Yokohama /No Bridgestone

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 16:49
ThreadID: 51381 Views:3332 Replies:4 FollowUps:11
I was going to get a new set of Bridgestone Tyres 265/75R/16 ,But the dealer in Ayr has Yokohamas for $225.00 each , made in Thailand , ( grumble grumble) , well at least it's not China and damn it they will have to be better than the crap Hankooks I wasted money on , now that they are below 40% they tend to dart around , like follow grooves in the road , will not be buying them again .

Doug

Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:24

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:24
Doug, The yokohamas are probably designed by dunlop!, the rubber processed in China, Coopers probably have a share in it somewhere, and bridgestone own the whole lot! Who bloody knows these days?...lol.

AnswerID: 270569

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:46

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:46
Axle
Yeh ...good on Ya ,,ya prick now I'm worried ..lmao
Yeh well I wanted the Bridgestone as seen in the dealer at Barmera SA ...MADE IN AUSTRALIA but at $225 ....well what do ya do.

Doug

FollowupID: 533586

Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:13

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:13
Hey Doug,
Just get a 265/75R/16 UNIDEN ..... and all your troubles will be over. LOL

FollowupID: 533618

Reply By: George_M - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:30

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:30
"Now it's Fun Time"? Geez Doug, you've gotta get a life lol.

Great photograph though....

George
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 270570

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:50

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:50
George
This is our life mate , we both have a great time , except the little one has been a bit off color for 2 days but another bloody $86 at the Ayr Vet and he is feling better this arvo and eating again, Over the years I have had him if he feels only 98% you would think he's gonna die , funny buggers Dogs are but he enjoys life and I make sure he does .

Doug

FollowupID: 533588

Follow Up By: George_M - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:47

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:47
Yeah - pets really grow on you, irrespective of the cost.

I had this vision of you in the park, Dusty under one arm, standing in a line of young mothers waiting their turn to give their little kids a swing. Could have led to some interesting looks and conversation....

George
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 533607

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:23

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:23
George,

Dusty wasn't under Doug's arm but nipping at his heels trying to get Doug on the swing for a photo LOL
Dusty just wasn't tall enough to get the camera to work haha

FollowupID: 533623

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 22:47

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 22:47
George
Wait..!!! been there ...done that Dusty had to wait until a mother got her snotty nosed kid off so Dusty could have a go , Have you seen his photo when he had a ride in a Merry-Go-Round and loved it , see the look on the face,

Doug

FollowupID: 533674

Reply By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:17

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:17
Doug if they have Tyrepower in Ayr check out the Terra Trac Herculese, worth considering. I've been running them on my 80ser and very happy, Bitumen,dirt,mud and a bit of rocky terrain.
Apparently quite a few of the mining contractors run them on their vehicles.

Franga
AnswerID: 270631

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 22:41

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 22:41
Franga
I was looking for a Tyrepower , maybe should have waited until Townsville, I really did want Bridgestones but then I guess Yokohama is probably just as good and the price of 4225 is not to be missed either, They also had some Pirelli's ....made in Venezuela....Nup ...Italy OK anyhow I ordered the set of 4 and they will be fitted in the morning

Doug

FollowupID: 533673

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:41

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:41
Gday Doug , just wondering mate what were the Hankooks you had on your car???......Cheers......Dave
AnswerID: 270663

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:47

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:47
Don't know , it's dark now and I'm not going out there to look .....the boogy man might get me ....lol, will have a look in the morning , just a standard road tread .

Doug

FollowupID: 533678

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:59

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:59
No probs Doug , was just curious cause my last set were crap also , still got them on my camper trailer its in the shed and im not going out to see what they are either.....the original Hankooks i put on my old GQ a few years back were an excellent tyre , got about 80000ks out of them and were still on there when i sold it ...hence trying them again......nowadays my son owns a tyre store so i get to try basically whatever i like for his price, at the moment im running the Cooper A/T copies...Jetzons ...and so far pretty impressed.........Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 533680

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 07:09

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 07:09
Hmmmm so your scared of the dark too ....SOOOK ...LOL

OK it's daylight and I safely got out for a look, the crappy tyres are Dynapro HP , 265/70R/16 , the new Yoko's will be back to the 75R because it puts the speedo right but raises the gearing slightly so might have to use 4th a bit more when towing , not much....just a tad .
Last time i will ever buy them.

Doug

FollowupID: 533689

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:38

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 11:38
Doug
Yep im bleep scared of the dark ...lol..

Same tyres as what i have , like i said they are now on camper trailer , may as well get something back for my money , i reckon i paid about $240 each for them at the time , like you i will never buy them again either .....have a good one mate .......Cheers.....Dave
FollowupID: 533731