Submitted: Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 02:36
Hairy (NT)
Ive just decied to help out a mates kid who is fairly close to a lost cause.
Hes front page material and dares the cops to lock him up!
bleep I love a chalenge , or just a gluten for punishment...
Reply By: vuduguru - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 03:46
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 03:46
..............Never!
Empathies...........have 15 yo daughter!
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 07:18
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 07:18
First rule of life;
Don't get involved with other peoples kids (or wife :-)!
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:12
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:12
I hope I dont sound cynical,
Why is it that the good kids go un-noticed,
And the problem kids are always in the Lime-Light. and get more
attention.
Daza
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 10:01
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 10:01
Its the bad kids who are looking for attention and desperately need it - just usually get the wrong type of attention!
Laura
Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:23
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:23
Hairy,
It's difficult to help someone if they don't want to be helped. But if your mate is desperate and has asked for your help with his son and you feel you can, then you should try. It's easier to just give up and say "he's a lost cause" but if there's a chance you can make a difference then do your best.
Viv
Follow Up By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:35
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:35
Hairy,
I couldn't agree more with Viv!!! Everyone deserves help from someone. And you never know you may just have the goods to connect with this lad and you may make a difference in his life. Lastly old saying that goes I think "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you"
Hope it works out for both you and the lad. GOOD LUCK
Debbie
Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:30
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:30
Wants to get locked up?
I'd start by explaining to him what will happen to his bum in jail/detention centre and take it from there.
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:33
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:33
Hairy.....Mate......Been there twice,
Care about them, support them, be there for them, advise them, but only they can change their ways themselves.
If they stay alive long enough and with all the above they usually come right.
Your in for a long haul mate, good one ya and good luck.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:43
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 08:43
I wonder why he is classed as a lost cause? ........ or is it he does not fit what others want him to be and simply needs to get away from his current environment to find his own path. To me he sounds like he's after attention and does not matter what form it will come in and also does not like being told not to do something.
Does he have a job and would he work if not. How old is he?
I'm not sure how you intend on helping but good on you for at least trying not that it will be easy just go in with eyes wide open :).
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:54
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:54
He doesnt work and Hes 18....Have lined him up jobs in the past but he doesnt like work!!!
I think he would actually like to work with his dad but you cant put them both in the same room now without blood.
I think there is hope for him...Its not going to happen overnight though!!!
As for helping...I think one step at a time...Somehow I need to get him to want a job before I line up another one.
Maybe I take him for a trip out bush......Then tell him if he wants to go again, give me a call, catch is hes paying for fuel. Give him a reason to work!
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 09:47
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 09:47
> fawk I love a chalenge , or just a gluten for punishment...
If the kid doesnt want help, let him learn the hard way in jail with bubba. or is he one of the lucky peopole who can do everythin wrong, but our laws cant touch them thats why he baits the bacon...?
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 10:50
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 10:50
The hard way is looking like death and his parents are at the stage they would nearly accept that! Its who he takes with him would be the hard thing to live with.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:07
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:07
Gday All,
Thanks for the thoughts...I know its very off topic but it was fairly late when I made the decision and was looking for a bit of a reality check.
The Mrs. is a bit worried but will back me, and Ive got full support from a mate who is a Snr. Sargent. Im about to go and see a couple of other mates who are screws and see if I can take the
young fella for a tour of the place hes so eager to get in to.
Like people have more or less said " you can lead a horse to
water but........", Im hoping maybe this is all he needs.....a bit of direction and a little push!
I suppose all I can do Is try to explain where he is in life, show him his options are and offer to help.
If I can just get it into his head , Its not too late to change!!!!
The same time if he crosses me or my family which is known to do I will let him know in no certain terms I will rip his head off and crap down his neck!!
Why do I get my self into these situations? Probably because I could have gone that way myself!
Thanks for your thoughts and ideas!!
Hairy
Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:00
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:00
Gidday Hairy
I know a fella managing a cattle station in the east
Kimberley. He had a pretty hard start to life when he was
young, but was taken under the wing of another acquaintance. He's now one of the most respected cattlemen in the
Kimberley.
This particular fella is no social worker. He's a hard man, but fair with his crew. If your interested, I send you further detail via a MM.
Kim
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:35
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:35
Thanks Kim,
I reckon I got a bit of work in front off me before He'd even consider work but I certainly keep it in mind for the future.
Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:09
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:09
Hairy
The person I'm talking about did it rough. Booze and everything else that comes with that. Totally lost drop kick..... in and out, if you know my meaning!
The only thing that saved him was a fair kick up the arse from a fella that I know. The fact that your taking an interest in a lad is worthy of praise.
Kim
Reply By: Member - Lost Dog(WA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 12:56
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 12:56
Gday Hairy. If more people were like you I don't think we would have as many problems with our kids as we do. Keep your chin up mate. You are one of the good ones.
Col
Reply By: jdwynn (SA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:26
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:26
Hairy
I'm with Col and others. Good onya and good luck.
Cheers JD
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 18:12
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 18:12
Hairy,
Sounds like you've got the attitude to match his. Only thing yours is headed the right way. Good luck!
Tend to agree with Kim, that he needs a stint on a station, just to show him he's not so tough. This work can give a lot of Generation "Y" kids the right direction in life, and a lot of self respect & confidence.
If not send him to Afghanistan..........soon see how tough he is then,
Enjoy the challenge,
Hooroo...
Reply By: Member - Rotord - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 02:36
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 02:36
Hello Hairy
If he is dead set against work it may be easier to find what he would regard as a fun job than to change his attitude . I have only had two jobs , the RAAF and civilian helicopter flying and I rate enjoyable work highly . If you could get him interested in the military you may have the answer .
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 11:17
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 11:17
Yeh mate,
All he wanted to do was be a carpenter but reckons he couldnt get an apprenticeship....so i got one for him, but sitting
home smoking pot was more his scene.
I dont think a kick up the arse or a smack around the ear is going to help either, hes had his fair share of those and hes just learnt to hit back harder.
Na I think the soft cock approach is going to be the go until he gets a bit of self confidence and worth.
Im building a bike at the moment which hes shown interest in before...that might be something we have in commen. Might give him a reason to come around for a chat when he needs it.
Ill definalely give the military and station work a shot with him.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 09:17
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 09:17
Hairy,
If he wants to be a chippy then get him to apply for a direct entry into the Army as an apprentice chippy.
It will be 12 weeks of initial training at Kapooka (Wagga) then about 12-20 weeks of Corp training at the School of Military Engineering in Moorebank, then 15-18 months in Albury Wodonga doing the Tafe side of the apprenticeship. Then back to Moorebank for OJE with civilian contractors. When his training is complete he will then have about 2 years left of his 6 year engagement to serve in an Engineer Unit.
If you want more info MM me and I'll get it to you.
Good Luck
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - pot hole (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 19:20
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 19:20
Hairy good on yu,
I have been through the same thing but with family member.
I hope you can help this person but it's a hard road.
If you could get rid of the brain frying drugs it would make things easier.The pot is so much stronger than it was 15 years ago.
It was thought it wasn't that damaging but it is.
I with a couple of family members ended up throwing in the towel.
Just got sick of getting kicked in the guts.
Drug addict's are very selfish people and lie and cheat to get what they want.14 years later nothing much has changed no job and no real sence of realality.Bloody sad really.
As soon as this person admitt's they have a problem you can help or get help but I found that part the hardest.
Sorry for going on but good on you for taking the time to try and make a difference.
Scoof