Might be OT - But HELP needed

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:46
ThreadID: 51391 Views:2410 Replies:7 FollowUps:19
Evening all,

I have a small problem. Can anyone give me ideas on where I can purchase the silver trim that attaches (I think you would call it) to the roof gutter ridge on a Toyota Landcruiser 80 series. I realise the most obvious would be a Toyota Dealer, I was hoping there is a cheaper alternative. Also supplier in Adelaide if at all possible.

Debbie

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:50

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:50
Debbie

First port of call is to go to a couple of Japanese car wreckers and see if they have the one you need. if its all crumpled up then ask them where you might get some. You'd find some in the yellow pages.

The stuff gets a bit crumpled with roof racks going on and off and a bit of pushing under shrubbery doesn't it?

Hope this gets you started
Max
AnswerID: 270603

Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:55

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:55
Max,

Thanks for a sensible answer and yes you are quite right roof racks etc has necessitated the need for new so I can sell.

Debbie
FollowupID: 533610

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:51

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:51
Check out some Panel beaters as they usually have contacts with suppliers on trims.

If not check out the Auto Recyclers.
AnswerID: 270604

Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:59

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:59
96 GXL 80 series,

I did check out my local (close to home) Crash Repairer this afternoon, not really interested told me to go to CMI Toyota. Which is why I thought I would post this thread, thanks for reply I never thought of Recyclers etc, will check them out. Noticed your handle, exact model and year of mine, don't want to sell me your silver trim LOL.

Debbie
FollowupID: 533614

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:35

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:35
Hi Debbie R,
another one to try is someone that does stripes and trims on cars.

No not interested in giving you my trim, but if your good looking we might be able to mate them.
FollowupID: 533630

Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:52

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:52

Yeah cute!!!!! (don't know what hubby would think). I was actually hoping that someone out there would know the name of the guys (mobile) that go out to the car yards and repair all the trims on trade ins etc and do the decals. I know they exist, I just don't know what they call themselves.

The suggestions I have got so far have given me something to start with though and I really appreciate the help so far.

D
FollowupID: 533646

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:00

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:00
Have a look under Motor Trimmers or contact a window tinting mob and they might be able to put you onto someone.

Another option is a windscreen place as they need trims at times.

If hubby objects let me know? that will let me know how good looking you are hahahaaaaaaaaaaaaa

FollowupID: 533650

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:02

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:02
Is it Dents are us or something like that.
FollowupID: 533651

Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:10

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:10

Without blowing my own trumpet, I know when he gets home from work in morning his first reaction will be a huge smile and a definate " I suppose I had better say NO WAY".

But thanks for the further suggestions I have the yellow pages out right now and taking notes.

D
FollowupID: 533656

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:56

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 19:56
If you go about 25km out of Peterborough and head towards Broken Hill you will find ours - gave us the heeby geeby's and ripped it off!!!

Laura
AnswerID: 270605

Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:03

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:03
Hey Laura,

Congrates on the new vehicle looks great. I thinks one side of ours went west on the way up to Flinders Ranges about 3 years ago. The other side was pulled off in frustration, if I remember correctly. Would just like to spruce her up a bit, might entice someone to buy it. LOL

Debbie
FollowupID: 533616

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:13

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:13
Selling ours too...!!

Laura
FollowupID: 533617

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:52

Does it look OK if you leave the trim off?
AnswerID: 270622

Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:56

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:56
Phil,

IMO (female), no I'm not 100% happy although if I got some touch up paint and fix where the roof racks have been on and off that may help. But if I were to buy it I feel the silver trim would make it look much better. Cosmetic I know but !!!!!

I have a few more avenues to try tomorrow so I'll see how I go.

Debbie
FollowupID: 533647

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 06:44

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 06:44
you know what women are like Phil....there no good till they put on their face....same with the car i suspect
FollowupID: 533687

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 20:52

Does it look OK if you leave the trim off?
AnswerID: 270623

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:12

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:12
Got to thinking,
Take Laura's 80 series for a test run and there you have the trims.

To take her mind off looking to see if the trims are still on it, talk to her about the tyres so she will be looking down.

then say thanks and will let you know.
AnswerID: 270629

Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:18

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:18
Yeah good one aye Only a guy could think of that one.

Give you 10 points for that.

Just remembered Laura's has the trim missing as well so back to the drawing board - will have to deduct 9 points for the typical short memory loss.
FollowupID: 533657

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:35

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:35
Have you checked the car yards out to see if they have any 80 series for sale.

Take the one with all the trims for a test run.
FollowupID: 533663

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:54

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 21:54
Here you are Debbie.

Chips away, give them a try.

http://www.chipsaway.com.au/?gclid=COXA1cPIyo8CFQU6awodfjAC-Q
FollowupID: 533666

Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 18:56

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 18:56
Hey 96GXL80 series,

Thanks for the suggestions and the effort you put into helping out after hubby had his sleep today (worked all night) he made a few phone calls and has a chap coming out to our house next week to put on new trim, is one of those guys that goes to Car Yards.

Once again thanks

Debbie
FollowupID: 533787

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:29

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:29
Good news Debbie,
hope it all works out for you both.

Let us know as sombody else like Laura might be interested as well.
FollowupID: 533791

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:40

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:40
PS. It will look like a car with new chrome earrings, so you won't need your make-up on hahaaaaaaaaa
FollowupID: 533794

Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:59

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:59
Hey 96 GXL 80 series,

Like that one made me laugh!!!

Just want to make it sparkle to catch the eye of some one to buy it. The chrome earrings should do the trick and yes I will post a follow up to this tread next week after the job done to let every one know to keep in the memory banks.

Two Crusiers in the drive way is peeving me off - I want to down size my drive vehicle to a Suzki ( I know small in comparsion) but I reckon I could have some fun in it. Then use hubby's Cruiser for bigger things in the bush. Thinking perhaps will save money on fuel so we can go away more often. Should not have agreed to the purchase of the second one before the sale of the first (still have a Ford sedan in the garage as well - home looking like a Used Car Lot), but can't stand grumpy gentlemen.

FollowupID: 533796

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:43

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:43
Debbie, I understand what you mean re cars.

I sold my toy {Ford} that had to play with for 15yrs 2nd owner of it from new, You think the 4.5lt is heavy on fuel, the Ford used 80lts for 200klmts so I sold it to buy the 80 series and still have another 4WD in the garage as well.

I think that we might be like you though and hang onto it for around town and light 4WDing.

On the news tonight they said fuel was going to hit $1.50 a lt for ULP before Christmas.

I bet in the country we will be up to about $1.69 + per lt by then.

FollowupID: 533806

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:36

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 23:36
Gday Debbie ....im heading to a 4x4 wrecking yard in the next day or so , if you like send me an MM and let me know exactly what you need and i will inquire for you.......Cheers......Dave
AnswerID: 270662