LC Seat Belt

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 17:07
ThreadID: 51638 Views:2085 Replies:2 FollowUps:13

lve posted a "Wanted ad" for a drivers seat belt for 80 series....what are my chances of getting one?......as it looks like the peg lve been using to hold the belt out is about to break....ARGH. Do you rekon l can get one at a resonable price somewhere......or is there a known second hand dealer in OZ that might have one, or is there a good after market type that l should use??

Really need your help on this one.

Thanks in advice

Barn
80 series GXL 1997

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 17:37

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 17:37
Barn,

There is only one place and type of seat belt to get.

Toyota is the place and new is the type.

Wreckers should not sell a seat belt for reuse. They don't know what it has been through.

The seat belt should also be fitted by a Child Restraint Fitting Station, the RTA should be able to let you know where the nearest place would be.

A qualified fitter will be able to fit the seat belt and also provide a certificate of installation.

This is something that should not be taken lightly.

AnswerID: 271850

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 19:35

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 19:35
I'll second that - seat belts should be purchased as new.

Karl
FollowupID: 534906

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 21:32

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 21:32
I will third that - Safety should NEVER be compromised, a life cannot be replaced.
FollowupID: 534946

Follow Up By: KSV. - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:29

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:29
Fail to see what is wrong with seatbelt from wrecker. As long as it in good condition and has not been damaged I would go for it in blink of an eye. If use your logic, then belts from *ALL* second-hand vehicles should be stripped and thrown away (indeed no-one know they history!!!) and vehicles should be send to Child Restraint Fitting Station altogether with brand new belts from Toyota to be fitted by qualified fitter. May I ask you if you ever got second-hand vehicle to say such nonsense?
Serg
FollowupID: 535168

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:53

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:53
Serg,

Without going into great detail that would take too much space here to explain to you - but I have been involved in a matter concerning the webbing/strapping that failed and resulted in the death of a person.

Admittedly the piece of equipment was not a seat belt but they were made from the same material and the seat belt undergoes stronger forces on a daily basis than the item we were looking at.

Damage to the webbing material material is not always visible but in an incident where sudden force is appilied it will snap at the weakest point causing a catotrophic fail (and in my case above lead to the death of a young man).

It is also the same reason that all snatch straps that are used on a regular basis should be physically inspected because they are made of the same material and are put under extreme force - I would assume that you have had your snatch strap inspected after use, particulay if it was a difficult recovery and if there is any sign of even minor fraying you replaced it or are you the type to pack it away and should it ever break blame someone else.

You may want to sit in a seat and wear a seatbelt from a wrecked vehicle - but I peronally wouldn't especially if it was the drivers side.

All seat belts should be replace at the first sign of damage and this includes minor fraying or a small cut etc. You may want to put your life at risk but respect other peoples right to be safe.

Karl
FollowupID: 535192

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 00:45

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 00:45
Gday Karl

I fully understand where you're coming from mate , but i havent seen anywhere in this post where anyone is saying to use an obviously damaged seatbelt, i mean its just common sense isnt it?? if its damaged in anyway throw it away ......Cheers.....Dave
FollowupID: 535297

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:00

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:00
Dave,

No problems - the big issue with seat belts, snatch straps, winch ropes etc is that whilst the webbing material is strong and may last forever, damage can occur which is unseen to to the naked eye.

When a lot of sudden force is suddenly applied to the item - i.e. the seat belt - there is a particular point on the belt where that force is applied. If the force is constantly applied to the same spot it will eventually weaken at that point. In these cases the force applied is generated as heat and the damage can not be seen with the naked eye and therefore is not apparent.

What happens one day is that sudden force is applied to the weaken point, it is generated as heat, which then snaps the strap / belt etc and you have a catastrophic failure.

A classic example of this - as stated in my earlier posts - is the snatch strap. If it is used regularly and with force - rather than nice smooth action - a weak spot will form and it is usually in the centre. One day you will go to use it - the strap looks fine - and you go to pull a car out and you use a lot of force (because the vehicle may be extremely bogged) and the strap breaks.

I hope this helps - I am not an engineer etc so I can't give exact formulas etc - I have just tried to explain it as it was explained to me.

Karl
FollowupID: 535323

Reply By: Barn - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 22:44

Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 22:44
Not really the reply that l was hoping for...l understand your point of view...l deal in safety on a regular basis and l know how some people and organizations take short cuts on safety issues.....but....

l need a cheap solution to minimize the safety aspect and compliance issues...lets face it, its only for me...the driver of a Jap LC..."nissan owners couldn't give two hoots!!"

l guess if this doesn't get a response that leads me to a wrecker that has a LC in stock with a good inertia reel belt for me l will have to purchase an after market NEW one............."Bugga" albeit cheaper than the real thing.

C'mon ..."Where do you get it"

Barn

AnswerID: 271907

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 00:35

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 00:35
Barn , when i worked at a wrecking yard here in S.A we were never allowed to sell seat belts , totally against the law, but if someone ever came in and asked for a seatbelt for any other reason than fitting back into a vehicle we used to be able to give them away.......Cheers.......Dave
FollowupID: 535059

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 09:53

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 09:53
I understand where the safety people are comming from BUT... if you buy a second hand vehicle that has had 'invisable' repairs you do not know if the seat belts have been subjected to an 8 G sudden stop against another vehicle !

FollowupID: 535098

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 10:19

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 10:19
Gday Kiwi

You wont get any argument on that from me mate , i totally agree with you.....besides if you were to replace your seatbelt with a secondhand one from a wrecking yard , who , apart from yourself would honestly know???

Cheers......Dave

BTW Barn if you like i can have a look at the yard where i used to work, if you want, i think from memory he had a couple of Toyotas there
FollowupID: 535103

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 10:20

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 10:20
Kiwi Kia,

Most of the vehicles that end up in the wreckers are a wright off, so yes you don't know what has happened to them.

A vehicle, any vehicle second or the one you have owned, if it was repaired it would have all this check out before it was allowed back onto the road. Well you would hope so.

FollowupID: 535104

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 10:51

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 10:51
Wayne, If the belt buckle goes click, there no obvious nicks or fraying on the belt and the inertia mechanism works then it would be accepted.

Borgy, I am looking for a drivers 'stalk' & buckle for my 75 series Troopy to be used for the passenger side. When I changed the front bench seat to a car seat the buckle assembly for the passenger seat now falls down to the floor instead of standing up straight like the drivers.
FollowupID: 535111

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 10:53

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 10:53
Gday Wayne,

Do you honestly believe that if a vehicle was involved in a crash and was repaired and had a seatbelt replaced with a seconhand one , the person doing the inspection would be able to see that it has been replaced???........Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 535112

Follow Up By: Barn - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 23:53

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 23:53

Thanks for your input.

Dave, if you dont mind having a look for belt and inertia reel that would be great, happy to pay a fair price and postage cost.....Failling that l have found a manufacturer in Ballarat, Victoria (Hemco) that will either repair the inertia reel or replace it. All l have to do is post it to them for an assessment and they will advise price which should considerable cheaper than the replacement genuine one.

Note, the after market type wouldn't fit/work with the 80 series as the stork is bolted to seat.

Thanks again everyone

Barn

Ps: 4wd is costing me $$ but lm saving heaps by learning to do stuff myself. Next Job Piston Caliper Seasl Replacement, Was Quoted $600. replacement Kit x 2 $60 plus my time.
FollowupID: 535481