Electrical (Non Auto) Advice required.

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:11
ThreadID: 51270 Views:4256 Replies:14 FollowUps:51
I want to wire up a light that works from 240volts but through my inverter. Question is, will the inverter provide a DC or an AC current. Reasoning is that if I wire say the blue wire from 1 side of the plug to the opposite pole on the light fitting, will it give me any grief?

Still alive Des

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:16

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:16
Inverters put out AC, otherwise they wouldn't work with transformer-input appliances.
AnswerID: 270019

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:27

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:27
Des, inverters put out 240volts. It's the same 240 volts that can kill you in your house if you don't know what you're doing.

Talk to a licenced sparky otherwise you may have to change your signature to NOT still alive.

Not joking.

AnswerID: 270020

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:41

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:41
Sound advice...

Mot only could you kill yourself (or someone else) you could damage your inverter.
FollowupID: 532948

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:55

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:55
Or you could ask Bonz for his advice........he knows all about power of all types (he drives a Nissan remember?).

If Lucky was on deck he would give you the same advice: Bonz can fix anything....... hahahaha

My advice would be somewhat similar to the other blokes.....don't muck with 240v if you're not 100% sure........ even though you drive a 50 series (which automatically puts you in the category of "Lost Causes"), if you sizzle ya'self on 240v, we will have to find someone else to take the p!ss out off all the time (note that Lucky is "off-limits" to have the p!ss taken out of him ATM, cos the surgeon has sorta done that job for us for a little while to come!!!!! hahhaha {sorry Lucky})..... ;-))
AnswerID: 270022

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 16:13

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 16:13
it makes me wonder what he thought an inverter inverts
FollowupID: 533161

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:56

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 13:56
240 volt invertrs will not kill you but will give you anything from a tingle to a boot.

This is why you don't need inverters installed by electricians in you vehicle.

Laws for 240 volt installations only relate to equipment that is going to be run of mains power.

240 volts from an inverter is differant to 240 volt from the mains.

On a work light it doesn't matter if you get the active and neutral switched, a light glode can be wired either way but it is not good practice.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 270023

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:06

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:06
Sorry! but I am going to be blunt. Inverters will kill you 240volts is 240volts and if you touch the active and neutral or active and earth if it is earthed you are looking to get toasted.

The inverter just sees you as a light bulb and allows your body to draw current. around 10 milliamps will kill you, Rcd's are 30milliamp to stop nuisance tripping.

Please don't give advice like this you could kill someone
FollowupID: 532952

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:06

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:06
G'day Richard,

It would seem curious to me that you should say that 240vac from an inverter is "will not kill you...........etc"

I would be VERY reluctant to ever put this to the test and would STRONGLY RECOMMEND that nobody should treat the output from an inverter with any less caution than they would accord to a mains output (GPO) or indeed the output from a generator.

I'm not doubting that you know a lot more about this type of thing than I do, but I just tend to think that those cables coming from the 3-pin socket of an inverter are as dangerous as the GPO.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.....

FollowupID: 532953

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:20

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:20
I wouldn't touch to outputs either.

All new homes have to have RCD's fitted but why don't new inverters or genset have to have them?
FollowupID: 532957

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:38

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:38
Cause they are not controlled by the supply athorities and I don't make the rules. It will come, RCD's will have to be fitted to all lethal electrical equipment.

FollowupID: 532962

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:52

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:52
Just reading the specs of the inverters we used and it says about electecution.

The reason it seems you can't get electecutioned by this brand is in there curcuit design and there earthing system.

Don't know if it is unique to there design but I doubt it, they aren't megga expensive.

Still appy caution.

FollowupID: 532964

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:01

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:01
I just find it fascinating that 12v that you can touch both poles of the battery and only run 12v stuff can be made into 240v.
when i first saw them years ago i just thought - yea right as if.
Only explanation i have been given is there is a little man on a bike atached to a generrator inside them
FollowupID: 532967

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:08

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:08
It maybe, this particular unit might be able to detect a fault to earth.
It is when things line up that causes the problem. nothing is completely failsafe.

Your original post is what we are talking about when you said they can't kill, and I will say it again.

YES THEY CAN
FollowupID: 532971

Follow Up By: Batboy - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:35

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:35
Also it does matter which way the light is wired depending on the type of fitting. As above, take it to a sparky and yes,inverters can kill.
FollowupID: 533015

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:59

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:59
Inverters do and can Kill.

all one needs is is enough potential to earth and sizzle sizzle...

FollowupID: 533096

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 15:42

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 15:42
Olcoolone,
You would be the "Ol-HOT-one" and that's just not so cool.

When have you, or someone you actually know, ever touched the (+) cable of an inverter supplied 240 VOLTS and lived to talk about it, with all the fingers and hands still attached to the neck....??

Please don't post such totally stupid, inane, idiotic, untrue and bulls**t statements on here, as some uninformed people may actually believe you, and not treat their Inverter with the respect and due diligence it truly deserves, it's NOT a toy.

Like every other reply, the 240 Volts produced by an Inverter WILL KILL, how do you think Washing Machines and Clothes Driers and Microwaves work with exactly the same performance from either 240v MAINS power and also the 240v Inverter power - if they are somehow different ?

you say-> "I just got lost in thought............. It was unfamiliar territory"
obviously ELECTRICITY is also unfamiliar territory for you !!

I first thought this thread should be deleted - but then maybe not, as it contains a message to every one
All INVERTERS that actually produce 240 Volts will KILL you - if put in the hands of an idiot.

Inverters are totally sealed units, and will not do any harm till the voltage is activated, that has nothing to do with installation, as all inverters are produced to an Australian electrical specification and electrical standard.

If you read the technical specifications on any inverter you will be informed they produce 240 Volts @ ??? Amps (or watts) and also that at that voltage you will suffer death as a consequence of playing with 240 Volts.

And to think I'm about to become a paid up member here on EO and I choose to 'correct' dangerous and totally wrong information, makes me wonder if I may be banned for telling it as it really is !!

The fact is - 240v produced by an inverter WILL KILL- end of post

grrr

Mainey...
FollowupID: 533155

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 16:10

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 16:10
mainey...dont get so hot under the collar....

i think the poor bugga is supposed to be a fridgie so stop picking on him.........but he should have known better non the less
FollowupID: 533160

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 16:21

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 16:21
Batboy "Also it does matter which way the light is wired depending on the type of fitting"...

it goes off when the switch is closed and viceverca if its wired the other way?? ...hahahaha

Batboy, most lamps used for 240v dont give a stuff if the power goes from left to right or right to left...they work equally as well....they are not polarity sensitive
FollowupID: 533163

Follow Up By: Batboy - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:29

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:29
Unfortunately that is the problem No1 :)
Often when people play with Mr 240v things will work fine but they are not always safe.

An edison screw fitting for example must be wired with the active to the centre pin or the metal screw bit on the lamp can be live when changing lamps. Then theres metal fittings that are required to be earthed yet still work fantastically without one until.... one day something goes wrong inside and the metal becomes live and you go to change the lamp.... opps

But you are correct most lamps are not polarity sensitive but the switch must be in the active line.

FollowupID: 533187

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:52

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:52
yes that is true but when switched off it aint alive
i have broken the glass when changing a bayonet fitting ...if still switched one of the probes in the lamp will be l;ive...pays to switch off
FollowupID: 533190

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:07

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:07
It's really sad to see people writing such dangerous mis-information, which could lead to someone being killed.

Any 240 volts can kill within one twentieth of a second.
FollowupID: 533193

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:15

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:15
Cause it can be live when turned off if the polarity is wrong, had a bloke here who thought he knew about electricity. His widow remembers him well.

My quote for the day is" Can you lend me your brain for awhile, I'm trying to make an idiot up here
FollowupID: 533194

Reply By: Member - Fred - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:00

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:00
How is 240V from and inverter different from mains? - waveform or?
AnswerID: 270024

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:15

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:15
We had a discussin with a major supplier of inverters when we had to fit them for a mining company, they said it is to do with the switching, how a load is applied and the earthing system.

This is proberly why you can't run some equipment of them like fluros.

But if used outside of there guild lines they may kill....wet weather etc.

FollowupID: 532956

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 15:51

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 15:51
Read my post above !!

The "switching" is only relevant to the 'type' of inverter system
Eg, the wave formation produced, Pure or 'square' or 'modified' etc
Yes, some won't work with fluros and some will.
FollowupID: 533157

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:00

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:00
Bye Bye Uncle Des.......................ROTFLMAO
AnswerID: 270025

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:02

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:02
Bye Bye Uncle Des.......................ROTFLMAO
AnswerID: 270026

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 08:00

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 08:00
he's a cheapskate Willem
doesnt want to pay the crematorium fees
FollowupID: 533097

Reply By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:05

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:05
Why not just guy a light from your local auto store? Unless you need something peculiar I spose.
AnswerID: 270028

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:23

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:23
Firstly an inverter CAN kill you.
Having said that what I did was mount a bayonet fitting on a piece of wood and wired that to a 3 pin plug,( I'm qualified) and put one of those fluro replacement clobes in it. Works like a charm and I use a lot less power than for a normal globe.
AnswerID: 270029

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:55

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 14:55
Geoff, most modified sine wave inverter wont run fluro lights, are the globes you us differant or are you running a pure sine wave inverter.

regards Richard
FollowupID: 532965

Follow Up By: Member - steve H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:04

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:04
I use a clip on light similar to a desk lamp and run a 7w fluro lamp with no problems also if you use a warm white lamp instead of a daylight lamp you will get less bugs

FollowupID: 532969

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:30

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:30
Richard,
I own two of the cheapest inverters that money can buy. They both run an Arlec 240 fluoro fine.
FollowupID: 532979

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:47

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:47
My non sine wave inverters have no trouble running fluros, in my bush shed I run standard 40watt fluros off my 60watt inverter no trouble.
Use warm white and still get lots of bugs, might be worse with the others.
FollowupID: 532982

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:00

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:00
Found this warning on the net from the W.A govt. about inverter safety.

http://www.energysafety.wa.gov.au/EnergySafety/media_include/unsafe_inverters.pdf

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 270032

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:24

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:24
>Question is, will the inverter provide a DC or an AC current.

AC.

>Reasoning is that if I wire say the blue wire from 1 side of the
>plug to the opposite pole on the light fitting, will it give me
>any grief?

Are you asking if the light globe is polarity sensitive? If so... no it isn't. It doesn't matter which way you connect to the light globe fitting but it's conventional to put the switch (if there is one) in the active supply wire to the globe. However... as an inverter output is not referenced to earth it doesn't have an active or neutral so it doesn't matter which one you switch although a double pole switch which disconnected both would be best - or you could just do as I do... take one wire off the battery when you want to turn it off.

Don't get too carried away with all the Explore Oz safety crap about inverters.

PS. I see another discussion about earthing looming :(
AnswerID: 270034

Reply By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:49

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:49
Thanks everybody for their replies except Willem. I just wanted to know as I need to wire up a door chime switch before Thursday as I'm expecting a visitor Thursday PM and he needs a bit of a charge up.
Just Joking of course except the visitor does need a charge up.
See You Thursday, Willie, Maaate

I'll track down a sparky tomorrow and get him to wire it up for me.
AnswerID: 270038

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 17:24

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 17:24
So the post was just a "jolly jape" in order to solicit pointless replies? Is that correct or did you actually need to know anything in regard to electricity?

FollowupID: 533005

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:03

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:03
Mike, I think he's answered your question with the last line of his last post......

Quote: "I'll track down a sparky tomorrow and get him to wire it up for me.".......

Just my observation, I could be wrong...... (I was wrong once before; about 21 years ago I think it was....... haha)
FollowupID: 533010

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:55

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:55
Mike, it was an honest request and as Roachie said, Sparky time tomorrow
FollowupID: 533020

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:00

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:00
Just to follow on, I bought a piece of extension cord with a moulded plug so I don't know which one is wired active or which is wired neutral. The batten holder end doesn't have anything to tell me which is the active connection so I'm trying to get it right.
The above advice convinced me that I shouldn't be doing it. Hense Sparky time tomorrow.
FollowupID: 533023

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:05

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:05
Fair enough Des :)
FollowupID: 533026

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 21:06

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 21:06
Des,
You may already know this, but if you have a cord like you describe (moulded plug etc) and want to make sure what colour wire relates to which pin, then a multi meter is all you need.

Switch it to the Ohms setting (screen should read 1.000) and, touching the probes to a pin (at one end) and a bare wire at the other end, test until you see the reading go to "0". This will indicate there is no resistence and mean that that pin is attached to that wire.

Hope this makes sense.
FollowupID: 533064

Follow Up By: Batboy - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 16:17

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 16:17
A batten fitting is not polarity sensitive and also does not require an earth. Even so you may still have trouble as some batten fittings have 4 terminals, one for each of Active, neutral, earth and a loop terminal.
But by now you have taken it to a sparky so....
FollowupID: 533162

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:40

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 18:40
Des, it's good to see that you are referring to a licenced sparky. Very safe move.

While I am not a licenced sparky I owned a retail electronics store for the last 10 years and we sold inverters, both modified and full sine wave. My technician WAS licenced and yes, the 240v coming out of an inverter CAN kill you. We told people not to put them in a place in the car where it was possible to spill drinks etc on them.

I also imposed a policy on my staff that if a customer asked for advice about mains power we told them we are not qualified to give that advice, refer to a licenced electrician.

Some posters on this thread are sailing very close to liability claims.

AnswerID: 270064

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:02

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:02
Well… I’ll sail even closer – in my experience most “licensed electricians” have a very limited idea about electrical safety. They are artisans not experts – would you ask a coal miner about the complex rock stress issues of engineering mining? Or a nurse about the risks of heart surgery?

A couple of weeks ago I undertook a course on “High Voltage Safety” – I was required to do so because the people I am currently doing some consultancy work for require it as part of their “training” scheme in order to allow me to work on 5000 volt equipment (despite the fact I have experience on 22,000V systems). This course was presented by a “licensed electrician” with (guessing) about 30 years experience – he was extremely confused about a number of matters including the “skin effect” (he raised it!) which is an area where high frequency currents run down the outside of cables rather than through the centre. Nevertheless he was deemed to be an “expert” despite the fact there were more doctorates in that room than you could poke a stick at.

To cut a long story short: Oz has created a situation where electricians have been raised to a status they cannot support simply to protect their jobs and electricity has been made out to be such a complex and risky subject that none but a “licensed electrician” can understand it. This is total rubbish; basic electricity is pretty simple and most people can handle it in perfect safety – as happens in much of the rest of the world.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 533024

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:23

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:23
Mike, I agree with the sentiment in your post. However OZ has also created a situation where people will litigate against the softest target if something goes wrong. These days personal responsibility does not exist. It is always some one else's fault. If that someone is a shop owner (always perceived to have plenty of cash, just look at the amount of stock; never mind that the bank owns all of it) then he is the patsy.

EG if some one fails to read the instruction book on a mobile phone it's always: YOU sold me this piece of SH1T, and they throw it at you. I've even had instruction books thrown at me saying YOU read it for me.

It may be a terrible case of tin plating one's fundamental orifice but it is absolutely essential.

FollowupID: 533032

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:23

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:23
Bit like a inner tube I saw for a car tyre...."Caution Not To Be Use As A Flotation Device"

Litigation is the word of the 21st centery and it's an easy way for average people to get a sh*t load of money.

The number of companys we do work for that are asking about our insurance for our business is getting unbelivable.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 533049

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:36

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:36
Ah well... either one is frightened of the world or one is not...?
FollowupID: 533057

Follow Up By: BorisK - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 21:44

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 21:44
Just to add to the confusion, me being a plasterer, occasionally when doing a job I have to run an electrical lead from the neighbouring house (pre-organised) to operate certain tools as the job property/house has no power connected. Twice now I've had a person from the electrical board come to my job and tell me that's illegal and I can blow the whole grid to thy kingdom come and if I continue using the neighbours power I will be fined/jailed. After querying the persons about it they explained that if I use the same lead on the side of the fence where it came from I'll be allright as soon as that lead crosses over the fence line I'll blow the whole suburbs grid and be liable for it. Something about blue phase/red phase. Am I the only one that doesn't understand/believe this? Can anyone explain ?
Cheers Boris
FollowupID: 533068

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 22:10

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 22:10
It might be a issue is one house is on one phase and the second house is on a nother phase...but you arn't using both lots of power.

Years ago they sometimes wired houses up to a couple of differant phases and if one phase droped out half the house would go out and not the other.

The place that us to be next to ours was like that, have a power black out and all our lights would go out, next door they would loose power in kitchen, hall way and one bedroom.

It is proberly more to do with ripping off the power companys or you neighbour
FollowupID: 533073

Follow Up By: BorisK - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 22:21

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 22:21
One theory that I have thought about is that the builder should have paid them $$$$ to connect temporary power to the job but didn't, saving himself $$$$ and not giving $$$$ to the electrical board.
FollowupID: 533076

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 09:04

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 09:04
Hi BorisK,

In regard to throwing a power lead over the fence, In a word, crap !

It used to be frowned upon but it is no different to having power outlets on different phases near each other in a factory or workshop (any place with three phase power). It's one of those old wives tales that still seem to be being perpetuated but the person telling them will not be able to give you a reason that holds water.

FollowupID: 533109

Reply By: Grungle - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 08:11

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 08:11
Hi Des,

Active - Either red or brown (depends on the cable)
Neutral - Either black or blue (depends on the cable)
Earth - Either green/yellow or green (depends on the cable)

Colour codes are in the order listed as well ie - one type of cable (mainly mains wiring cable) will be red, black and green/yellow and the others (like extension leads etc) will be brown, blue and green.

It doesn't matter which way the active and neutral are wired up on a fluoro as long as it is not to an earth point - this is reserved for the green/yellow wire only. Fluoro's (such as batten fluoro's) will usually have a wiring block with brown and blue on the fluoro side so wire you cable up to this block as per the colours codes listed above.

Next time your at a Dick Smith store, buy their catalogue as it has a good diagram and description in the back showing plugs/sockets and cable colour codes.

"Now this is just for information and should not be attempted by anyone that is not authorised to do so."

AnswerID: 270119

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 09:17

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 09:17
Grungle, on anything that has an earth it is iimportant to get the wires around the right way, most houses are wired at the box with netrual and earth tied together and the switching either single pole on the active or better still double pole an the active and netural.

If you have a problem with the equipment and it is wired wrong then you die.

Some things it doesn't matter if if you have it around the other way but if it is earthed then it is critical.

Regards Richard

FollowupID: 533112

Follow Up By: Grungle - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 09:38

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 09:38
Yeah no worries Richard.

Just stating that Fluoro's are not polarity conscious. I checked my facts before posting so as not to get it wrong.

FollowupID: 533113

Follow Up By: Julian - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 09:42

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 09:42
Olcoolone

Do you really mean that neutral and earth are tied together?

Surely not

Jules
FollowupID: 533115

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 13:14

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 13:14
Grungle, you may have to be careful when stating that you don't need to worry about polarity on fluro's. Some modern fluros have electronic circuits for dimming and / or power supply. I would stick to what the terminations in the device indicate.

Jules, Yes the earth and nuetral are tied together at the main switch board but not at distribution (sub) boards. It is what is called an MEN system (Multipy Earth Neutral).
FollowupID: 533137

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 13:29

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 13:29
Jules: this link may assist
Link to UK electricity DIY FAQ

In the UK they call it PME rather than MEN but it's the same thing.

Ignore references to the "Ring main" system - unfortunately we don't use that system in Oz.

FollowupID: 533139

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 13:48

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 13:48
PS. Kiwi: Nope haven't done the Snowy trip yet - it will probably be another 12 months or so before I do. I'll let you know at the time.

FollowupID: 533140

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 14:25

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 14:25
Mike although we dont use a ring main very often it is not ilegal, we sometimes refer to it as a 'centre feed' circuit :-))
FollowupID: 533146

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 15:47

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 15:47
Hi Kiwi

A ring main is an excellent way to do domestic wiring but it's only effective if fused plugs are used for all appliances and Oz plugs have no provision for a fuse :(

FollowupID: 533156

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:24

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:24
Don't need fused plugs Mike. A centre fed or ring circuit is ok but most electricians don't realise it is ok to do so as it used to be illegal in 'the olden days' :-) As long as the protective device on the switchboard protects the cable it's ok. A long (and small diameter) cable run can have volt drop problems so by using a ring circuit you effectively double the size of the cable.
FollowupID: 533186

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:41

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:41
Hi Kiwi

The UK system is set up, iirc, to have a 30 amp fuse protecting the ring, it relies upon the diversity factor of a domestic dwelling not to exceed 30A (if one does the breaker trips). However the beauty of the system is that each appliance is fused at the plug so a table lamp with a small flex will be fused at 3A whereas a kettle will be fused at 13A. In Oz we stick everything on a spur fused at 10A so if your table lamp, video, etc develops a leakage fault of, say, 9A the fuse won't blow but the 3A supply flex will burn out - not good.

FollowupID: 533188

Follow Up By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:14

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:14
Hi Mike
most of Victoria's general purpose outlets (GPO's) are fused at 16 amps

BillF
FollowupID: 533229