PDA and oziexplorer

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:25
ThreadID: 51354 Views:2717 Replies:12 FollowUps:19
Is anyone using OziExplorer on the HP ipaq rx5965, I am considering purchasing the HP and understand OZi will be compatable. comments on the rx models would be helpfull with my decision. Cheers

Reply By: swampy66 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:46

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:46
We use the that combination on-site without any problems.
The screen is much more suitable than the older Hp PDA's.

You may be able to get a similar performance with a cheaper PDA.

Good Luck

swampy
AnswerID: 270428

Reply By: equinox - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:46

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:46
deanclimbs,

I have the HP Ipaq rx5765 and have no problems running Ozi CE on it. There's heaps of memory even without an SD card for your maps.

I like all the gear it came with - chargers, windscreen mount etc.

AnswerID: 270429

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:00

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:00
Could you tell me the main reason for getting a PDA , is it for GPS Navigation,Games, MP3s, share images via e-mail, world times , international dialing codes ,converters for currency,watching video clips with Windows Media Player 10 ,NineMSN Music, or is to have OziExplorer maps when you venture just a tad past the city limits,
Just has me amused why people need all that crap when your going bush ....if your going bush .

AnswerID: 270434

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:02

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:02
Doug I hope you are taking the Mickey here, other wise wouldn't it be a bit of an Oxymoron to say this with these items in your discription:
Warn 9000lb Winch
OX Compressor mounted
Bluetongue Compressor - spare
Garmin Nuvi 660 GPS
Garmin Quest GPS
Road Angel EVO GPS
JVC Stereo CD/Flash Drive
Standard Toyota Radio used for Hands Free

I guess our for-fathers would say why do we take tents, campers, swags etc when we go bush, they usually slept on thye ground under a tarp.
FollowupID: 533445

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:39

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:39
Blaze
Each and every one of those items have a use when outback....way outback, one of my GPS has T4A , Far superior than Ozi maps, And I make that comment because I have used both and now use only 1 , You can't send bloody photo's or email from a PDA in the middle of the SD , My Nuvi has hands free, that coplies with the law, it also has Currency Conversion,Calculator,World time, Unit Conversions,Plays MP3s, it has 2 mapping software that can zoom into 30m or out to 1200klm , try that with Ozi , the Nuvi battery will last longer than the HP PDA , So what crap do you use

FollowupID: 533451

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 01:16

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 01:16
I still reckon comen sense beats the crap out of all of that! I have a GPS because its handy!!!
FollowupID: 533467

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 01:16

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 01:16
I still reckon common sense beats the crap out of all of that! I have a GPS because its handy!!!
FollowupID: 533468

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 01:19

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 01:19
Member - Doug T (Qld) posted:
“T4A , Far superior than Ozi maps”

Incorrect – OziExplorer can be used to display maps and air photos that have far more detail than T4A. T4A is based on 250K scale mapping data, end of story (if you know anything about maps). There are a range of maps commercially available for OziExplorer at 25K, 50K and 100k scale (and upwards)…or you can just scan/calibrate any properly scaled map yourself.

OziExplorer also has the ability to display calibrated air photos. Programs require to use/display T4A do not have this ability. You can make your own Garmin compatible maps or add to the T4A map set so if you have a fascination with Garmins and their GPS units so you can improve the quality of available data sets but it’s not a pastime that suits everyone. Don’t get me wong…T4A (and Shonkymap which is better than basic T4A) are good maps to have if you have a Garmin (little other choice) and suit some peoples needs….they are however not better than every map/airphoto you can use with OziExplorer.

“My Nuvi has hands free, that coplies with the law, it also has Currency Conversion,Calculator,World time, Unit Conversions,Plays MP3s, it has 2 mapping software that can zoom into 30m or out to 1200klm , try that with Ozi”

Oziexplorer is a GPS Mapping Program that can be run on devices running various Windows Pocket PC operating systems, so no surprise that OziExplorer itself doesn’t have the ability to play Mp3s etc..but other software applications that run on PDA’s do, so wouldn’t get too concerned about checking time in New York or figuring out how many Pesos to a dollar when out bush, you will be able to do it with a PDA (while running OziExplorer) if need be.

“the Nuvi battery will last longer than the HP PDA”

Maybe, maybe not. Depends on various things such as backlight/programs running etc. I use a battery extender on my PDA (not a HP) that takes AA’s so battery life of actual PDA irrelevant. It would be good if I didn’t need to use additional batteries but even the best PDA type device (including Nuvi) have limited battery life not suited to every application.

“So what crap do you use”

Bit harsh Doug, It’s not that serious. May I suggest you lighten up?

FollowupID: 533469

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 04:21

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 04:21
It might be fine fine to have all the crap in a Laptop with air photo's and Ozi, rasters,photo's cords tangled around the steering wheel and so on and while you lot stuff around with all the BS you carry I'll be 40klm further down the track , I just haven't the time to muck around with it or argue about it , have fun,

FollowupID: 533477

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 04:26

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 04:26
And another thing too, Someone asked a question in this thread, I think it was deanclimbs, I gave him my ideas, why are you going on about my post instead of giving him your answer, too much of this crap applies to this forum , best you give your point of view and shut up instead of getting up the next bloke

FollowupID: 533478

Follow Up By: Batboy - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:23

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:23
Because of the derogatory tone of your initial post, intended or not. The initial question about why he needed a PDA is valid but the last line sounds as if you are putting him down.

That is how I read it and that is why someone felt the need to point out a few things.
FollowupID: 533491

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:45

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:45
Batboy
See....your another one who can't mind his own affairs, I didn't ask you the question so butt out

FollowupID: 533495

Follow Up By: Batboy - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 09:21

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 09:21
Are you really that moronic?
FollowupID: 533500

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 10:27

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 10:27
By Jingoes, By Crikey..here we go again…

Member - Doug T (Qld) posted

“It might be fine to have all the crap in a Laptop with air photo's and Ozi, rasters,photo's cords tangled around the steering wheel and so on and while you lot stuff around with all the BS you carry I'll be 40klm further down the track”

We were talking about PDAs Doug not laptops – My PDA has one cord – to the 12V power socket - suspect your Nuvi would be the same…or is it solar powered? Nothing wrong with using Nuvi/T4A Doug but it doesn’t suit everyone’s needs. Suggesting that other setups are “crap” and stating that OziExplorer is “useless” are not helpful comments when someone is researching various options.

“I just haven't the time to muck around with it or argue about it”,

I can understand why you don’t wish to discuss it further.

“have fun,”

Good advice.

“And another thing too, Someone asked a question in this thread, I think it was deanclimbs, I gave him my ideas, why are you going on about my post instead of giving him your answer”

Doug – I was simply correcting gross inaccuracies in your post, so in affect I was giving an answer – I have no issue with you expressing your opinion but when you put forward comments as facts that are clearly wrong I feel the need to point out the actual truth. e.g. your comment “T4A , Far superior than Ozi maps” is simply NOT TRUE. Nothing personal just trying to make sure correct information is presented on subjects I know something about. Forums are a good source of information, but they also contain comments that have no basis in fact or are based on limited experience or bias in opinion – which can mislead some people. I do not see anything wrong with correcting incorrect comments – though I accept that some people don’t like being told they are wrong. I have several times presented incorrect/incomplete information on forums – happy to be corrected whenever I stuff up as I am keen to learn.

“, too much of this crap applies to this forum

That has become obvious.

“, best you give your point of view”

I did

“ and shut up instead of getting up the next bloke”

I was not trying to be personal. Just trying to clear up some misinformation that was presented. Unfortunately this may mean some people have to accept they are wrong.

All the best and happy travels

FollowupID: 533514

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:47

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:47
sheesh Doug lighten up a bit mate, I run a Garmin 60CS and a PDA with )for this weekend) the Pyrenees Dept of Conservation Map in it. T4A is good but this maps a pearler and complements the other GPS display

FollowupID: 533643

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 22:59

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 22:59
Bonz
Lighten up a bit, Nah bugger that idea, If I make a comment I don't stuff around with Umms and Errrs and maybe's , straight to the point and what I believe in and what I have experienced, as I said the Ozi CD went to the trash Bin yesterday,

FollowupID: 533675

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:03

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:03
Batboy
Am I moronic , Well if it makes you happy Then I'll be Moronic , I don't care much what you think , you can call me what you like except for one thing , DO NOT call me Late for a Beer

FollowupID: 533676

Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:07

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:07
According to the HP site they are now discontinued, might be 'deals' around.
AnswerID: 270436

Reply By: deanclimbs - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:34

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:34
Thanks for the quick replies, As will be taking off for a few months next year I would like to purchase the Hp for the additional companion features it contains as well as being able to run Ozi CE. Interesting note that the model has been discontinued. I would like to familiarise myself with the oziexplorer on shorter trips before then, therefore I would like to buy the HP 5965 soon knowing that It would be a reliable unit. Doug, it will also be smaller than a laptop computer.
AnswerID: 270440

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:16

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:16
The rx 5965 are going for as low as $360 , Harvey N0orman have some good deals too for $400 and they though in some other toys with the deal
AnswerID: 270451

Reply By: Lux Boy - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:36

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:36
I purchased the rx5965 around 6 months ago and put OziExplorer on it. I real dramas with it except for the fact that you seem to have reset the unit every now and then but I think that's just what you need to do with PDAs from time to time since they don't actually shut down like PCs. The GPS, Wireless and bluetooth all work great. I took it to the Cape and back with the Hema Maps and OziExplorer. I think it's definately worth it.
AnswerID: 270485

Follow Up By: Lux Boy - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:37

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:37
sorry I meant to say 'no real dramas'
FollowupID: 533492

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:48

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:48
We use a dinosaur HP iPAQ hx2110- running Ozi with full mosaic Australia plus 50k & 100k with some Hema maps for selected areas.
Also, Destinator for around town navigation.
Has a Holux plug in GPS.
No problems now for 4 years...
AnswerID: 270487

Reply By: Batboy - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 09:42

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 09:42
I use the same unit running ozi and find it very good.
On the odd occasion it will crash and require reboot but this is only when running the full 250k mosaic not when running the individual mosaics.

I have come back to the car after leaving it in the sun on the dash and found that the battery has overheated and unit must be shut down. This has never happened whilst mobile.

The difference between the 5965 and the 5765 as near as i can tell is the amount of memory and the lack of wifi in the 5765. The 5765 is quite a bit cheaper.

Tom tom city navigator software is very good and has a lot more features than the original garmin c320 I bought a few years ago.

The only thing is doesn't do which i would have liked is accept input from a reversing camera.

Good all round unit.
Cheers Jim
AnswerID: 270502

Reply By: deanclimbs - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 10:43

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 10:43
Interesting conversations between a few of you fellas???

From the constructive responses I have so far (thankyou) I believe I will be satisfied with my decision in the long term.
The unfortunate thing is I still have to spend 80% of my time at work and the other is for off-road play and travel. The ability for using the HP during business as a replacement to my bulky personal folder I drag around is a plus to start with. Finding a way around the main cities delivering products when the traffic is getting worse every week is a plus for the TomTom. having the ability to use OziExplorer on a mobile PDA is going to be even better when I take my 20 years of Long-Service leave (6 mths) early next year, and go where ever the wind might blow me.

I'm off to Harvey Norman
AnswerID: 270511

Follow Up By: Batboy - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 11:44

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 11:44
I purchased mine through HP about 4 months ago and paid $650.00 when harvey Norman had them for $799 As they have been discontinued Harvey Norman could well be cheaper than HP.

Gives you some idea anyway.
As far as using it as a replacement for a personal diary, that was my plan too but... I don't find that part of it very easy to use I still prefer the paper version. Depends a bit on your job

Cheers Jim
FollowupID: 533522

Follow Up By: deanclimbs - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 11:59

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 11:59
Peter was right and they have been discontinued.
I rang around to a few Harvey stores. most stores have sold out.
I did find one and they have agreed to a price under $400 (last one) including the car kit.
Anything might be better than the notes and lost contact numbers in my paper version.
Now to purchase OziExplorer.
Cheers,Dean
FollowupID: 533524

Follow Up By: Batboy - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 12:07

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 12:07
Congrats! I am jealous
FollowupID: 533526

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:34

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:34
Deanclimbs

I have a HP Ipaq rx5765 PDA GPS.

It comes with TomTom for on the bitumen

Load ozi CE and have your maps on an SD card and you have a GPS for off the bitumen. It will take 4gig SD cards but SDHC cards are not compatible.

It is also portable - for those who like to go for a walk.

I am extremely happy with mine and would recommend it.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 270793

Follow Up By: deanclimbs - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 00:32

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 00:32
I picked up my Ipaq today and I was amazed that it actually had a fully charged battery! and the Tom Tom was immediately easy enough to understand to that I was directed home after work from where I was to My home within the time limit and root that it suggested.( I was not expecting to purchase this for the Tom Tom capabilities , but I guess it will become a major plus for the bitumen travel as you say
I have been on the home PC for some hours now uploading/downloading the programs that syncnronise with the Ipaq, that was painful but if the unit is as clear in instructions itself when I do put it to real use with OZI CE then I will be with you, and extremely happy. Good size for the pocket too when going for a walk.

FollowupID: 533879

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 00:59

Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 00:59
Like Kunnanurra, I have a I have a HP Ipaq rx5765 PDA GPS with Oziexplorer CD.

Just completed 4 weeks doing the Beadell tracks - Gary Junction - Puntawarri, CSR down to Carneigie along the ConnieSue and Ann Beadell with the unit stuck to the Windscreen of my old HJ47 troopie (read heaps of vibration and corrugations)

The unit performed flawlessly. 4 weeks of heat, battering, and bulldust and it pulled up fine.
AnswerID: 270869