protecting under camper trailer wiring

Submitted: Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 22:22
ThreadID: 51215 Views:3717 Replies:9 FollowUps:1
Just returned from a nice shake down trip to the 3 corners with my camper trailer . I kept finding the electric wires to the brakes blowing in the wind " after each day on the Gibber tracks . I had a look at a couple of camper trailers whilst I was out there and noticed they use a protective hose about the same diameter as garden hose but without memory ie it can be bent to a shape and hold that shape .
Does anyone have any suggestions as to what it maybe or another solutuion to my problem ??

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 22:26

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 22:26
We use 12.5mm clear pvc hose, you can also use heater hose and plenty of "P" clamps and cable ties.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 269806

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 23:09

Friday, Nov 02, 2007 at 23:09
I can only suggest that you use the split protective tubing with plenty of good quality zip ties.
Lesser quality zip ties just break too easily.

If you want to go to the troulble of taking off the plugs and sliding thicker hose over the wiring and then reconnecting the plugs again, that would be better I think.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 269810

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 08:08

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 08:08
The garden hose or the clear PVC from the hardware store is the cheapest and lasts the best. Plenty of P clips and cable ties to hold it in place as well as a few beads of silicone help as well.
AnswerID: 269824

Reply By: PeterInSA - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 13:52

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 13:52
cmt,
I would use protective hose not the split tubing if you are going to do a lot of outback travel, the split tubing fills up with very fine dust after a while and then what happens if anything to your electrical circuit (joins?) if the tube gets a soaking.

I am not keen on cable ties, if you do a lot of rough road travel, rocks seem to cut them easily especially if the hose/cables are strung across the axle, wheel to wheel as my tyre sensor cable is, down the caravan chassis the cable ties hold OK. Across the axle I use the 50mm wide plastic/fabric tape say in 8 positions and even thou it gets cut up, it does the job.

AnswerID: 269866

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 14:16

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 14:16
Mines got a piece of square tube welded along the chassis which carries the wires.
AnswerID: 269871

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 14:27

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 14:27
Mine too
FollowupID: 532777

Reply By: kev.h - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:26

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:26
Have a length of steel tube welded to the back of the axle, stand it out a bit to clear the u bolts this allows it to go into the wheel dish for better protection I have given up on cable ties ,tape etc they all fail eventually
The hose you mention is flexible metal shielded electrical conduit
AnswerID: 269954

Reply By: Ralph C - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 07:53

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 07:53
Chris,
I am so concerned re this problem I have requested the RTA look into it. It's about time Trailer made their brake electrical wires 'bush resistant'. Unless you have a digital brake unit like a Tekonsha Prodigy, the first you know you have no trailer brakes is when you fell that 0.5 - 3.5 tonnes pushing you into the path of some poor sod coming the other way and that poor sod just might be me!
If a car maker put out shonky work like this they would be pilloried and rightly so. So why not Camper and Van manufacturers eh??
Ralph C
AnswerID: 269975

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 23:07

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 23:07
Sorry for replying late.

We lost the wiring for the brakes twice in a few days while travelling into and out of Millstream NP. When we got to Broome I bought a short length of hose and ran the wiring through that, and used six large steel hose clamps from the hardware to clamp in onto the reaward side of the axle.

The first patch up job I had done while camped at Millstream lasted less than 50klm on the way out on those gravel roads.

I used heaps of cable ties but the rocks cut through them.
AnswerID: 270107

Reply By: cmt- Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:08

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:08
Sorry for not replying earlier but I have been away from my computer . Thanks to everyone for the feedback & nice to know Im not alone on this one .
I agree with the comments in regards the zippy ties . I was using them and going through 6 plus a day !
The suspension is trailing independant so I cant weld a tube or channel accross the axle . I reckon the clear pvc or similar might be the go .
cheers and thanks again

AnswerID: 270416