Mobile phone anxiety

Submitted: Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 15:34
ThreadID: 51779 Views:3131 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
In the ‘old’ days there were no mobile phones. When travelling you either had no communications device, a HF Radio maybe or a CB Radio by the 1970's. Most of the time you relied on passers-by for help along the highways and byways

I bought my first Mobile Phone in 1992. I think it was a Nokia and it was analogue. It was so big that it was difficult to carry in ones shirt or pants pockets. It had one or two ring tones and was easy to operate and its sound quality was good. The old Carry-Bag mobile phone had been around since the mid 1980’s but thankfully that gave way to a more modern device. In 1992 I went on a $10 plan and stayed there until the beginning of 2007 when a sweet voice on the other end of the line convinced me that I had to change to Next G and sorry but you will also have to be now charged a $20 plan. Yeah, OK, but how about a free phone seeing as I have been a Telstra customer since the days of Australia Post Office in the 1970’s.

So 3 Nokias and one Kyocera by Qualcomm later, I get a ZTE 850 for free. In the mean time we have gone from Analogue to Digital to CDMA. The ZTE is really inferior to my old CDMA phone, which now languishes silently in a cupboard. The buttons are too small, the way you need to work through a series of events by pressing buttons just to clear an item is silly, and the sound quality isn’t that good either. But it works and I have even had a signal along the Darling River near Tilpa.

I have never had a Hands Free Car Kit, extended aerial, whip aerial, Blue tooth or other gadgets, which usually go with these phones, as I do not need one. I seldom use the Mobile but it is handy to make a call when one is travelling. And phones are now such a part of our lives. I estimate that I have spent $30,000 in call charges and rental with Telstra since 1970.

With the advent of CDMA being switched off and Next G being cranked up there are any number of makes of phones on the market, each doing its own thing and each company spruiking its attributes. It would seem however, that all phones aren’t equal judging by the number of ‘phone’ posts here on the forum. 'Tis a worrying time for those who spend their lives on their mobile phones. What if I have no signal beyond a certain place? Will I be gobbled up by the denizens of that space, if I cannot get a phone signal? What if, what if, what if? You could always light a fire and send smoke signals.

Meanwhile the Telco’s are laughing all the way to the bank because we are all so gullible.

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 15:47

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 15:47
I have to agree Willem, I am not so important that I need to be in 'range' my whole life. If someone wants me they can leave a message. You know when you are getting back into 'civilisation' when the little beastie wakes up and starts beeping at you after days of silence. It makes me want to just turn around again.

Mike.
AnswerID: 272537

Follow Up By: Member - BIGMARK (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 06:41

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 06:41
You have 38 messages lol
FollowupID: 535925

Reply By: aeiou - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 15:48

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 15:48
Mobile phones are a great gadget and they have their time and place. I definately prefer to camp where there is NO Mobile phone reception, and boy is it more peaceful that way! The mobile is just like the internet and this website .. addictive!!!

AnswerID: 272538

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:47

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:47
Good post

I guess I am one of those people that must have a phone....I was born in the IT industry with my dad being a IT guru and I have always had a mobile. I use my phone for email, web browsing etc etc and am so paranoid that I am going to miss I call I always check it every couple that I still have good reception. But I do love it when I go camping and I don't get reception and I can't do anything about it but it doesn't feel right that I can't be contactable but after a couple of days of no contact it's very nice I must admit
AnswerID: 272549

Reply By: Member - Alan H (Narangba QLD - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:17

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:17
Have to agree Willem

It is just so dam frustrating that we have to have a phone with so many extras at additional charge and yet the simple phone capacity is forgotten. I especially hate those tiny buttons they all have and most would now think it was almost criminal to go bush without telecommunications of some sort.

In younger years I used go bushwalking on trips of six weeks and no one would know if I was alive and I would not know what's happened in the world until I got back home.

I did receive a letter in SW Tassie once when a mate addressed a letter to me as Federation peak trip in Tasmania and sure enough when I came out at to my car at Picton bridge there was letter in a plastic bag under the wipers.

But that was when Telstra and Australia Post cared about service.
Ah the good old days!!

Cheers Alan
AnswerID: 272553

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:52

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:52
I'm being "gullibly resistant" right now Willem - when the CDMA is switched off Solly can go jump ! We'll share my wife's old GSM Nokia (made from wood - painted green) - she never uses it anyway) - $5 a month !! In the meantime, every deal that Solly throws my way is ignored with a smile ! Should we come unstuck on the fridges of civilisation (yes - it can get really cold out there), we'll rely on my HF radio mates in VKS737................pity............the Kyocera 3245 CDMA is a great phone, still running beautifully after 3 years......sniff.......it ain't fair..........
AnswerID: 272560

Reply By: lifeisgood - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:11

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:11
We have a love hate relationship. Apart from the ridiculous monthly costs I will probably enjoy them more when fully retired.
Then I can decide what hours ,if any , I should be contactable via the mobile.
It is amazing though that when I was out in the country one day (in range) my sons phone located me . He said " hey Dad -- I 'm calling you from the observation platform - of the Empire State Building----" Pretty clever when you think about it!
AnswerID: 272628

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:44

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:44
If I survive my second heart attack and I'm in a remote area, I'll be less stressed if I have phone coverage.
AnswerID: 272640

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 00:13

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 00:13
Id be pretty sure that if you forget all the romantic notions, and asked someone 20 or 30 years back if they wanted a device the size of a packet of fags, and cost the same as a single pack of gaspers a month but could call anywhere in the world instantly by merely pressing a couple of buttons, only the sad ones with no one to call would say "no thanks"!

People have said the same things about cars, wireless radios, packet meals, motor boats, heating cooling and refrigeration, rock'n'roll music, punk music, death metal music, any music blah blah blah.
AnswerID: 272659

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 12:42

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 12:42
So true - I had a trial unit of some of the earliest mobiles and most peoples' view was "why would I want a mobile".

They knew what the phone at home could be used for and couldn't think beyond that.

It toom them ages to realise that if they were on the train they could make a phone call they'd never made before -
- call while on the train to let someone know they're running late
- call home to ask someone to be at the station when the train arrived.

It's human nature to only think if things the way you've always used them.
FollowupID: 535995