OT - First born just finished Yr 12 exams

Submitted: Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 15:56
ThreadID: 51780 Views:2689 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
OT - just sharing some thoughts today forumites. Turning out to be a slightly emotional day – been reflecting on the last 17 years or so.

My first born finished his final Yr 12 exam this morning - just became a schoolie!! He is on top of the world – oh yeah. Drove home to pick up some clothes and stuff; with a mate (in mate’s car) who has just learnt to drive………. They’re good kids, so far not into alcohol or anything else. But can’t say I feel comfortable – prefer he was around here for the next few days but that just aint gonna happen. And then again I think we were more worried about his exams than he was. A first dose of empty nest syndrome perhaps?

Cheers JD

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:10

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:10
jd, nothing you can do about it, unfortunately. Just hope and pray that your training, teaching, tutoring, has been observed and will be acted upon. Good luck. John

AnswerID: 272541

Follow Up By: jdwynn (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:29

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:29
thanks John

I think you have summed up the situation I was trying to describe in a lot fewer words. JD
FollowupID: 535793

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:43

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:43
we have a member in club who is going to look after him...
that club member a copper is going to be stationed at Victor this week...hahaha

nah i dont think you have anything to worry about if what you say is correct
AnswerID: 272547

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:43

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:43
we have a member in club who is going to look after him...
that club member a copper is going to be stationed at Victor this week...hahaha

nah i dont think you have anything to worry about if what you say is correct
AnswerID: 272548

Follow Up By: jdwynn (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:50

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:50
MN1, I am definitely more comfortable knowing the coppers of there. Fingers crossed. JD
FollowupID: 535805

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:01

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:01
there's going to be heaps....so he says
FollowupID: 535808

Follow Up By: jdwynn (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:20

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:20
Good to hear. Maybe us parents should go and make them coffee or something. JD
FollowupID: 535814

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 18:00

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 18:00
if your boy is as good as you say...keep away!...you'll only be in the way....how do you expect him to pick up a lady if Dad's hanging around
FollowupID: 535823

Follow Up By: jdwynn (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 18:18

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 18:18
LOL, yeah, might cramp his style a bit.
FollowupID: 535832

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:55

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 16:55
Congrats to him.
Does he "know" what he wants to do next yr??
I thought I did...enrolled in Sports Tourism / Management...ended up doing Music Diploma (AMEB) and then getting married and having kids....finally going o uni next yr - hopefully!!

You've done a good job so far - keep it up JD

Laura
AnswerID: 272550

Follow Up By: jdwynn (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:04

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:04
Thanks Laura, much appreciated.

No, he really doesn't know what he wants to do just yet. Actually I feel for kids leaving school and having to make a decision about what they will do for the rest of their lives. We haven't put any pressure on him either - just wanted him to finish his exams and then get serious about the rest of it. Regards JD
FollowupID: 535809

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:31

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:31
Good to hear.

It only gets better. :o)

No. 2 son (21) just finished his honours in science with a thesis of 79 pages. Was only home 4 nights in 3 weeks, working at uni every night.
Just rang to say he finished his last exam and is off to mates for a 4 day LAN party playing computer games. 'See you thursday sometime".

No1. son (25) just moved out, so mum at home has no one to 'mother' any more. Talking of getting a cat. Think I might find more to do on the car and have less to worry about.

Both of them went to schoolies without any problem, and again the next year as toolies 'for even more fun' with legal alcohol.
AnswerID: 272555

Follow Up By: jdwynn (SA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:48

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 17:48
Thanks John, good to hear all of this. You're a whole stage (or 3) along the journey, in front of us. Must be a relief with your lads having got to where they are. LAN games - now that's another topic - kids content sitting in doors playing electronic games forever - not for me. cheers JD
FollowupID: 535820

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 19:05

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 19:05
Been there too.
At 13 or 15 or so, boys seem to go computer game crazy.
Got me hooked too. I got addicted to a couple of strategy games a few years ago. Playing 30 to 40 hours a week after work. Even the boys told me to back off. Had to go cold turkey. They had to help me, so it was a learning curve for them, helping the old bloke stop playing computer games. :o)
Boys (no daughters, but it seems to happen to girls too) also seem to go binge drinking for a couple of years once they turn 18. Well, suppose I did too at 18.
They are a bit more aware of drink and driving than I ever was, so give them marks for that. Friend who is a couple of years ahead of us said to always offer to pick up no matter where or what time. At least mobile phones makes that easier. Just remember to take some ice cream containers. They don't always give you warning to stop or get the window open. It's a relationship building experience. :o) It does pay off in the end.
Most of them come out of the late teens OK. Just takes time.
FollowupID: 535845

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 19:43

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 19:43
Ahh schoolies week in Adelaide
i remember trying to make $50 last for 4 days while staying at the West beach caravan park.
With a bit of beg borrow and steal as well as no food i managed to have an alchol and smoke induced 4 day haze
AnswerID: 272580

Reply By: Kevndeb - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:52

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 21:52
My son is year 9 this year. Since the Outcomes based education has come in, he has done nothing at school since year five. He is smarter then the average bear, that just not me saying that.

Just this term he has assignment to design a solar passive house, it did that in year 4. So he is just going to hand the house he built in grade 4 in about two weeks time.

He is so bored, he sitting class reading women's day and still aceing all the exams. Hubby reckons that he should be out and doing something else other then reading the women's day.

I guess he is learning alot about women reading those magazines. And he finally finding out what is means to have needy girlfriend at age of 14.

AnswerID: 272620

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 07:14

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 07:14
Hi Kevndeb, we've had up and downs with schools with each of our 3 kids. I reckon kids need to be challenged so if school not doing that gee i'd look elsewhere. it always seems to me that the opportunities pass so quickly with the kids - we made a few mistakes with subject choices and stuff with our eldest and it was hard getting past them. Best of luck JD
FollowupID: 535928

Reply By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:17

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 22:17
Dont think that now school is finished the costs go away, the reverse is true.

Eldest son is now 28, a commercial pilot in Broome, now that costs a bit ($50K+ for training) add to that the contribution towards a marriage, and now two with regular airfares to & from Broome.

Middle daughter now 25 and still living at home and has a for taxis in the late evening or any other transportation need as desired, and youngest 19 (2nd year doing physio at uni) needs regular rescue (and extensive "relationship counselling") at from 2 to 5 am in the morning on Fridays, Saturdays & Sundays.

Kids live fast nowadays, we had to be home at midnight after the drives, and there was NO schoolies for us, drinking age was 21.....

The caravan and Tojo have been bought, retirement date is just months away, and we are abandoning the nest to the kids! They can pay the electricity,water and transport bills themselves - AND look after the dogs we inherited from them.

Cant wait to be on the road permanently, returning to the nest occasionally to see if the offspring have survived.

AnswerID: 272630

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 07:23

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 07:23
Go-N-Grey, oh no more costs, help!! I reckon you put one thing in perspective, that the extent of the responsibility in having kids only really becomes apparent later on. You'll have to get HF's for car / home to ensure relationship counselling service can carry on without costing big $$$ in phone calls LOL. Cheers JD
FollowupID: 535929

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 01:24

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 01:24
I remember my own HSC exams. I was an external student. Not only didn't I get to let of steam after the exams, I didn't have any school mates to hang with. Times were tough, we had to WORK for a living.
If I'd have suggested that my parents fork out for a holiday where I'd play up as much as I could, I would have had my asp kicked and been shown the door (no great problem as I hadn't lived at home since I was 15). But they would have laughed at me first and told me to wake up.
Times have changed. But it's still appears as if it's only the bottom 10% of kids that end up in the papers. The other 90% grow up to be just like us (I keep reminding mine of this...revenge is sweet:)
AnswerID: 272662

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 01:37

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 01:37
I think he's done alright to finish year 12. At 16 i was too busy playing cricket and doing burnouts than to study.

after a few years i got bored, went to uni, now have post grad degrees, a good job and still more to come.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 272663