Weighbridge data for my van and Cruiser - is it all legal ?

Submitted: Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 10:55
ThreadID: 51666 Views:4356 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
Yesterday I ran my outfit over a weighbridge and here are the results :

Toyota 100 Series TD auto 3.18 tonnes
Bushtracker 16 ft 2.58 tonnes
Tow ball weight 0.18 tonnes

The cruiser is "heavily" optioned with steel bar and Kaymar rear bar and internal drawers . And add to the weight of the car , another 127 kg when filled with fuel , plus clothing food , detecting gear and an extra spare on the alloy rack .

So can anyone tell me if this lardarse outfit is legal . I have no idea what or how weight of the car vs van affects legality .

Thanks ,

Willie .

The gvm for the car is 3260 kg . Bit tight I think !

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:03

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:03
Wille,

The towing weight should be alright. 3.5 tonne is the max rating on the tow bar.

You would have to look at the GVM. You should have this on the rego papers.

I think that you would be close to the GVM,(Gross Vehicle Mass).

AnswerID: 271991

Reply By: Baz & Pud (Tassie) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:04

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:04
We have a 100 series and my understanding is that the legal ball weight of the vehicle is .350 tonnes, therefore you would be legal.
Have a friend who has 20' BT and his total weight is 6.7 tonnes
with the LC coming in at just over 3 tonnes.
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 271992

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:31

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:31
G'day Willie,

I drive a 100series poverty pack (read base model) for work. It has ARB lift, draws, cargo barrier, 60 litre Engel, dual batteries, steel ARB bar, Warn XD9000 winch, 2nd spare, Stratos seating, 3 x Rhino bars and steel full length rack etc. We had it loaded as if to go away in the bush for a few days so myself and and offsider, full fuel load, water, food, 15hp outboard, 12 punt etc. We were weighing in at 3.44 t so waaaay over GVM - I was under the impression that the 100 series GVM was 3180 but I may be wrong.
That vehicle will be replaced with a Nissan c/c with Telstra style body with a 3.7 t GVM upgrade so we can do our work without any fear of overlaoding anymore.
We have been told that is the drivers responsibility to ensure the vehicle does not exceed GVM as insurance is void etc

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 271995

Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:39

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:39
It's the gross combination mass you need to worry about. Also the ideal ball weight is about 10% of your ATM. This makes for more stable towing.
FollowupID: 535116

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:03

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:03
Notso, I think you might be notso right there.
If your Gross Vehicle Mass - GVM is over the manufactrures specs by say 300Kgs, and you hang an empty trailer on the back, you may very well be under the manufacturers Gross Combination Mass - GCM specs.
But what will the insurance co and the law look at?
GVM and GCM and if there is a discrepancy in either one there, Goodnight Nurse.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 535130

Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:21

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:21
Yeah you are right there I should have said check it also. But the GCM is a very important consideration in this case. I don't know what the LC GCM is but your towing mass may have to be reduced if your GCM exceeds manufacturers specs
FollowupID: 535145

Reply By: jdbb - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:18

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 16:18
Gday Willie

I'm going through this process now with our LC100. It's a pity that the cruiser has such a low carrying capacity. I would like to get a Kedron behind mine but after I get everything into the cruiser there is not enough left for the ball weight of the one I want.

My understanding is that the GVM for the LC100 is 3260kg. If your cruiser weighed 3180kg with all you gear on board, full fuel tanks, caravan hooked up, and driver and passenger(s) seated then you are 80kg under max. However if any of those was not there you might have a bit of a problem if there's an accident - ie your insurance may not be valid.

While you were on the weighbridge it would have been would have been useful to get the axle weights on the cruiser as well as there are maximums on these as well.

Ball weight of 180kg for a 2580kg van seems pretty low. Was the van fully loaded when it was weighed?

The other number you have to watch out for is the combined gross vehicle mass which from memory is 6760kg.

AnswerID: 272041

Follow Up By: jdbb - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 17:38

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 17:38
I was a bit out with the GCM. Here are the weights for a auto, turbo deisel LC100

Kerb weight - 2588kg
Tare weight - 2477kg
Payload - 672kg
Gross vehicle mass - 3260kg
Gross combined mass - 6680kg
Maximum roof load - 200kg
Towing capacity - brakes 3500kg
Towing capacity - no brakes750kg
FollowupID: 535177

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 21:01

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 21:01
John ,

Thanks for all that info . It looks like I am OK with the GCM , but in real trouble with the GVM .

I think I am going to have to strip some stuff out that I do not really need , now that I have the van .

I left a 73 litre Autofridge in there for when I am not using the van , but it looks like that will have to be taken out .

It seems like I can load up the van with some stuff I normally keep in the Cruiser as the van is still well under the limit .

Willie .

FollowupID: 535226

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:06

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:06
Willie,
Yep, once you fill your fuel tanks (say another 120kg), you'll be over the GVM.....let alone what other stuff and people you might load into/onto the truck.
I've got the same issues....my Chev 6.5 tips the scales at around 3.5t with me in the driver's seat, but without being loaded up. The GVM is 3040kg. So, effectively, my insurance premium is a waste of money, but I pay it to cover me in case of theft or fire etc.
If I have a bingle, they'll probably wipe like a dirty nose.
AnswerID: 272062

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:21

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:21
lets hope no body ever gets injured as you will be uninsured & up for criminal charges as well & they will surely own the truck, camper, house & the kids & that's only to pay the solicitors,let alone the compensation

That's why the 6x4 its legal & its done the canning,Simpson,cape etc (yes empty it does slip a bit in the bush BUT who ever goes away empty & a air locker fixes that problem 99% of the time

regards Vince
FollowupID: 535185

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 22:41

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 22:41
Roachie ,

You and I are real gadget freaks - it seems to our detriment !

I am going to strip some gear out of my car like the fridge I don't use with the van , but left there , because it had it's spot and didn't interfere with anything .

I would hate to think of what the weight would be if I put the second row seats back in - at the moment I have a cargo platform there .

I will empty the drawers and put all that stuff in the van . Actually , I might as well take the drawers out as they will be empty and weigh they heaps .

It's a bugger - maybe I should never have weighed it - blissful ignorance might have been better .

Cheers ,

Willie .

FollowupID: 535260

Follow Up By: jdbb - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 07:57

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 07:57
Gday again

I think the trick is to put most of the stuff in the van while travelling, and then transfer it to the cruiser when you drop the van.

Taking the drawer unit out might not be the best thing to do unless it weighs a ton. For instance if you leave the van in Cairns and then go up to the Cape you will need a bit of organised storage.

I'm trying to work out how I can get a rack and tinny on top and stay under the limits. It's got me buggered how everyone else does it. I see a lot of 4wds fully tricked up with bars,winch,wheel carriers and spares, tinnies and other stuff on roofs, full of people and gear towing vans the size of a small house - they must be nervous when they are on the road.

FollowupID: 535313

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 17:00

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 17:00
"It's got me buggered how everyone else does it."

I don't think most of them give a bugger. They are not aware of weight limitations like forum members.

FollowupID: 535370

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:07

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 18:07
the GVM is the main one if your over that by a gram you are illegal & would not have any insurance check with the state gov & manufacture as some may have a towing capacity of 3500kg But this is also Only legal if the tow vehicle is at its Max GMV
also check with your manufacture on max axle weights as too much on one axle & again its illegal

I have a Patrol 6x4 (4500gmv) which i load to the max at times & i have been checked several times & they weight it with every body in it, mainly out western NSW, & they (RTA with Police) have pulled over every 4wd with large van or horse float.

good luck
AnswerID: 272063

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 22:34

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 22:34
That's a bit of a worry Vince - could ruin a holiday very quickly .
Thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 535258

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 22:43

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 22:43
One thing no one has noticed or mentioned is that your ball weight is part of your GVM and must be taken into account as part of the load.

So if your croozer is 50kg under legal GVM when loaded and all passengers in it when weighed then u hook the van on with a 150kg ball weight the result is 100kg ILLEGAL.

By reducing the load in the car u can then increase your ball weight on a sort of sliding scale.

Was given the figures for a 3 ltr Patrol as follows

GVM 3000kg

Fully laden vehicle 3000kg includes 200kg ball weight.

Reduce GVM by 150kg = 250kg ball weight

Reduce GVM by 210kg = 300kg ball lweight

Reduce GVM by 290kg = 350kg ball weight

This from an engineer well known in Caravan industry.
FollowupID: 535262

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:15

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:15
Willie
once when getting checked there was a young girl sitting there with her horse why Mum had driven off to get rid of one & came back for the other & the second time we offered & towed it as we were legal,
The mum offered to pay our fuel bill
She was so relieved as she had no ideas what she was going to do with a 10, 12 & 14year old girls & 3 horses & was only legal with one in the float & they were 420klms from home.
Vince
FollowupID: 535641

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 22:44

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 22:44
If I ever buy a 200 cruiser , I will make sure I buy an alloy bar , as the weight advantage is huge .

I have heard that you can get an engineer to upgrade certain things on your car and give you an officially uprated GVM . Can anybody tell me more about this .

Thank you all for you posts ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 272108

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 23:29

Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 23:29
search (RoTFLMAO using search here!) for a post by Lucy on it . he increased his Troopy GVM.. Im interested too.

9/9 cars on my Murray Sunset trip 2 weeks ago were over, some by 500+kgs.
FollowupID: 535278

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 08:05

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 08:05
Willie,

For more info on what needs to be done on increasing the GVM give John a call.

John Burke, Specialised Vehicles in Orangeville (Camden)

He does vehicle conversions as well as GVM upgrades.

FollowupID: 535314

Reply By: Smudger - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:59

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 09:59
Wille
While you're worrying about your weights, here's another litte gem for you.
You said earler ..."I would hate to think of what the weight would be if I put the second row seats back in - at the moment I have a cargo platform there ."
My understanding is that if you remove the back seats you've altered the factory specs of the vehicle and technically the insurer can refuse a claim. There's been some discussion about that on this site, check the archives. I'm not sure how seriously anyone takes it, ..but
AnswerID: 272158

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 11:00

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 11:00
Have read an article on this subject and it seems you can remove them " temporarily" legally.
Depends on your definition of the word I suppose.
For instance if you remove seats and build a tradesman set of racks and fix them in thats not what it means. If you take them out to go on a trip and put them back (or intend to) seems its OK. I would however get a ruling from insurance company first.
FollowupID: 535341

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 17:02

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 17:02
Temporary generally means for less than a week.

FollowupID: 535371

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 12:04

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 12:04
Willie,

For this exact reason I think Troopys and Cruiser utes are way under rated for tow hacks.

They both give about a tonne of payload.

Sit two people, a tank or two of fuel, 2-300kgs of ball load on the back-nearly everything else is now at its limit or over!! Then we add bull bars, rear bars, roof racks, water tanks, roller draws full of gear, fridges etc etc.....

I think this is a HUGE issue-mainly because of the insurance implications and what could happen to you if you were in an accident and proved to be driving over GVM (illegal/unroadworthy according to the people who decide).

Perhaps the problem is most people here would be guilty of over loading and there is no easy solution??????

Matt
AnswerID: 272170