gday all
Submitted: Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 00:58
suzuki_JX_1.3
Im 16 and just about to receive my Ps in 13 days to be exact, it'll be heaps good every spare chance ill be down the river fishing or hitting some local tracks. i currently own a Suzuki sierra love the car to bits. me and a few mates are already organizing a 4x4 trip up north at the end of the year, and i was wondering if there was any minor mods i could make to the engine to increase the power. ive thought about extractors and a 2inch exhaust job and a bigger carby, im looking at getting another car so i wanna try keeping the price low. any thoughts on what i should do?
[img][URL=
http://img529.imageshack.us/my.php?image=newimagexs0.jpg][/UR[/img]
Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 01:11
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 01:11
Save the money and put it towards your new fourby. No point spending anything on this Suzi if you only plan on getting rid of it soon.
Put extractors on the new one.
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 01:32
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 01:32
Definatly save your cash for your next fourby, but I know how slow the g13a engines are!!! See if you can fing a weber carby and adaptor plate and it will amaze you. Stops the zooks from starving for fuel on steep inclines and declines. Shouldnt cost you any more than a few hundred, try ebay or
Holley Carby Fitting Kit A$ 95.00
Give you car more grunt , better fuel economy. This kit includes Adaptor Plate, Accelerator cable bracket and full fitting instructions.CAN BE USED WITH HOLLEY 180 AND WEBER 32/36
from
suzisport
Zooks are capable and fun machines that are easy to fix
have fun
Matt
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 02:28
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 02:28
Gday yourself 'gday all'
Good onya for buying a top brand (I don't know the model).
Mate, keep it greased and oiled, and try to minimize impact damage. (Struth, Lady Luck has smiled on me - no idea why.May She do as much for you.))
Ask some silly old fart about the Suzi 350 (700? I forget)but it had a top (cruising) speed of 60 clicks. So we travelled from
Alice Springs to
Brisbane, via
Cairns. I was riding a BMW750 ( bleep of a bike, R75/5, as I recall), but that slow, easy trip was one of the best, no,most rewarding, trips I've done. And the
young couple in the Suzi?
Well, they were Kiwis, eh.
'gday all', I'm 60 now: a living flamin fossil, and I Still like to go quicker: Stunt kites, catamarans, wheel chairs.
You are starting out
well. Best wishes to you, and don't waste money on fairy floss. A lot of fellers on this site with million dollar rigs can't go where your Suzi can take you.
Good to see you up and running: hope your Oldies are with you.
See you one day, I hope.
Jeff.
("Mister" to you,
young'un. hahaha. ta Gramps.) jh.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 08:57
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 08:57
Keep it tuned and the maintenance up to it.
Took me years to learn that it is not so much how power you have but how you use it.
Learn to drive
well and make best use of traction and it will be worth 25% more power. That suzuki will go
places bigger 4wds will fear to tread.
Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 09:19
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 09:19
Suzuki,
Just take it easy with your first car. Take everyone else's advice mate as they, and me, have been there before you.
Keep the car serviceable and don't spend too much money on it making it go faster...just learn with what you have mate. Look after it and it will look after you !
Put all your money toward a nice "newer" one for when you get off your Red "P's". By that time you will have learnt a great deal and won't damage the "newer" car (as much). Plus your insurance company won't take too kindly to getting your car damaged off roading it....and your premiums will be high enough in the first year...save it for the 2nd year.
Good luck !!
Reply By: KSV. - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 10:16
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 10:16
Hi Suzuki!
It is really two sides of coin. I know it because my older son passing all this sh1t, although with his Lancer, not 4WD. From one side of the coin it is no much point to spend any speakable money (my son spent a lot) for your first car – believe me once you grew a bit and have more stable income you definitely wish to upgrade your car. Also believe me that life will not end in 20 or 25 – you will still like “better car” or just “another car” in 30, 35 40 and so on. Thus wisdom telling do not do anything except of normal service and collect your pennies for next purchase. Remember it would be almost impossible recover any “mods money”. Just accept fact that whatever mods you do, it will not rise trade-in price of you car.
But from another side of the same coin if you do nothing you will gain no experience. Sadly, but true. You need to do something, if not for sack of mod by itself, but for gaining experience.
So my suggest would be like this. Budget you money. Make most saving for next purchase. At the same time make allowance for mods and tools. And go easy.
Serg.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 10:47
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 10:47
How can a 16 year old have their P's in 13 days time? I take it you are turning 17 then?
Some advise, take it or leave it........It's a Suzuki Sierra! It's not designed for power!
Whilst they are a fun vehicle to go off-road in, IMO it is a waste of time trying to gain a couple of horespower with engine mods. Overheating, amongst other things is a problem we had with my friends Sierra when playing with it.
Enjoy your newfound freedom, however play it safe and legal.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 11:09
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 11:09
Plus they have to pass the driving test first ;))
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 11:48
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 11:48
LOL, i forgot about that one minor issue ;-)
Reply By: selasticman - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 11:07
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 11:07
Hi G'Day All,
Some very good suggestions already mentioned above.
Just make sure a good tuneup, the exhaust has good flow, replace air and fuel filters and lower your tyre pressures when the going gets tough!
OH, almost forgot, save your money and get a TOYOTA!! hehehe : )
Selasticman
Reply By: suzuki_JX_1.3 - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:39
Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:39
thanks for all the reply s. and tips, i am looking at getting a new car but on road only and keep the suzi for a fair while for fishing and 4 wheel driving. i've been on a fair few trips now with my family a few of the more recent ones have been the
simpson desert, canarvon gorge,
lawn hill, through the flinders.
on the trips weve taken our Prado GXL (trusty Toyota) and our camper trailer. currently upgrading to the newer engine model should be ready for pick up in a couple of days.
up here in SA we only got to do 6 months on our Ls before we can get our Ps. tomorrow i plan on taking the Suzi down to tafe and give it a check up make sure every thing is all good. mum and dad brought this car new so i know it hasnt been treated bad and it has been
well looked after one scratch in the bonnet and a dent or two where mum shut the door on the
seat belt.