Carrying jerry cans on roof cage ???
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 12:07
Member - aussichef (SA)
I am going up to see my son Warren jr @ Mulgathering station 226 KLm south east of Cooper Pedy on the weekend( hence me not attending the gathering)
Not taking the camper trailer as they are letting us stay in the shearers quarters
But i still want to take extra ULP
Is it best to carry the jerry cans on the front or rear of the roof cage?
Hope everyone has a top time @ the gathering
hope to catch up with everyone soon
warren aka aussichef
Reply By: Louie the fly - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 15:08
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 15:08
Everyone says 'don't carry cans of fuel and
water on your roofrack". Something to do with increasing the height of the centre of gravity. I can understand why they say that. On a 2 week trip to the NE corner of SA a couple of years ago when we had a Patrol with a full length rack. We had cans of diesel and
water right across the back of the roof rack. We laid then on their back edge to get the overall height down and always had the empty ones on the outsides though. I made sure they all had new seals before we left.
Never caused me a prob.
Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:57
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:57
I would like to correct the location of Mulgathing Station its 226 kln south west of Cooper Pedy
Noth east as i said in my original post
warren aka aussichef
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 15:13
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 15:13
G day Warren
Good to see you out and about !
The only problem I see with this, is just how awkward, or accessable is it. I would tend to carry any fuel at the rear, for a couple of reasons.
1) you may find it easier to climb up onto the racks/basket from the back of the vehicle.
2) if by chance there is a leak, which is unlikely, then the fuel is not gunna be too close to the people, in which everyone can get out ( safety thing I guess ) and probably will get blown back away from the vehicle, and not contaminate everything else, up on the basket
Not too sure what the legal side of things are. ( if any )
Hope this makes sence?
Cheers Mate
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 16:13
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 16:13
G'day Chef ol' mate.......
What Bucky said sounds pretty-
well on the money to me.
Are you wanting to carry the fuel because you're concerned you may run out (lack of fuel stops?) or are you just wanting to carry the extra cos it's a bit cheaper back down this way?
If the answer to that is the latter, I would respectfully suggest you forget about carrying the jerrys...... The additional weight and potential danger (both fuel volatility and the increased center of gravity) would, to me, outweigh the benefits of saving a few cents on the purchase price of topping-up your
tank up the Stuart Hwy somewhere.......not to mention the extra weight you'll be carting will increase your fuel consumption slightly anyway and the physical hassle of lifting the jerrys up/down on/off the roof rack etc.
If you're doing it because the size of your
tank does not provide enough range then I guess you have no alternative but to carry the jerry/s. If so, I would suggest you stop and decant the fuel into the
tank as soon as it has dropped enough for you to fit the fuel in the
tank. Also, I would carry the jerry/s empty for as long as possible and only fill them up at the last servo before you head out into the zone where fuel supply is going to be a problem. That way you're not carrying the fuel in the jerry/s any longer than you absolutely need to.
Hope this all makes sense.........
Cheers and have a good trip mate
Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 17:01
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 17:01
Hi Bill & Bucky
Its mainly that Warren jr's sheep station is 220 klm off the highway & the turn off is 226 from Cooper Pedy so over 426 klm round trip
we will also be going on Warren jr
water run with him on the Monday around the whole station so a long day & lots of klm
So that is the main reason will fill up @
Port Augusta
not sure where the last fuel stop is
If anyone has any idea will help me calculate
I know i wont run out just being on the safe side
Sorry I'm missing out on both the EO gathering & the YP4x4 club
camp
warren aka aussichef
Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 17:16
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 17:16
The other thing is we will be travelling over night so alot of smaller service stations will be closed
warren aka aussichef
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:45
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:45
Hi Warren,
I am not sure of which way you are going? You can get
24 hour fuel at
Pimba and Glendambo. If it was me, I would go out through
Kingoonya,
Tarcoola,
Malbooma and then head up to Mulgathing.
The track out to
Malbooma was in very good condition a few months ago when we were out that way.
Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:39
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:39
I am starting off from Port Vincent on the
Yorke Paninsula
warren aka auassichef
Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 16:57
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 16:57
I would carry the jerries empty for as long as possible. It is true that they increase the hieght of the centre of gravity and can produce something that I can only describe as a pendulum effect. Most of the time you will only notice it as extra weight, but in any situation where there is a sudden change of direction (blowout, swerve to miss animal, tyre catches a rut etc) you will see exactly what I mean.
This is on top of the centre of gravity issue where travel on a sloping track may produce a tip over even at slow speed. This is only my opinion of course but after experiencing this with a heavily loaded rack I now just leave some stuff at home.
If you are dead set on taking them, take as few as possible, keep them empty as long as possible and keep them as low as possible. If you are just trying to save a few dollars, I'd leave them at home.
In the end its your choise.
Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 17:32
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 17:32
Accross the front is where I carry them when needed as the back of the car is already heavily loaded and any weight transfer forwad is a bonus. As the fuel is used transfer it to the
tank meaning at most, the additional fuel will be up there for no more than a day or two and just lower your travel speed accordingly. To make the transfer easy use 25L plastic boat tanks instead of jerry's, click the hose on, a few squeezes on the pump and it will all gravity feed directly into the
tank with zero lifting.
Cheers Craig............
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 18:01
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 18:01
Gday Warren,
Weight distribution is better if you put it forward on the roofrack.
On the map, it looks to me like last fuel will be Glendambo.
I'd only put ULP into decent jerries with good seals. And wrap them with carpet or something to stop chafing on the dirt roads.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:57
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:57
Agree there Phil
I never do it - but if I did the weight would be forward as many 4wds are already of dubious stability.
Reply By: Himble - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:35
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:35
Warren, I carry
mine at the back of the roofrack on my Patrol...easier to get down, and I have 10ltr jerries which are easier for an old fart like me to put up/down when full!
Reply By: Member - Mal B - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:56
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 19:56
mate of
mine uses the 20 lt marine boat tanks thers are low, flat base,and seal good use a marine hose and boat fitting to trans fer fuel no leak no need to lift down BUT MAKE SHORE YOU EARTH safe driveing mal
Follow Up By: HK - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:53
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:53
Are these containers suitable for diesel as
well ?
Thanks HK
Follow Up By: Member - Mal B - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:04
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:04
dont see why not
Follow Up By: Member - Mal B - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:04
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:04
dont see why not
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:02
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 17:02
All jerry cans and petrol cans must meet or exceed an australian standard, for all fuels not just petrol or just diesel but all currently used fuels.
I wou;d either take a triler with the jerrys in it and wrap them in carpet so as being totally away from vehicle!
Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:05
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:05
Have a good trip Warren and don't work too hard up there............ your on holidays remember :).
I hope the Nissan doesn't give you any troubles
Say hello to Warren Jr. for us
Cheers Luke
Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:54
Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 21:54
Hey Luke
The trol has just been serviced & had a full tune plus u will be glad to hear i am taking plenty of vacuum hose hahahahah
I have just spoken to Warren jr on the phone & we are to take the Bulgunnia turnoff towards
Commonwealth hill station we have been given a turn by turn directions + I have the Nuvi 660 lol
i have been told
Pimba & Glendambo are open for fuel 24/7
Dont know how I'm going to fit in Barb & George with the list Warren Jr & his fellow Jack & jillaroos have for me to get for them needless to say Bottles of spirits & cruisers are high on the list
I am very welcome for Saturday night as i am cooking dinner for the whole station I'm told now i know why warren jr asked me to bring some whole cryovac grain fed vealer rump from work lol
I am also taking cryovaced marinated chicken steaks & marinated chicken wings as
well for him to have when he likes + some of my horseradish chicken rissoles i have frozen off for him boy is he spoilt lol
Hope to catch up with you & carren soon
warren aka aussichef
Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 10:04
Friday, Nov 09, 2007 at 10:04
in the landcruiser we have carried them on the roof rack at the back with them on their side but the spout up th top so no leaking, we only had to fill them twice and use them twice so it wasnt too hard....we had 2 x 20lt jerries.....
Laura