Towing a CT thru the Canning ! No.2

Wow ,,,, have really opened up a can of worms !

Look the main reason I put No.1 post up, is the CSR is 3 weeks of a 10 - 12 week trip planned for 2009, and we love our Trak Shak enuf to warrant taking it for the rest of the trip too.

When I did the Simpson in 05 ( I think ),, my mate Bennie and myself, ended being invited to join in with the Yorke Peninsular 4X4 Club.. Wow what a mob of gr8 people..

Previous to that I new nothing of Ct's in the Simpson, just never take one seemed to be the consences ( spelling ) ...
Well I watched these blokes drag 2 CT so effortlessly up and down the dunes, that I actually struck up a deal up there ( thanks for the lifestyle change Pud & Barb )
Since then we got the bug, big time, and go out as often as we can.
Last year's outback trip, with Laura and Nathan, and Mazz ( Jaffa ) taught me a lot about tackling any conditions.
Just go carefully, and enjoy it all , but most importantly, have good gear..

Cheers all

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 06:36

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 06:36
Bucky,

Lowering the tyre pressure on the vehicle and camper is only part of doing the Canning.

There is a video around of a convey towing campers on the Canning, it would be worth a look at it just so you know what you are in for. I can't remember the name of the video, but I am sure some one will.

As the Canning is only part of your big trip it would be a pity to go underprepared. Not so much with the vehicle but what the track is like.

Hopefully yesterdays post will have you researching the trip even more, that will get you even more excited about going.

BTW, if you are on the Canning around June 2009, I just might see you there.

AnswerID: 270470

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 06:44

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 06:44
Bucky,

Just had a look in the EO shop

Canning Stock Route Desert adventure, DVD for less than $30.

FollowupID: 533482

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:02

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:02
Have already got the DVD,,,

Gr8 ,,, just sat down and watched it all ...

Still got a lot more homework to do, and with the help from Laura, and a few others, together we expect a trouble free trip ,,

CHeers for that
AnswerID: 270475

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:21

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:21
G'day Bucky,

Glad to hear (finally) that you had a good trip on that Simmo crossing. hahahaha

Strewth, it's really given you "the bug" for this remote area travel caper, eh!!!

Cheers mate and I'll be watching with interest to see whether you decide to upgrade your own tow vehicle between now and 2009...... are you still looking for a Patrol?

AnswerID: 270480

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 07:12

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 07:12

Still kicking myself, for not taking you up on that offer, for your old Patrol,,,(cry cry cry sniffle ,, whinge whinge !)

Cannot find anything yet , but then again I have not been seriously looking, except for one day when the battery on the Navara shyte itself in the dealers yard, and he wanted about $2,000,000 for a 2003 Patrol ( 4.2 ) with nothing else on it ,,

of course, it goes without saying, that I was not only to pay the rediculous price they had on the Patrol,, but I had to donate the Navara to his own " Personal Charity "

No DEAL

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 533690

Reply By: heldus - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 01:48

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 01:48
Bucky,

use also your Popometer, hope your is more as a bit sensitive! And if you in doubt to cross the CSR or other remote Oz-areas, so come with us. We have 2009 also our little battle (maybe). Our opponents are water, ice, wind, rain, cold.... but no worries for your relaxing and warm up can you have sometimes a bath or a mud packing or both together in hot springs.

Helga
AnswerID: 270672

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 07:16

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 07:16
G day Helge !

gr8 foto's of your trip "down under", and those of the fun you guys get up to in Europe ....

Well done

By the way keep up the emails ,,
Still love to get them

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 533691