I CANNOT STAND THE LITTLE BONSAI.

ah that's better...thanks.

Shaker.....? :)
FollowupID: 532500

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:14

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:14
"reports have it" - let's see them.

More likely that the *population* in those parts is 300,000

That is a hell of a lot of country, and even 1m of those beasts, leaves them rather spread out in the country, and you have got to have eyes like hawkes to see them at a distance in undulating country. Even with a squadron of choppers you'd not make much of a dent on them IMO.

Someone recently was calling for the Army to be sent out there to do it - from what I know of the Army they have a few other things to fire at in remote places, so they probably have no people or weapons to go do it anyway.

My guess is that there are people trying to cull them for meat - they might do 10,000 a year.

There are landowners and park rangers who shoot on sight - they might kill 1 a week each - say another 5,000 a year. That would be my guess.

FollowupID: 532501

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:14

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:14
Shaker you miss under stood, I said the Howard government were talking about it, not one party against the other, they were trying to work out a way of ridding the camels.
FollowupID: 532502

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:17

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:17
Camels travel a long way... like 50+ km in a day when they are looking for food.

I can just imagine Federal Government discussing getting rid of camels. That would be one funny conversation. Nup - I can't see it. Maybe some departmental hack somewhere has got some pastoralists group bashing him, or environmental group, but in practice, it is not going to get discussed at a governmental level unless someone has made a firm proposal and is asking for money.
FollowupID: 532504

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:21

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:21
Yes Vivid,
that was what was brought up.
"Someone recently was calling for the Army to be sent out there to do it - from what I know of the Army they have a few other things to fire at in remote places, so they probably have no people or weapons to go do it anyway."

I think the cost to do this out weighed the source because of copters etc.

I could see it being great for members of the SSAA etc if they had a bounty on there heads, so this would cover costs for shooters ammo and fuel costs, plus pay a part in helping the farmers.
FollowupID: 532505

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:29

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:29
I just did a quick search on Google and this is back in December 2006

"All Things Considered, December 8, 2006 · Hundreds of thousands of feral camels roam Australia's outback. There are 700,000 at the latest count, doubling every 10 years.

They are shiftless descendants of the hard-working dromedaries brought over in the 19th century, before roads and railroads.

When their services were no longer required, they were let go into the desert, where they have thrived.

Now, these animals are raced for fun, slaughtered for their meat and thinned by hunters to rid the country of their vast numbers".

FollowupID: 532509

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:37

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:37
http://www.environment.gov.au/biodiversity/invasive/publications/camel/pubs/camel.pdf

Do you have any thoughts as to how you would do this... I have chased camels cross country and did 25 km up hill and down dale to get to a couple that were only 2km away to start with.

Sure, sometimes a solitary one will track along the track in front of you and could be readily shot, but mostly a group of them won't.

Even in easy country with dunes and spinifex, you are not going to find it easy chasing them down to put them in range... they will stay on the track sometimes for ages, but if they think you're chasing them, they will go off track in no time.

I'd guess pot shots would be unsafe, so you're going to have to get pretty close.
FollowupID: 532513

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:46

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:46
There would have to be a lot of time effort and costs put into it.

A round up of some type similar to cattle and brumbys.

A genuine shooter would not take a pot shot.

You only shoot when safe to do so, nothing in between you and nothing behind the beast.

You always look first and shoot later when safe.

If your not sure, don't shoot.
simple rules to follow and always know where your fellow shooter are.
FollowupID: 532519

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 05:12

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 05:12
96 GXL.............. Why should we have to pay a farmer to rid his property of vermin. This is where you are all going wrong. The SSAA don't pay farmers or the government to rid national parks of vermin, WHY shoukld we PAY.
Cheers Peter
FollowupID: 532531

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 12:14

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 12:14
Gday Kim, (or his evil brother)
You said"If camels over populate a property, the station owner does a bit of culling. Simple at that."
Not quite true...a lot of land (or should I say sheet loads) is aboriginal owned. Nothing is done with this land and people cannot just go in a blow them away.It becomes a breeding ground for ferrals with absolutely no land management.

96 GXL,
"Farmers could also get a benefit from it by charging a fee for shooters."
As like any group, It only takes a few bad eggs to spoil it for everyone else.
A mate went down to Curtain a while ago to get some camel fillets, he was told he might have to go out a fair way as hes had some shooters up from south recently. He reackons the amount of earless, tailless, maimed and injured camels draging their bullet riden bodies around the paddock was disgusting. Everyone can have a bad shot, but you track it down and kill it not just have a shot at another one!
For this reason there goes another station not welcoming shooters.

FollowupID: 532569

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 16:56

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 16:56
Hairy

Good point.

Hang on, why am I agreeing with you?

Gotta change the colour of the pills I'm taking!

Kim
FollowupID: 532608

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 19:14

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 19:14
Pete and Lez,
who said anything about the SSAA paying anything.
You have to take things out of context.

I said they should have a bounty on the camels.

The Gov would have to put up a bounty not the SSAA.

The SSAA member would or could pay for accommodation / food if needed and anything else that would help the farmer or maybe donate part of the bounty to him.

No doubt you would use fuel and this could be purchased off the farmer.
In other words you spend money to make money.
FollowupID: 532623

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 05:15

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 05:15
Mate, Go back and read Yourfollow up, 3of 16.
"Farmers could also get a benefit from it by charging a fee for shooters" WHY should we HUNTERS not SHOOTERS pay the farmer a fee to destroy vermin on his property? We are already saving them money as they are not using up their valuable time getting rid of vermin. I'm not using his power, water or any other services. My other point was, the SSAA DON'T pay a fee to SHOOT on these properties to eliminate vermin, so why should I?
They are seen as doing the farmer a Favour.
Cheers Peter
FollowupID: 532714

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 17:53

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 17:53
Pete and Lez,
this is what was said
"If this is the case then what a better way to eliminate them, than use licenced and trained shooters, by putting a bounty on the camels."

In that where did I say the SSAA should pay???

It is the government that usually put bounties on feral animals to eradicate them right?

What we shooters could do is what I have mentioned in the above links.

You get your game {Feral} and profit and share expenses with our farmers and save them money in the long run right?
FollowupID: 532804

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 19:44

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 19:44
96 GXL..........
Ihave never said that the SSAA should pay, I am NOT a member of SSAA. You are suggesting that the farmers could benefit by charging hunters a FEE to shoot vermin. My point is that the SSAA don't pay the farmers afee for the privelidge of shooting vermin, So why should us non SSAA hunters pay a FEE to hunt vermin. Which as I said before we are already saving the farmer a lot of money, time and effort by hunting vermin in the first place. A bit of you scratch my back and I'll scratch yours.Hope that is a bit clearer for you.
Cheers What ever your name is.
FollowupID: 532830

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 21:31

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 21:31
Pete and Lez,
your thicker than two bricks stuck together with super glue.
What have I said all along

your quote: "A bit of you scratch my back and I'll scratch yours"

What would buying fuel / food etc be doing?.

Surely you couldn't cart enough fuel and keep food for a month or six weeks plus take enough in case of a break down or broken down vehicle parts with you? plus you wouldn't know in the first place what was going to break would you?
if you did you would be a nutter for going away, and knowing that you are going to put others at risk.
Where would you need a place to store food ? Parts ? and the list goes on and on.

Who would you depend on.?

The "FARMER"
FollowupID: 532847

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:04

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:04
We have SSAA members up here that drive 2 to 400klms out to different properties to shoot feral pigs / goats etc, and are only to willing to pay the farmers something towards the use of the facilities like shearers quarters, use of showers and something towards the use of power for keeping food / drinks in a fridge.

They stay anything from a week to a month, and it is cheaper than driving backwards and forwards each day.

The shooter enjoys his hobby and it helps the farmer to cull his feral animals.

But I suppose as you have pointed out it takes all types, the lousy and the genuine shooter.
FollowupID: 532852

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 09:45

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 09:45
96.......what ever the F your name is, if you are going to get personal, and don't want to see my point. Then all I have to say is....F..K O.. D..KHEAD.
BY the way, shooter, like you is much different to Hunter like myself.
FollowupID: 532914

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:23

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:23
Ladies!..LADIES!!... settle petals!
Before you both do your self an injury, go back and read your posts....its just repetative driblle arguing about something neither one of you actuall have a say in....
Bbwaahhhahahaha!!!

Hunters...shooters.....who cares....

LOL!!!
FollowupID: 532959

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:24

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:24
Camels, dumb animals.

You honk, you rev the engine, you get up close and try to scare 'em and they just rumble along the track like they're the King of desert.

They're as bad as Emu's. Why dont they just get off the road!!!!

AnswerID: 269625

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:37

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:37
Equinox

Theres nothing more stupid than an Emu!.......come to think of it, I may have done a few things in my younger days that mirrors the mental capacity of an emu.

Kim
FollowupID: 532514

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 00:00

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 00:00
G'day Kim,]

you rate a sheep more intelligent than an emu?
FollowupID: 532523

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 08:17

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 08:17
If in a work vehicle i try and overtake them if its my own (Ie i care if i hit them) I pull up for a bit and wait for them to get out of sight generally by the time i go again they have got off the track
FollowupID: 532541

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 20:53

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 20:53
What about Victorians?

FollowupID: 532651

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:09

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:09
Kim M

That's why they put long legs on em's so when you are cooking them, you can push em right to the back of the pizza oven and still cook pizzas in the front.
FollowupID: 532854

Reply By: T-Ribby - Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:33

Thursday, Nov 01, 2007 at 23:33
If they were good to eat they'd be either extinct or on the endangered species list.
Duke Nukem.
(just joking)

T.R.

AnswerID: 269630

Follow Up By: handy - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 12:57

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 12:57
a fresh camel steak is pretty hard to beat i reckon, its just all the fussy buggers say im not eating that and not game to try it.
we could have a good domestic market for it if people would have a go. cheers
FollowupID: 532574

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 18:36

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 18:36
I agree Handy, juicy, tender and tastes bluddy good.
FollowupID: 533381

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 00:29

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 00:29
96 GXL 80 SERIES,
Don't know where you got your info from but I can tell you that
you are well off the target.There are probably 500000-700000 feral camels in Aus. of which the majority are controlled by mustering which only amounts to about 6000 per year.The others that are shot are not significant and . the problem is not nearly as bad as the feral pig which has a population of over 20 million with no sign of effective control.As the camel population moves closer to pastoral areas more drastic measures will be required but at the moment Ithink theresources should be aimed at the more damaging feral animals.
AnswerID: 269638

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 00:39

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 00:39
re: Got info from and off target.

have a look at the start of the thread, I asked "Camels are they as bad as we are hearing"

If you read back it says about 700.000 and doubling every 10yrs..

This is why the post to see if it is as bad as what is being told and what you will find as we have if you search the internet.

I never mentioned anything about pigs.
FollowupID: 532527

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 06:42

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 06:42
Some clowns been reading Comics again while snorting white powder,

AnswerID: 269647

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 19:18

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 19:18
DougT,
put the comics down next time you sneeze as the powder is getting in your eyes as well.
FollowupID: 532624

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 06:55

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 06:55
A couple of people I spoke to in the NT recently said that it was impossible to keep fences up if there were camels around as they just walk straight through them. Now I know there are not very many fences 'out there' but it must be a real pain when a lot of time and money is spent on those areas that they want fenced.
AnswerID: 269648

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 08:18

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 08:18
Contrary to popular opinion they do quite a bit of environmental damage. Most of the native wells and soaks have been wrecked by camels (and other hooved animals), as has been stated they will knock down quite large trees and bushes to get at the leaves when feed is short.
On our recent Madigan crossing most of the gidgee patches had been attacked and some trees and limbs knocked down both recently and previously. Everywhere you go in the arid areas there are camel tracks and signs, we also see plenty on every desert trip.
AnswerID: 269656

Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 08:34

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 08:34
One of the positives of camels is that they are not hooved. Whatever other damage they do, the massive damage to soil caused by cattle hooves isn't one of them.
A legend, widely believed as true around Alice (and the story may well be true) is re a fatal road accident caused when a bull camel attempted to mate with a yellow VW.
FollowupID: 532544

Reply By: Garbutt - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 09:40

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 09:40
A friend of mine is involved in feral animal shooting with SA National Parks, a year or so ago he shot 801 camels in a week on the north end of Macumba and the edge of the Witjira National Park. There's plenty out there, he said they could have continued shooting at that rate for months, but finances stopped them. They were of course shooting from a helicopter.

GB
AnswerID: 269676

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 14:38

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 14:38
Had the same bloke come to the 4WD Club a couple of months ago and it was very interesting to hear what he had to say. There is a certification process that the shooters AND the pilots have to comply with. It requires the shooter to kill the beast with 1 shot and then they have to physically check that it is dead. Vets are also included on the hunt to check for diseases etc. I saw one photo where a 20 shot magazine resulted in 19 dead animals over approx 1km.
It is done very humanely.
I think their numbers are in excess of 1 mill now. Untold damage is being done to water supply points around the ab lands and to fencing. The animals were dying as a result of the drought and were making their way to the watering points and getting stuck in the mud and were too weak to get out of the dams thereby poluting the water that the locals had to drink.
Feral Deer are becoming as big a problem in some areas of the state as camels and pigs are in others.
FollowupID: 532589

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 09:59

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 09:59
Some introduced species in Australia

Camels...played a huge role in early exploration.

Round a bouts

Self service garages

Shopping centres

Fast food outlets

User pays social services

Multinationals

CEO's

The word "color"

Just about every vehicle on the road :))

rabbits (Great Wall of Australia)

An unknown number of plants

etc etc etc

Give me the camel over most of these!

AnswerID: 269678

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 12:01

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 12:01
Dare I say it

"Halloween"

Kev

FollowupID: 532567

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 11:57

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 11:57
>Is the camel population out of control in the NT? Absolutely!!!!

>hundreds of thousands being shot each year. Not that I know of but there should be.

A friend of mine walked his camels from Broome to the Flinders a couple of years ago. (suposed to be Melbourne and took a wrong turn I think)
He reckons the camel population between Broome and Alice is bigger than you could possibly imagine!
He spent numerous nights proped up under a tree blowing away bulls to protect his camels.
He is a camel lover obviously but he reckons if they dont start culling we are going to have problems.

AnswerID: 269695

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 19:23

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 19:23
That's like the culling that farmers are allowed each year now, as far as Roos go a grand tally of 8 is all that they are allowed each year.

So if they have a two bucks and 10 females and the females each have a joey who will win?
AnswerID: 269747

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:13

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:13
Before Pete and Lez jump on the band wagon,
that is 8 for each farmer.
FollowupID: 532856

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 10:44

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 10:44
So as not to let you down, The pro roo shooter and the farmer win, they scratch each others back and they both win with NO MONEY changing hands. Both doing each other a favour.
Cheers my a... peter
Sorry to ALL other users for being rude to this site user, thats life.
FollowupID: 532922

Reply By: wdric - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 21:44

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 21:44
I spoke to a guy in Iltur (middle of SA)
And he said just in their area they have aerial surveys which show about 10000 population

It is a big employer out there as they catch and send to middle east alive.
AnswerID: 269796

Reply By: Blaze - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 23:11

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 23:11
I have tried my best to follow this post, which has been very difficult and heated at times.

I decided I should find out for myself.

I went outside for the last hour and guess what?
I didn't see a single camel!! So I now have irrefutable proof that this whole post has been irrelevant... Mind you SWMBO said she seen a RAV4 this afternoon with a suspicious looking driver with his head sticking out of the sun roof...
AnswerID: 270262

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:57

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:57
Blaze,
if you were outside looking for camels, then it must have been you in the RAV.

If you think about it:
your head would have been toooooooooooooooo high sticking out of the sun roof to see yourself in the mirrors.

Hope it didn't mess up you hair do.
AnswerID: 270363