Diesel Fuel Contamination follow up Post 49946

Submitted: Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 22:08
ThreadID: 51688 Views:2843 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Have just returned from trip away and noticed this post from Wigger

Tks pedro,
Can you let me know how you get on with the new filter/trap and whether you do see black clag or water in your fuel. It would be interesting to know what the quality of the 'discount' fuel being sold by Coles and C/WWs is like and you've now got the piece of gear to find out. What date was the GC bulletin featuring the article?

How the filter works is that an audio alert sounds if water is detected and this allows the driver to stop and take action to remove water before it creates a problem.
I travelled 9000 kms and no problems with the fuel which was from some Woolies and Coles outlets , mobil , Caltex and BP.
The article was in the GC Bulletin of 19/9/07 (Cars Guide page23)

Sorry for delay

Pedro

Reply By: fisho64 - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 00:26

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 00:26
Both my LN106 Lux and 100 series have an audible water alarm as standard? But in any of these systems it will not alarm at the first sign of water. Water accumulates in the water trap and when it gets to a certain level it goes off.
AnswerID: 272125

Follow Up By: wigger - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 23:22

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 23:22
Tks fisho64, What ha been your experiece of finding water in different brands of fuel
FollowupID: 535477

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 00:22

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 00:22
have never had the alarm go off, but test it each time I change filters. I drain the bowl once a month or 2 and have never found more than a teaspoon if any.
Having said that your fuel tank will hold a fair bit as the pick-up on the bottom of the tank. I reckon you would need a litre or 2 before it would get to the filter/separator.
I am a marine engineer and have come across water in boat tanks many times but never I reckon from the supplier. Usually faulty tank breathers, condensation etc etc. By law 2 sealed samples are drained from the hose and 1 is held by supplier, 1 by vessel for 12 months in case of trouble.

Some people seem to think that water in fuel goes straight to the engine but it doesn't. It accumulates in the tank bottom and separator until there is enough to trigger. So you could get 1/2 a teaspoon each tank fill and not notice til enough accumulates, then blame the last servo (if you don't drain it regular).
FollowupID: 535483

Follow Up By: wigger - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:53

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:53
Tks fisho64, Yes this is logical that you couldn't determine the water in a single fill (unless really badly contam.) and that any water you are seeing in the trap is cumulative and yet still possibly only a part of what is actually residing in the tank. I seem to remember some ones post saying that they were saving samples from each fill but the above makes this procedure nonsense because the contaminant is likely to have come from any one of the last 10 fills. Must have a garage full of bottles by now. It seems that the trap is only a long term indicator of fuel quality if you are buying a single brand.
FollowupID: 535879

Reply By: wigger - Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 23:20

Saturday, Nov 17, 2007 at 23:20
Tks pedro, Are you saying that in 9000kms of various outlet fills there is no evidence of ANYwater or is it just that there is some but not sufficient to trigger the alarm. With the glass inspection bowl can you see any evidence of 'clag' growth.
AnswerID: 272247

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 07:50

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 07:50
Wigger,
At startup the audio alert sounds for a few seconds to indicate it is working and then is only triggered by water in bottom of bowl or algae growth.
In the test I saw before I bought unit there was only a small amount of water added which triggered the alarm.
With my untrained eye bowl does not show any evidence of water or clag growth.

Pedro
FollowupID: 535492

Reply By: wigger - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:57

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:57
Tks peter r , Despite there being evidence of very little water etc in the trap, I will go ahead and get one of these because that installer is just over the border. It wil probably be good insurance for when I'm filling up in the wop wops.
AnswerID: 272623

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:44

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:44
In practice, the water settles out on the BOTTOM of the tanks from which the diesel is drawn. The feed pipe is off the bottom for the obvious reason.

It takes something like a major delivery into a pretty empty tank to mix up the built up water, crud and (new) diesel. The water and crud will generally sink again within hours.

So, it is likely that the fuel has come from one filling which occured sometime soon after the delivery. Think about how old the fuel stop and it's underground tanks is... think how infrequently they are cleaned... think how much potential there is for water to find it's way in... and think how all these issues are quite independent of brand.

A fuel sample from the tank is not helpful in establishing the cause of the problem unless it is done at the same time.

Basically I am of the view that water contamination, whilst unconsciounable behaviour by fuel stop operators, is for all practical purposes a fact of life, extremely rare, without life threatening consequences unless you ignore the water alarm, and generally minor and hard to pin on one retailer.

Buying fuel from a retailer who has new diesel tanks is one way of minimising the chances... but when you're remote, or away from home, it is sometimes hard to know.

Andrew who hates having to clear the water trap... but has had to two times in 150,000ks
AnswerID: 272639

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:05

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:05
Wigger,
You will be able to see a demonstration if you call at their workplace.
They have a unit on the wall and add a bit of water to show what happens.

Andrew,
What was explained to me at the demonstration was that if you will up with diesel that contains water the alert sounds immediately and it will be obvious the recent fuel is the cause.
This might be a few kms down the track but will enable you to go back to service station with the evidence.

Pedro
FollowupID: 535936

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:34

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 08:34
I don't think it works like that... the water sinks to the bottom of your tank(s)... below the feed point normally. You are still too far down the track when the alarm goes to go back to the servo and after all, you may just have stirred up what was at the bottom of your tank anyways...

Water can condense in your own tank under the right conditions too, so the water is not always introduced with the fuel...

I can hear the fuel stop now (having been certain on one occasion that I knew where I picked up 1 litre of water): "we have xx trucks a day through our truck stop and you can be sure if we were pumping bad fuel we would have heard about it long ago. We have not had one other complaint. We send our fuel off to testing weekly, and yesterday's results were perfect. If you want to get it tested, then fine, but we are sure we are doing the right thing."
FollowupID: 535943

Follow Up By: wigger - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 12:01

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 12:01
Pedro, Think what Andrew is saying is right- that there is a long a lag time between filling time and appearance in trap of water despite the fact that the demo,which may have been using very small volumes to prove its point, shows that the trap works.
His point about the futility of returning to a fuel stop and attempting to hold them responsible for water which has appeared in the trap is probably borne out by the experence of the guy who suffered damage to his BT 50. ( he was on the 4x4 forum) and had filled at different brand sites, none of which wanted to know him and he couldn't actaully PROVE anything.
Surprisingly his insurance company have started discussing the issue with him, because neither Mazda or fuel co's would meet the $4000 bill. If you want the site details to follow progress, they are on 49946
FollowupID: 535991

Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:05

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:05
I am obviously no expert in mechanical issues and for my piece of mind took Andrew's post to Alan who is the proprietor of Gold Coast Diesel and who fitted unit in first place.

He was good enough to reply and for info of members this is what he said
In response to your query submitted from Andrew we wish to reply as follows.

YES the water sinks to the bottom of your vehicles fuel tank, anthe early warning device is based on those exact principals. How much water is needed in the fuel tank, will depend on a numberof factors, some of which are:-

· The surface area of the bottom of the fuel tank

· The distance from the bottom of the fuel tank and the pick up pipe

Etc.

Reality is the fuel tank is not stationery it-

· Goes up hills

· Goes down hills

· Goes around roundabouts

· There is a fuel return back to the fuel tank which is directed into the fuel well where the pick up pipe is, this agitates the water (if any) that is collected.

The facts are

·Water leaving the fuel tank will get trapped in the sedimentor

· You will be alerted should this happen

· You will have visual proof / confirmation of this

· You can siphon off the contaminated fuel

·Water will go straight to the bottom of the fuel tank – it is at this point where the fuel is drawn from.

· You can prevent the water from entering the vehicle’s filter system

Question –

How much water is acceptable in the vehicles common rail fuel system

Answer-

0 – it is NOT designed to work with even the smallest amount of water present in the vehicles fuel system.

On the one hand – I know of people who have owned a diesel vehicle for many years and have never had water in the fuel system.

On the other hand – there are many people I know of who have had contaminated fuel (water in the fuel system) which has cost them dearly in repair bills, even although the vehicle was under manufacturers warranty.

If I were doing travelling about this beautiful land of ours, I know what filter system I would use.

UNQUOTE

Based on above it could be some time down the track that the water enters the system and not necessarily "just down the road".

Even so the fact that the water is trapped by unit before it enters the vehicles fuel system is comfort for me, and was the main reason I bought unit in first place.
The opportunity to identify the source of contamination was a bonus.

Hopefully I will never be faced with water in fuel.

Pedro

AnswerID: 273104