What are you selling ?

Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 17:50
ThreadID: 51310 Views:3083 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
So there I was. On the side of the Plenty Highway with a flat tyre, and night approaching quickly. Me, myself and I. The vehicle was loaded to the gills with gear for a remote trip into the Gibson desert.

I knew that huge trucks might not see me in the dark, and was wary of staying here any longer than I had to. Unwinder out, slot into spare tyre winder(I would have loved to have had Mr Toyota along at that moment to tell him exactly what I thought about that spare tyre placement),and gazooks ! It's not moving at all ! Try a bit both ways, nope. The spare is not going anywhere at all.

A couple of fellas that I'd waved to earlier slow down and stop. I notice one is much younger than the other, and is wearing a kind of glove with the ends of the fingers cut off so that the ends of his fingers are showing but the hand is covered. Steptoe style.
They enquire what the trouble is.

When told, the young one crawls under the spare, and the older one enquires what I'm selling.
Selling ? Nothing. Or is this some kind of secret code I'm oblivious to? He susses me out thoroughly, with a thoughtful expression.
The young one sees the problem, gear all fouled with rocks.
A few mts later and he has the spare out and ready.
The older one asks again what I'm selling.
Thanks guys, I'll take it from here. No, where's your jack?
Quick as a wink he has the offending tyre off and the spare installed.
"What are you selling?" asks the old guy insistently.
"Listen mate, I'm not selling anything. I'm just the poor tired cow stuck on the side of the road with a crook tyre !"
"Ahhhhh" That obviously does it.
Ready to roll, I ask them what I owe them for their kind assistance.
"Nothing...we enjoy the exercise"...they don't have an ounce of excess fat on them...unlike myself.
"Oh come on, how about some beer money then?" I insist.
"Naaah, plenty of beer back at the station."
The young bloke smiles a winning smile and says, "there is something you could do for us."
"Just name it, pal."
"You could tell us what you're selling."

Salt of the earth those station types.

I had the tyre repaired in Alice the next day. It lasted 50km up the Tanami before it blew again.

But being out in the bush for too long can do things to you, I rekkon.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:03

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:03
Footy,

You seem to have quite a few adventures along the Plenty. Maybe it's time to try the Sandover instead :)))

Thanks for that.

AnswerID: 270181

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:06

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:06
Gramps, everyone has adventures wherever they go. I just commit them to memory..and share. Such minor things become larger when you travel by yourself.
The Sandover....that's a bit closer to Wolfe Creek, isn't it LOL
FollowupID: 533178

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:10

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:10
Don't mention Wolfe Creek, Footy. Bilbo will be down on us like a ton of bricks :))) I've still got to watch the DVD hahahaha
FollowupID: 533179

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:16

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:16
Al, no worries as I've seen the film and it wasn't half as bad as I was told.
Perhaps the fact that I'd been to Wolfe Creek and enjoyed it....??
FollowupID: 533182

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:09

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:09
Gday Footloose,

So come on stop keeping us in suspense!

What are you selling!!!!

AnswerID: 270183

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:13

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:13
Ah ha ! So, Hairy, it WAS you LOL
FollowupID: 533180

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:18

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:18
Na mate...I couldnt even try to bul bleep , when you said not an ounce of fat!
FollowupID: 533184

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:20

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:20
Well by crikey they were physically fit, but err ummm....LOL
FollowupID: 533185

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:27

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 18:27
Footy ,

"What are you selling" . That sounds a bit spooky . Nah nah , nah nah , nah nah , nah nah .

ooooooooooo ...............

Willie .
AnswerID: 270189

Reply By: Heefers - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:16

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:16
Did you by chance have your fly down? Have heard that expression before in that context.
AnswerID: 270202

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:24

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:24
That's a good point, thanks but no I didn't. In any case I'm sure they would have said something....but perhaps they did LOL
FollowupID: 533198

Reply By: marq - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:29

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:29
Interesting.

What tyre brand?
What tyre pressure?

What load kg did you think you had on?
AnswerID: 270205

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:37

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 19:37
At the time I was running 7.50 X 16 ...Kellies. I changed all the wheels and tyres after that trip..tubeless 235's now. But that track has a reputation for doing tyres.
24psi btw. Not that heavily laden, no rack not towing anything and travelling slowly and carefully.
Whay do you ask ?
FollowupID: 533200

Follow Up By: marq - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 17:10

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 17:10
I ran at 25psi hot - 265/75/16 GY SA's no problems on Plenty/Cape York/SWay/GRR with 3 ton vehicle.

I thought the plenty is good condition compared to alot of other dirt roads - I am surprised people do tyres on that road.
FollowupID: 533371

Reply By: furph - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:27

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:27
Next time your out that way with suss tyres have a couple of blow up babes available and just give em away!
They love em around Opalton.
furph
AnswerID: 270244

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:50

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:50
I won't ask how you know.
FollowupID: 533238

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:40

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:40
They would just about fall over and into an early grave if they asked me that when I am loaded for work.

A few locals up here will be laughing at this, but the rest of you can ponder hehehe!!!

Regards, a sales rep!!
Trevor.
AnswerID: 270247

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:47

Monday, Nov 05, 2007 at 21:47
Where have you been bloke? Haven't seen you on here for ages. You must be out in sympathy with Lucky.....hahaha
FollowupID: 533237

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:12

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:12
"What are you selling" sounds to me like lingo that young kids might use for a road side "deal" if you know what I mean. Maybe they were hoping you had a stash of something in your vehicle that you would sell to them that would keep them smiling for a few hours.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 270319

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:21

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:21
In that case, they were sadly mistaken. But your response makes me wonder just how many people ARE selling stuff out in the bush.
FollowupID: 533310

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:21

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:21
Thgen they were disappointed I'm afraid. But your response makes me wonder how many people ARE selling that sort of thing as they travel around. Not many, I hope.
FollowupID: 533311