What a load of rubbish

Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:01
ThreadID: 51303 Views:2238 Replies:14 FollowUps:2
What do people do with their rubbish if they are in the same location for a few days, and you are expected to take your rubbish away with you.
How do you store it so the ferals can't get to it and it doesn't pong too much.
Will be interesting to see all the ideas.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:12

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:12
I leave the Ferals back in Surfers Paradise :)))))))))
AnswerID: 270160

Reply By: blue one - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:20

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:20
Burn it all (other than the plastics) and takeaway all that doesn't.

AnswerID: 270164

Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:27

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:27
In the past 8 months, we sometimes travelled a month or more without getting to a rubbish bin. Our practice eventually became: 1. minimise waste (eg cask wine rather than beer and bottles), 2. clean glass and plastic containers, 3. burn food scraps, paper towels and toot paper, 4. burn and then crush cans. Place in normal plastic bags. The most we have ever carried is 3 bags towards the end of a trip (which included stuff from previous 'campers' - ie glass and cans left in fire ashes). At night we hook the bag/s onto the roof rack.

Once agreed to carry rubbish out for another camper - the pong was incredible!! No wonder they wanted it gone.

AnswerID: 270166

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:27

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:27
Depends where we are going.
If local rubbish collection not available, or a national park where they have to bury the rubbish anyway, we try and minimise by repacking food etc into reusable containers. We don't use a lot of prepackaged food for a start. Left overs get put in the fridge for use another day.
Cans get squashed. A plastic shopping bag gives us a good few days, while a bigger black rubbish bag is plenty for a week or more. Double wrap it to control smell. Usually stays in the car.

If you are talking excretement, and you can't dig a hole, or use some loo's provided, interesting question. Havn't been in that situation yet. Know of some bush walkers that carry every thing out.
AnswerID: 270167

Reply By: Catfish - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:28

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:28
G'day Dave,

We Generally have a garbage bag set up in the back of the Father in laws ute. We normally don't end up with that much rubbish - the bulk of which would be a lot of empty tinnys which we squash flat anyway.

I also have one of those "Michelle's sacks" sacks that attaches to the spare wheel for the back of the GU when we camp on our own.

Mate that photo you have displayed is a ball tearer!! Where was that location and what time of year?

Chris.
AnswerID: 270168

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:14

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:14
The photo was taken on the Broken Hill - Tibooburra road,Chris, but can't remember what time of year.
We have friends who have a property up that way, and each time I go camping up there, it rains.
They welcome me with open arms when I ring up and ask if I can camp on their property. 'Bring the rain too' they say.

I haven't got a spare wheel on the back, so cant use that idea, but have seen a few canvas sacks attached to the bullbar.

FollowupID: 533181

Reply By: A J - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:28

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:28
Dave - we carry a plastic container which has a large screw lid on it - similar to what your would store things in if you were canoeing. It would hold about 30 litres of rubbish - rubbish is put into shipping backs then into the container - emptied when we back is civilisation - or brought home

A J
AnswerID: 270170

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:34

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:34
I chuck it all behind the back seats beer cans, newspapers choclate wrappers etc
On the way home i stop off at a roadside bin and have 1 massive bog out
AnswerID: 270175

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:58

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:58
priceless.

your post is useless without pictures.
FollowupID: 533191

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:24

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:24
If you cant carry it in you can carry it out .
Burn the burnables crush your cans and you shouldnt end up with too much, chuck it in gar bags and drop it at a community or dump.

AnswerID: 270188

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:29

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:29
I burn most of my rubbish - all I usually have left is tins which can be fitted into each other or bashed flat. If I'm in one place for a week or more and the rubbish builds up I walk 200m down the track and hang it in a tree where I'm bound to see it on the drive out, too far away to smell and the animals don't seem to bother with it. Even after 2 or 3 weeks bush I never seem to have more than a couple of Safeway bags of rubbish to carry out.

AnswerID: 270190

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:44

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:44
Last time in one spot for a month what I did not burn, I carried it home with me 1200km. I try not to take glass, cans can be
squashed down. And surprisingly I did not have much to carry home.
AnswerID: 270193

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:56

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:56
yeah!!!!!!!!!

sorry mate, thought you were talking about the recent grandstanding of bignoters.......:)

"a few days" as you say is nothing...you should be able to plan for this and have no issue, one day bag and then a storage for the next stage. Don't know what your rig setup is but a beer fermenter with the screw on lid is good. Chaff bag with a tie on....it's not too hard to come up with an idea that works for yoiu mate...
AnswerID: 270199

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:11

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:11
We burn/squash etc etc, then store the remains in a heavy canvas duffle bag on the roof rack.

Naturally we prefer packaging thats burnable.
AnswerID: 270239

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 22:17

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 22:17
Looks like most of you burn a fair bit, which is understandable I guess when you think a campfire is just as much part of the scenery as a 4by.
The only thing that I am not all that wrapped in is the amount of plastic type of wrapping nowadays and burning that can create quite toxic fumes. Burn the food scraps at least.
A canvas bag seems to be the go as far as I am concerned, as it's somewhat flexible and easier to fit into a given space, or maybe even tied onto the outside of the vehicle to take the rubbish to the nearest available dumping area.

AnswerID: 270256

Reply By: howie - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 00:28

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 00:28
also 'burn' empty steel cans.
gets rid of any leftover bits in tin, then bashed flat and put in plastic bin (after cooling obviously).
depends on trip.
sometimes use 20L ice cream/fishing tub with screw lid.
sometimes use black recycle bin tied on roofrack.
AnswerID: 270273