Cargo Drawers Feedback

I am interested in building one. Where can I source some drawer slides that would be suitable. I live in Adelaide

Reply By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:57

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 19:57
I buy gear at work from a few suppliers that will probably have them. One new supplier is UES, and they seem pretty good to deal with. They all carry a range of components like handles, hinges, Drop T Lock and so on. I can have a look in the dogalogue tomorrow & let you know. MM me so I've got your details.
AnswerID: 270077

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:22

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:22
I looked in the UES cat today and rang them. They have slides from 250mm long & 45Kg at $10 a pair + GST to 277Kg and 1524mm long.

I have a few pages from their catalogue if you want them (.jpg) or look at their website at WWW.uesint.com

They also have lots of other gear.

Good luck.
FollowupID: 533197

Follow Up By: senk - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 22:19

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 22:19
Thanks people. That was great. Now I can get on with the construction.
FollowupID: 533242

Reply By: Mal and Di - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:02

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:02
Make sure you put the fridge slide on the "correct side". We bought a Prado recently with pre-fitted slides etc but the fridge is on the side of the tailgate hinge which meant with the van on there was not enough room to open tailgate enough to gain good access.
M.
AnswerID: 270078

Reply By: stocky - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:09

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:09
hardware.net.au

they have some some good cheap & HD units

My first design used Hettich - gold plated platinum ball bearings or some thing - well for the price they must have been! LOL

I'll have to take some photos of my design and post em somewhere.....
AnswerID: 270079

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:12

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 20:12
Galvins Hardware, Murray St Thebarton have any slide you want. I prefer the Hettich or Hafele slides because they have a double throw and come out full length. 45 or 60kg capacity is usually strong enough, and is what I use. I've used the 600mm length Hettich slides for drawers up to 900mm long.

Not sure what slides that UES (Regency Park) have, but they do stock heaps of good stuff.

Theres another guy who's on Ebay, who is in Adelaide, and I can't remember his name, but he stocks all the good slides too.
AnswerID: 270081

Follow Up By: stocky - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:05

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:05
Elraco is the one on ebay - hardware.net.au
FollowupID: 533091

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:44

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:44
dont get the ones with the nlyon tyre on the bearing....they crack and then the slide rattles even louder.....Galvin has both ...cant remember if the ones with nylon are Hettich or Hafele...but anyway get the ones without
FollowupID: 533094

Reply By: Member - Wilgadene (Bundaberg- Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 21:50

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 21:50
Go to ebay and do an advanced search for a seller called renn38 or try this link

Site Link

We have bought Hettich slides from him a couple of times and have been very happy with quality of item and speed of delivery. No affiliation just reporting good service.
The slides we bought were:

610 mm long x 50mm high x 12.7mm wide.
Extends out 640mm in 2 stages to 1250mm.
60 Kg loading per pair

Cost $85.00 for two pairs or $50.00 for one pair - free delivery.

Mrs Wilgadene
AnswerID: 270095

Reply By: Member - Robin M (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 21:51

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 21:51
Hello Senk,
This post is not directly answering your question, but I am keen to point out an alternative to spending money on expensive fittings. I built a set of wooden drawers which can be quickly installed and removed in order that the full load space of my Hilux twin cab ute is available when I'm not touring about.

The cargo drawers are shallow - 90mm high - and run almost the full length of the Hilux tub. They accommodate the tent poles, snatch straps, flouro light, spade, bottle of red wine etc, in fact any flat-type object in common use when camping.

The drawers slide back and forth within two longitudinally-mounted weight-bearing pontoons whose rails fit into the flutes of the tub. At the front, these pontoons are secured to a wooden cross member which runs across the tub and is screwed down ahead of each wheel arch with a turnbuckle connected to the Hilux's cargo tie-down points. The drawers actually slide on the floor of the tub. They don't require any fixtures - slides or catches; they are secured inside (under) the pontoons and travel between the side rails, a bearer across the front and the tailgate of the tub. The rear of each pontoon is secured to the tub with bracket and self-tapping screws.

Each pontoon has a recessed space at the front ie: between the rails - where I can tie down two jerry cans for a total of four to be carried inside the tub. Sadly, the Hilux has too small a fuel capacity for seriously-long offroad adventures.!

The bottom of each drawer - inside and out - is covered in automotive carpet. The top surface of each pontoon and the bottom of each side rail is covered in carpet to preserve appearance and the paint work of the ute.

The LHS pontoon carries a fridge atop a fridge slide, with space at the front for a storage box to be strapped down. The RHS pontoon is fitted out to carry a roller-type clear plastic box which usually carries food. The food box can be wheeled out over the tailgate (and further) when the RHS drawer is extended and covered with a flat board. The covered drawer can also act as a table. However, I often set up a gas stove on it as the tailgate in very handy as a preparation table. Each storage box is kept in place with a strap secured to strategically-placed eye bolts down the side of each pontoon.

You may wonder why I didn't buy a commercial set up ? I chose not to spend a couple of thousand dollars on a permanent installation. My handiwork cost about $450, which includes the cost of the fridge slide. I wanted a set up that could be easily installed and removed and one that was light in weight. I wanted the fridge at a height whereby my wife and I could easily see inside and access the contents. I wanted a set up where most heavy things could be strapped down.

For the price of an e-mail address, I will happily send you a picture.
Netnut

AnswerID: 270096

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 06:27

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 06:27
I used Hettich too. Can't remember the name of the place i got them. It was Wingfield way. Pretty sure i got a suppliers list off the Hettich website. Mine are rated to 80kgs i think and slide out 850mm.
AnswerID: 270115

Follow Up By: bob - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:16

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:16
Brew. Do you mean Halliday Hardware at Regency Park? They are cabinet hardware specialists. p242 of Adelaide white pages.
FollowupID: 533195

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:20

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:20
Yes thats the place.
FollowupID: 533196

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:08

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:08
Hi senk

I used haffle runners 1.0m long and 0.9 m long. got them through ebayfor around the $100 mark each set, which was good at the time. Be sure to check Jimbo's (member on here) units he sells, as I think they come for about the same price as the materials do (In my case), and the work is done for you...

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 270116

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:17

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 07:17
A mate and I used Hafele slides when making his fridge slide. Worked a treat.
AnswerID: 270117

Reply By: senk - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 22:23

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 22:23
Thanks people, that is exactly the info I need and your responses were greatly appreciated. Maybe see you on the road. Just look for an overloaded re rodeo ute with caravan. senk
AnswerID: 270257

Reply By: Andrew Kilby (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 07:46

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 07:46
if you take a look at my members page (Andrew Kilby (QLD)) you can see what I did. We are 10 months through a 12 month trip around oz and no problem.
AnswerID: 270283