A new GPS or not

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 10:14
ThreadID: 51475 Views:3011 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Thinking of getting a new GPS but my thoughts are along the lines of ...is it really worth spending 4 or 5 hundred bucks....

We have an etrex and its pretty plain and simple (and does the job in my eyes) but Nathan wants a new one and is looking at those Magellan 600 things that come with the maps and all....wants to be able to put stuff on the computer etc....

Is there another one like it that does the same sought of thing but dont cost as much.

I cannt see the point in it as we never use the things except for the trip last yr and for the canning in 09 and plus other people will have one.....or am I just a tight ass...??

Laura

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:14

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:14
Where are you Doug. Help is wanted
AnswerID: 271061

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:48

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:48
He's

"40klm further down the track "

last time I heard:)

FollowupID: 534125

Reply By: StormyKnight - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:32

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:32
Mate I have maps because I don't believe road signs!

Usually both electronic & paper. It just makes for one less thing to go wrong & you can explore without being concerned about being lost.

AnswerID: 271062

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:58

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 11:58
Laure, Kiwi,Mahindra or tight ass,

This is a very open question.

Having one will give you information but unless you use that information it is just another Christmas toy in April.

When I am driving I always have it on manly for the time and speed that the vehicle is going. The speedo on the Troopie is reading out a bit and I will drive to the speed of the GPS.

When I am leading a trip I have two GPS on with different information from both units.

What I would suggest is to find someone with the GPS that you are thinking of getting and have a look at it set up in the vehicle and see if it is really what you want.

AnswerID: 271065

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 23:29

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 23:29
Nice large readable numbers on the Garmin
So your near Beames Av / Francis Rd, Rooty Hill

FollowupID: 534138

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 19:03

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 19:03
Wayne,

ROTFLMAO, we now have a tight assed Kiwi that drives a Mahindra, that gets called Laura when in the bleep . No wonder she needs a GPS hehehehehehehehehe

FollowupID: 534767

Reply By: The Explorer - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 12:03

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 12:03
Hello - impossible for us to determine if you will get value for money out of what ever GPS you get - you will have to determine that yourself. If you get a map enable version you may find you use it more often….but then again you might not.

The Magellan’s have the best available mapping for outback touring (despite what others may say)..though the eXplorist 600 you speak of is close to the most expensive - it will cost more than $1000 to get set up and going if you go down that path - e600s are ~$900 and the DAST Topo is ~$379...but think they are now on the verge of being a discontinued product as the release of the new Magellan Triton GPS units is imminent. You may wish to get one of the cheaper eXplorist models if you want the best mapping or wait for relaes of Triton series

Magellan Triton GPS

sticking with a Garmins is your other option so you can look for cheapest mapping model – available maps are limited for out of town areas – best (IMHO) is Shonkymaps…

Shonkymaps for Garmin

Or T4A (not as good in base form as shonky but supposedly an ongoing project...so theoretically will get better with time)

T4A maps for Garmin

neither hvae any where near the detail of Magellan’s DAST series …but they are free and the detail may be enough to keep you happy…so if youre on a budget getting another Garmin may be the way to go.

AnswerID: 271066

Reply By: brummie pete - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 13:58

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 13:58
i used to be along the same way of thinking and even though i run my gps most of the time i often wondered if i had wasted my money UNTILL i got totally lost out in the middle of nowhere in the goldfields of western australia ,it was only the backtrack on the gps that enabled me to re -trace our route and end up on the right track .
I suppose they are a bit like a sat phone an expensive bit of kit but something that can save a hell of a lot of time and maybe your life .So saying that i would agree you are being a ''tight ass '' ,so i reckon go buy one today you wont regret it and its only money .Good luck with your decision .
AnswerID: 271074

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:32

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:32
As Laura already has an Etrex GPS which has the back track feature they will always be able to find their way back without the need for backgound maps.
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 534069

Follow Up By: brummie pete - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 15:16

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 15:16
sorry craig ,i read through the post too quick and in that case i wouldnt bother with a new one as the backtrack i find is one of the most useful features .pete
FollowupID: 534072

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:29

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 14:29
Laura until you get into very remote areas a GPS in a 4by is not a tool that is actually "Needed', more of a item that saves a minor bit of inconvienience at times or even just a gimmick for many. If you can't read a paper map but are a computing guru then you may find the mapping GPS's an option but of course what happens when the electrons stop for what ever reason.
I'm in a similar position to you owning an old Garmin GPS II which has towns but no maps. I navigate by paper maps always with the GPS running on the dash to confirm intersections or to work out an ETA to the next stop. A moving map would make it easier but really depite leading heaps of trips we rarely overshoot too many corners so for me the $1200 for a decent mapping GPS is better spent else where.
As I have a laptop I've just bought an ebay GPS logger for $70 which will give me moving map if I want it but more importanly record my route for trip reports. As I say it's really a gimmick in this case. Many get far too engrossed in the whole GPS mapping system (me included at times) and probably should pay more attention to the road & the view :-)
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 271077

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 15:56

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 15:56
My advice is... do nothing for 12 months or more.

In-car GPS mapping tools are in their infancy and you will see significant changes in display systems and user interfaces also the price will drop significantly from the current high levels.

Your e-Trex will do all you need even if you go remote bush - road and track displays just make it a bit quicker to navigate. Hopefully no one is stupid enough to go bush without paper maps and a compass and the e-Trex will tell you where on the paper map you are.

In 12 months or so you'll be able to buy a 7" display with good mapping and updates for about $300.

AnswerID: 271083

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:18

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:18
Laura,
if you want to get rid of hubby, then stick with the one you have, remove the memory out of it and send him on a one way trip.
Just wondering if he should use the Mahinder other drivers though.
AnswerID: 271153

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 23:35

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 23:35
Laura
The only one I can think of that will give you a CD so you can have the mapping software on the PC is a Garmin Quest and is the cheapest one that gives a CD as far as I know,

GARMIN QUEST

Read the specs, this is an amazing little gps, will record and remember over 4000klm of track ,
Doug

AnswerID: 271163

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 23:41

Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 23:41
I might add , my Daughter got one and I uploaded T4A and a small section of contours for around the NSW region where she lives, her Quest will have all the main Simpson Desert tracks and the CSR in it as well as all outback track Australia wide

FollowupID: 534140