Berri Diesel - Recommend
Submitted: Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:40
Member - Hughesy (NSW)
Just started doing a ring around Diesel shops as I want to change/exchange/overhaul the injectors on my 1HZ.
Rang half a dozen
places and they all said "yeah we have exchange set we can send". Spoke to the owner of
Berri Diesel in
Berri (SA) and he would have been the most knowledgable bloke I have ever spoken too about diesels (especially 1HZ).
He said he won't provide exchange injectors because the 1HZ has 3 different nozzles and you can only tell which nozzle needed once you have the body number off the injector. (Just as info the 2H has 4 differnt nozzles) He said he would send nozzles if I gave him the injector body #.
He said this is why some people suddenly get an increase/decrease in fuel economy when they exchange injectors....wrong nozzles.
We talked about Turboing of 1HZ'z and other stuff and he was VERY informative. Now I have absolutely no affiliation with him as I live in
Broken Hill and was just ringing around, but I sure will be using him and can recommend him if you need friendly advice or service.
These sorts of people are few and far between now a days!!
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:48
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:48
Thats all they do, diesel engine tuning and turbo fitting. That's why they know what they are talking about.. Michael
Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:51
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 11:51
Good information Hughesy. Thanks for positng it, as it is the first time I have heard of this.
How is your TurboGlide Turbo working?
Dick
Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:33
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:33
Hi Dick.
Yeah mate Turbo is going really
well. Did a trip B/
Hill to
Brisbane towing the Jayco and for the most part I got the same ecomony as before the turbo and WITHOUT camper. I'm just looking for a pyro to fit and then I'll fine tune it some more. I've just done fuel adjustment by word - but
well on the safe side.
I'd been putting the turbo off for years and I'm kicking myself for not having done it earlier. Time will tell how it affects reliability - but I don't thrash my vehicles and I reckon it'll last me until I update years down the track.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:31
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:31
Interesting, can anyone tell me why there would be several different injectors for the same engine ? If the engine model is the same I would have thought they would all use the same injector.
Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:39
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:39
Carefull Kiwi - I said there are 3 different types of NOZZLES not injectors. The differences would probably be that small that if you had all 3 types on
the bench you wouldn't see any difference.
Remember that the 1HZ has been in production for over 10 years. In that time Toyota have had to put pollution control onto these engines and still maintained the same power output - presumably by making small changes elsewhere.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:38
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 12:38
Your observations are spot on Hughsey....
A couple of years ago I upgraded the turbo on my (then) 4.2TD Patrol. They fitted up a new Schwitzer turbo all in the day and I was quite welcome to hang around in the workshop and watch everything they did.
Thoroughly expertise in their craft..... a father and son outfit.
Anyway, I was very pleased with the results.
Likewise, no affiliation at all, just a satisfied customer
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:04
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 13:04
Gday Roachie, I have been overseas for the last month so i hope you have been behaving yourself on the site here!! I saw a
sign recently at a mechanical workshop.. It said..
Hourly mechanics rate $50.
If you want to watch $65 per hour
If you want to help $80 per hour LOL.. regards Michael
Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:26
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 14:26
Gday Roachie,
Des and I were looking at EO and have just come across this post, we seem to remember having to Baby Sit you for a few hrs while you were like an expectant father in a delivery room... pacing up and down worrying about your baby...
Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:11
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 15:11
Got to agree with you Barnsey, Chris Phelps is an absolute Guru with Diesel injection. Over the years, I've had several jobs done by him. His workshop is immaculate and even has a special dust proof room where he does the injectors up.
Lucky for me, he's in
my home town. His phone number if anyone is interested is 08 8582 1570
I don't have any affiliations either.
Follow Up By: Garbutt - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 19:21
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 19:21
Wot Des said.
GB
Follow Up By: Garbutt - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 19:25
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 19:25
Except he is Chris Philps. not Phelps. But then you are dyslexic.
GB