Air conditioners in trailers / caravans

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:22
ThreadID: 51569 Views:7884 Replies:11 FollowUps:5
gday,
i have an enclosed car trailer that we camp in at the race track.
we want to put a split system aircon in it but my sparky isnt real keen on doing it.
he reckons that the unit will shake itself to death or split the lines and lose gas.

ive seen them on these types of trailers before and the have the outdoor part of the unit mounted on the front of the nosecone at the bottom, out of the way of any nasties.
when travelling they put a heavy canvas cover over the unit to protect it.

any ideas?
thanks in advance.
justin.
here is a pic.,

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:38

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:38
I have seen car air conditioners fitted to similar units but using a Honda petrol engine to run it.

They work great for bringing back a weekend load of meat from a shoot.

You use everything from the Condenser / Compressor and mount it all on the draw bar.

Have a talk to a radiator or air conditioning place.

The only other way would be to get hold of a 240v generator and a small Air Con.
Even then the Generator would need to be big enough to run the Air con.
AnswerID: 271550

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:40

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:40
The compressor is belt driven from the Honda engine.
FollowupID: 534547

Reply By: bloosted - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:45

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:45
yeah mate pleny of people have done it and it works well

have a look at the photo section on this site http://groups.msn.com/Caravanforum/caravanairconditionerinstalla.msnw
AnswerID: 271553

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:59

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 19:59
Hi mate!
I asked a similar question on this forum some six months ago and got howled down. I was told that the thing would shake to death, that it would not be covered by manufacturers warranty and that the moon would turn blue.
Being an ignorant sort of bloke and knowing far less than the experts who gave their opinions I happened to have a look at "the caravan forum". Lo and behold there were any number of people who had done similar to what you are talking about. Instead of spending an exorbitant amount of money on overpriced, inefficient, noisy crap caravan air conditioners, those with a little nous are fitting split system air conditioners at a third the price then if unable to hook up to 240Volt are powering them from Honda EU10 generators or equivalent.

The forum I mentioned has any number of photos showing the condenser unit mounted on the A Frame or the rear bar.

It can be done. It is done, and it's done regularly. If necessary log in to the Caravan Forum and ask a few questions.

AnswerID: 271558

Reply By: debacle - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:42

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 20:42
thanks everyone, especially ian.

i have a 2kva engel brand genny that runs everything at the camp, so power isnt in an issue.

i dont go off road with this trailer (BUT THE ROADS OUT THIS WAY ARE CRAP) so i reckon it would probably be ok.
i m wondering what brand / size i should buy.
cheers, justin.
AnswerID: 271568

Reply By: debacle - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:14

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:14
how do i post this on the caravan forum? i cant even find it!
AnswerID: 271578

Follow Up By: bloosted - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:18

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:18
copy my link on my post above
FollowupID: 534576

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 13:56

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 13:56
We fitted one to my sons 22ft van, made heavy duty rear bar, and mounted it on that.
He researched the units and ended up with a Delongi unit, supposed to be good quality, suppose time will tell.
He is living in it at Roxby and is happy with it, and it didnt move around inside or out while travelling.
It comes complete with gas, just hook it up and make connections and away you go.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 534690

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:21
Mate!

I'm hopeless at the cut and paste thingo, but maybe this will help.

Caravanforum@groups.msn.com

AnswerID: 271580

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:24

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:24
By the way!

One of the knowledgable guys, (forum name "Future Systems), appears to travel some pretty ruuged roads.

FollowupID: 534580

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:43

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 21:43
Justin,

Tell the sparkie to set it up with automotive air conditioner hose, instead of copper. Won't have any pipe/leaking gas problems then.

Reckon you might have to mount the external unit on some rubber mounts too, to reduce the risk of it self destructing.

Local bloke up here has a donga on a 40' trailer, with couple of splits on it. The copper pipe broke, in hot weather, and on 2nd attempt, did the hoses with auto hose. No more dramas.

Fujitsu are hard to beat for performance & quietness

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 271589

Reply By: debacle - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 22:37

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 22:37
thanks fella's.
AnswerID: 271602

Reply By: debacle - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 22:39

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 22:39
by the way, if there is any Navara knockers out there, have a look at this. this set up weighs 3t when the race car and all of our crap is loaded. and it tows it with ease...
AnswerID: 271604

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 00:45

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 00:45
There is your answer, fit an air con to the race car / wind the windows down / shut the trailer and leave the engine running with the air con turned on..

Might pay to put a hoe on the exhaust though.
FollowupID: 534617

Reply By: debacle - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 13:25

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 13:25
little bit noisy for that!!
AnswerID: 271676

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 15:25

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 15:25
Why not have a look at the evaporative coolers the truckies mount in their sleeper cabs? Mate just put one in his Kenny and it works great. Just uses a 24v fan to push air over a coil. Fed from water in a container mounted on the back of the cab.
AnswerID: 271689