Pyrenees Gathering

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 18:30
ThreadID: 51510 Views:4081 Replies:12 FollowUps:38
Just finnished unpacking the car and Glad to report, that the EO spirit is alive and well in Victora.

I believe the number is close to 70 people attending , but I will alow the oficial report to tell that story.

I want to thank the organisers for a fantastic job . There efforts didn't go unnoticed . Some of the usuall faces and lots of new ones to.

After getting there late Friday night due to a bad storm in Ballarat. I was assisted by many members to get camp set up.

On Saturday Morning I went along on Glenns trip , which to my suprise took us through some great challengers for the day. When you loose a few lugs off your tyres , you know you have had fun lol.

I am sure there will be plenty of stories , but I will give you the heads up on some questions to ask.

1/ why did Bonz get towed into Camp behind Willem ?

2/ Why is the photo evidence of the bonz mobile in tow by a cruiser ?

3/ Why is Bonz driving a cruiser. ?

4/ Why did willem have barb wire around his drink bottle ?

5/ why shouldnt you stop to talk to a SA Member when there not in your convoy ?

6/ was the raffle rigged???? lol

Also it was great to see first hand how, to handle rival campers that dont see eye to eye with your group. Not only did John R get his point accross , he won them over and even got a raffle ticket sale out of them.Well done mate , you have taught me a lesson or two .

cheers . Eric C (aka Rock crawler )

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 18:43

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 18:43
Eric,

it was indeed a great weekend...and did you realise that the chap who had the big issue with us...won one of the raffle prizes...diplomacy certainly worked well....though that could have been undone this morning when "Lucy" arrived in camp tooting his horn at 7am!

Lyn
AnswerID: 271252

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 18:51

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 18:51
Lucy almost lost his block from many Eo members also lol . But he actually did me a favour as I had slept in for a early pack up lol.

Glad to see his flag WENT MISSING lol , I am sure a story wil lbe told from that also.

Good to see your home safe
FollowupID: 534217

Follow Up By: George_M - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 19:29

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 19:29
He almost lost his block from many EO members, and then my wife would really have gotten serious:-(

George_M
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 534222

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 20:07

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 20:07
"Glad to see his flag WENT MISSING lol "

Wasn't a Maroon looking flag with white lettering in the words of Queensland by chance?

Good to hear it was a good weekend....sorry Lucy had to come in and spoil it for you though. LOL!!!

Trevor.
FollowupID: 534227

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 20:41

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 20:41
That WAS the one Trevor

FollowupID: 534230

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:23

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:23
I hope the flag is recovered and the guilty culprit is dealt with accordingly.
I'd expect Lucy won't be on for a couple of days as he'll be sleeping in to catch up on lost sleep.
I think a fair pay back would be to post his home phone number on here so that he can receive early morning wake up calls.
FollowupID: 534238

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:47

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:47
Sleeping in??? pig's are's he will, I reckon now I'm back on 4:15 starts I'll have to see if he is awake at 6:45 each morning, now until late december!!!
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 534243

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:54

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:54
Nic, Why let him sleep in to 6.45am 6ish would be better LOL
FollowupID: 534247

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:16

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:16
Hey you blokes and shelias, I was just happy to see that bloke on his feet again.

George, your self restraint was good too. I am not sure what Julie would be like if she got serious. LOL
FollowupID: 534460

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:21

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:21
Hi John

I think we were all glad to see him...just wish he'd been quieter :))
FollowupID: 534462

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 19:39

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 19:39
Yep Eric, what a great weekend eh? The raffle wasnt rigged at all, although the raffle prize distributer may have elicited his fair share of kisses!

There is no truth to the fact that Bonz was driving a Cruiser, I was only working the pedals for Dean C.

Packed and home by 1705 was a record for a weekend away, I love the Pyrenees.

AnswerID: 271260

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:13

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:13
Bonz, actually Dean helped prove it wasn't rigged.
FollowupID: 534391

Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 20:18

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 20:18
A big thanks to the organisers we had a ball the grandkids didnt want to go home johns knowledge of the area was great but its back to reality tomorrow
was great to meet so many that i normally only chat to (or abuse )on the forum we hope to see more of them

AnswerID: 271265

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:10

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:10
Thanks for your comments Steve, but your grandkids said it all with their happy smiles and clear enjoyment. The comments from others of their children's appreciation says just so much for the weekend.
FollowupID: 534458

Reply By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:00

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:00
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves this weekend. Many thanks to John R, Heather and the mob for all the encouragement and good humour they showed us. We will sleep well tonight. cheers. Bill F faydaway.and Pauline.
AnswerID: 271282

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:06

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:06
Good to see you both Bill and how well Fay-D-Away did on tracks too that were fairly testing. I think you had to lower tyre pressures though which is normally against your religion so we knew you were trying. You know you can go bact there any time quite easily. Merve Flett was pretty happy when he spoke with me, so we have the contact details for when we want to go back. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
FollowupID: 534457

Reply By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:19

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 21:19
Gotta agree, the weekend was great especially with the organising efforts put in by John R, Heather and those trip leaders who actually knew where they were going. LOL
Answere to your questions.
Q1 Because he had to.
Q2 Because it was done under the cover of darkness and no-one had their flash' set up properly.
Q3 His secret fantasy had to be realised eventually.
Q4 To keep the freeloaders away from it. I'm gald he had a serious headache this morning and couldn't remember his name.
Q5 I thought it was bad communication from his trip leader by not keeping proper tabs on his group. Besides, Al was only being friendly. Only joking Glenn. LOL
Q6 Definitely not.
AnswerID: 271287

Reply By: Blaze - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 22:02

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 22:02
I have a duty I believe to report that Uncle Des had Trip Leaders diplomatic immunity last night around the Camp Fire, but that the immunity has now timed out.

I have to report on the Lexic lead supposed (Mystery Trip) yesterday, we were Geographically Misplaced on a couple of occasions and also ended up on dead end tracks twice.

He did try to assist some other 4X4 drivers attempting Old Bluff Track by advising them to let their tyres down. Of course they didn't listen and had atr least 3 vehicles stuck on the hill out of their party of 7, (you can lead a horse to water).

Must thank all for a great weekend and hope to catch up with members again around the block.
AnswerID: 271298

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 23:09

Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 23:09
We have to agree it was a great weekend thanks to John R & co
very well organized, it was great to put faces to names, this was
our first trip with EO members thoroughtly enjoyed it and it
won't be the last look forward to catching up in the near
future.
will put some photos in our photo gallery

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 271308

Reply By: Twinkles - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 03:14

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 03:14
Had a great time. Thanks John and Heather. Fantastic organisation.
Loved the day trip with Bonz's group. Female drivers rule on the "F F track".
When's the next gathering. Can't wait!
AnswerID: 271315

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 08:56

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 08:56
I have evidence that you could not keep your wheels on the ground on that track!!!
I also have evidence of Dave and Nora doing the same on another track, Tiger Cat I think......
I'll post it soon!
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 534282

Follow Up By: Twinkles - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 17:49

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 17:49
My wheels only went vertically above the track and some of them were grounded at all times!!!
FollowupID: 534345

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 10:57

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 10:57
We also had a great time - thanks John & everyone.

The "one degree of separation" (the Australian version of six degrees) was well and trully in evidence - lots of people with whom we had common aquaintances.

Adrian
AnswerID: 271349

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 21:45

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 21:45
Sasha (spelling) is such a cutie, thanx for the loan of her Sunday Morning

FollowupID: 534387

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:05

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:05
Adrian,
on the 6 degrees of separation, what did Tim McC say when you said that you met, not one but 3 people who knew him?

Happened at the national gathering, there are people known to both Twinkles and myself, incideantally one works a bit with the DPI!!!

It occurred to me this morning that I am on the DPI payroll periodically too, that's another story....
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 534555

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 20:06

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 20:06
Nick and Adrian I met Tim's dad and son in town just 10 days ago too. Years since I have seen Tim though.
FollowupID: 534782

Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 23:17

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 23:17
Nick & John,

I saw Tim yesterday and mentioned that I'd been with you and Shane. He just shook his head at how small the world is and says hello.

Bonz,
Donna Baxter stayed with us last night.

John,
Donna's dad - Rob who I recall you knew, isn't very well and she was taking him to hospital this morning)

I read your combined report to Liam and he was very embarrassed but very chuffed at seeing his name in print. I enjoyed reading it too.

All the best,

Adrian

FollowupID: 534815

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 19:33

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 19:33
Hey Adrian, where is Donna from? I know someone by that name. The Donna I know has a brother who is a mate and a father who has been quite ill........
The father was quite a good runner in his day....
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 534903

Reply By: Blaze - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 14:45

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 14:45
Was a great trip, I am trying to put up a of the area up with our track showing on it, including Uncle Des's so called (mystery Trip). Take note of the area near the highlight, you may see a couple of dead ends.. LOL..

Hope this works...

AnswerID: 271369

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 14:46

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 14:46
Try again.
FollowupID: 534317

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 18:35

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 18:35
Mystery Trip was how it was advertised and delivered as promised.
Looking at the map, We didn't do too bad. Even did a track that wasn't marked. Billy Goats if my memory serves me correctly.
FollowupID: 534354

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 19:11

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 19:11
He Blaze
fine tag line mate.
Colin.
FollowupID: 534364

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:11

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:11
Blaze, you have good reason to come back mate, you missed the Old Tiger cat Track, and the Old Kingtree Track, that one not named there. It is off the bottom of Dridan Track which you did. It just LOOKS vertical. LOL

No sense of adventure obviously by your leader. Must be Dementia Des now.
FollowupID: 534390

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 11:41

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 11:41
Hi On Patrol,

Just not sure with me whether I've got the adventure part done in time LOL

Love the wheel cover......
FollowupID: 534468

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 16:11

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 16:11
Hello friends, Heather and I got home this afternoon separately as you would understand with the separate vehicles. We were last to leave with Dave and Nora and it was fantastic to leave with a clean campsite, so thanks to you all for that. All of you did your bit as EO members in taking away your rubbish and minimising traces.

Along with Chris G, Bonz, Glenn. Des Lexic and Lucky who appeared for a few hours yesterday, we all appreciate the positive comments made by the friends who attended. I am sure the trip leaders will say they had a ball, the decision making and planning before hand all came to fruition.

Even the fire site had been watered down and dug over before we left and Chris took the remaining fire wood away.

As the listed arranging member, I can say it was a pleasure to work with the members listed above as they all know their stuff.

I will post seperatly the Trip Report and funds raised that will go to the Glenpatrick Recreserve Committee to deal with their development issues.

This morning I gave the large map that had been hanging in the shelter, to Chris G to have it in the Avoca Tourist Information Centre complete with Exploroz sticker.
AnswerID: 271377

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 16:39

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 16:39
Hi John

glad you and Heather are back home safe. I don't think we should forget the kids and how well they got on with each other. We drag them all over the place in pursuit of the lifestyle we want and sometimes take for granted they'll be happy, thankfully it would appear that all the kids that were there over the weekend were happy - apart for a brief moment when my two couldn't stand the site of each other.. :), the kids were fantastic...happily playing with each other, making new friends, and re establishing old ones.

Tegan made a statement on Friday night, "finally after so long [since easter..lol] I"m enjoying the life I was missing"!..says truckloads really.

Thanks for all of your efforts..was a fantasitc weekend.

Lyn
FollowupID: 534335

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 21:44

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 21:44
hear hear Lyn, the kids were such a joy. I was blessed with being able to hold Adrian and Annies little one for ages Sunday morning - she is such a cutie, and their Young fella's were great too, Dean and Natalie, well they were great too, Dean was a classic trying to drive the Cruiser, and Natalie wouldnt give me a kiss for all the ice in Persia hahahaha (neither would Dean haha)

Callum was so dedicated holding my coffee as I and Dean drove around, his concentration was amazing and the CUDDLE I got from Moggs little girl was priceless, dammit I have tears in my eyes thinking about it. She is a cutie too (I dont mean Nat either :0) )

Those stakes I took up there were a great hit with the kids and despite all the naysayers in the camp next door, no eyes were skewered, no skin was stabbed and noone was mauled.

It was such a joy to see them all playing together, and I thank everyone for bringing them along, they MADE the weekend for me.

FollowupID: 534386

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:02

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:02
I got an apology from next door Bonz but when you know the noises made there :-((((

When a group tries to monopolise the access to facilities it tends to set up an exclusion zone, but EO members aren't likely to take much notice of that ;-))))
FollowupID: 534388

Follow Up By: Member - Chris G (VIC) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:21

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:21
G'day John & Heather....you to Bonz.
What a tribute to your gathering . When I went back this morning as I said I would, I took a trailer and 240 wheelie bin for rubbish. You said on friday it wouldn't be needed and it wasn't.
The site was spotless. What a great bunch. Your large map is now available to any visitor to the local visitor information centre in the High Street. Good on you people.
FollowupID: 534395

Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:30

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:30
Thanks again John.

Thanks Lyn for your advice when we were looking to buy the Trak Shak - it worked even better than we'd hoped.

Thanks Bonz for leading the trip and your expert baby sitting skills. BTW, three of the stakes have found their way back to our place as treasured souvenirs!

I must "thank" Eric because according to the boys our headrest DVD player that was the bees knees (and for which I was the best Dad in the World) is now a bit ho hum after the full cinematic experience provided by TUF100;

The best moment came after we got home. As Liam was heading off to sleep he ran up, gave me a hug and a kiss and said "thanks for taking us camping".

Adrian
FollowupID: 534400

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:50

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:50
Hi John,
A big thanks to both you and Heather (and others) for a fantastic weekend. It's so great to be able to do what you love and share it with so many interesting folks from all walks of life. Met some great people and had the opportunity to catch up with friends we hadn't seen in a while. It's also nice to know you were part of something that is giving back to the community.

Lyn, I love Tegan's statement - It does say truckloads. Our kids also had a ball and enjoyed the freedom of mum not yelling at them to 'put that bloody stick down before you take out someone's eye' haha. BTW, we have Tegan's purple jumper - will get it back to you somehow.

Bonz, our little girl's name is Hayley ;-), and don't feel so special cause she would hug a hobo lol (but they are good cuddles). Thanks also to your brother 'the better looking one' lol for providing some great entertainment.

Looking forward to the next trip, thanks again John & Heather and all for a great weekend.

....and a special thank you to Lucy and that horn. I'm glad he was able to wake us all up.

Nat.
FollowupID: 534403

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:55

Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 22:55
Thanx Nat, is was a lovely cuddle from Hayley, and Robert actually thought you were serious when u mentioned he was "the better looking one" hahahaha He had a great weekend too, Another new member will soon grace these pages. I gave him and EO sticker and it was on the car in a flash.

FollowupID: 534405

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 07:03

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 07:03
Thanx Nat for picking up Tegan's jumper, she was upset on Sunday night and wanted me to ring John..lol..I told her it was a lesson in looking after her stuff..{I'm a tough mum :)} but I thought someone would see it and fgure whose it was.

It was great not being worried about the kids - half the time I didn't know exactly where my two were..but I knew they were in the campground, they were having fun and they were happy...they'd drift back to our camp when they were hungry or thirsty and all was well with the world. Plus, it was such a great bunch of people I know that if any of the kids got into some sort of trouble they'd be looked after, it's just the way it is.

Kids are great...they could and do teach adults how to get on with others...they just accept the situation and make the most of it; it's that or be miserable...{now I sound like MY mother..oh dear!}

Lyn
FollowupID: 534432

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:41

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 10:41
All the comments are correctly to the team and I am pleased at that. There was no single effort as the recce trips have indicated in prior weeks. There was a lot that went into the weekend, and that is the experience with a couple of trips in past years, one with you and Al, Lyn. Glenn the leader that time, another time with Riverland 4x4 Club, the trips with Lucky, Bonz and Rob too. Just to understand the buzz that some get from achieving that first climb

Nick was here this morning and we talked about the freedom the kids had for most of the time there. It would have been different in a smaller park. Shane and Ann-Maree were next to Nick and Simone and I hear had a fantastic time for their first EO event. You better not lurk any more Shane, come in the door I know there is an EO sticker on your camper now.

Moggs, your comments are welcome too, especially about giving back to the community. There may be more of that later and we may be able to help the community get some government funding too for a park like that one. I am waiting to her back from the Secretary of the Rec Reserve. Always lovely to seee you and your family, I enjoy your company.

Adrian, we didn't get a lot of opportunity to talk but with your DPI connection perhaps you aught understand another connection with WCB as we have some good people there ;-)

Chris, please make sure you keep up the EO connection, you are already a commnity person, I know. This wider community is great value and appreciated, even if in a different way. Well done with that map. Thank you and for your thoughts and preparation.

I think Tegan in Lyn's post above speaks lovely volumes so makes us feel warm about life and inter-personal relationships. Thanks to all of you.
FollowupID: 534465

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 16:43

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 16:43
John,

We finally rolled in around 3pm this afternoon after overnighting in Cootamundra.

Don't forget to obtain a copy of this weeks Avoca Advocate to see the write up of the Bonz interview, I don't trust the photo as I think Bonz broke the lens ha ha

FollowupID: 534509

Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 20:36

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 20:36
Hey Kev, was great to meet you and Sam on the weekend. Hope the back held up ok following all the driving. We didn't get the camera out over the weekend. Would you mind sending us some piccies or vid from the drive on Saturday at some stage?? Would be greatly appreciated.
FollowupID: 534791

Reply By: Rohan K - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:00

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:00
Hey John (and others). Sounds like a great weekend had by all. John, make the next one longer than a few days and we might just be able to get down there. :-)

We're keen for a return trip and would love to catch up again.

Rohan

Oh, I guess I should tell you about the new Fourbie ...
AnswerID: 271720

Follow Up By: Rohan K - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:07

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:07
Evolution :- )
FollowupID: 534751

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:32

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:32
G'day Rohan, nice to hear from you. I did mention your name the other day with Willem as he remembers you on here too, not just the Moggs clan. You could have made a longer than weekend down here mate as you are welcome here any time. We were there for four nights as were others too, Navigator 1 from Sydney did that. Dave B from Broken Hill were there for three nights, Willem too. Muddies for 2.5 nights. LOL

Mate, if you are headed this way, just talk to me. Love to the rest of the family.
FollowupID: 534754

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:34

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:34
G'day Rohan, nice to hear from you. I did mention your name the other day with Willem as he remembers you on here too, not just the Moggs clan. You could have made a longer than weekend down here mate as you are welcome here any time. We were there for four nights as were others too, Navigator 1 from Sydney did that. Dave B from Broken Hill were there for three nights, Willem too. Muddies for 2.5 nights. LOL

Mate, if you are headed this way, just talk to me. Love to the rest of the family. The car looks good, on the Darkside though. ;-)))
FollowupID: 534758