electronis rust prevention

Has anybody fitted a couplertec rust prevention system?
Which is the brand to buy?
Reiner

Reply By: PradOz - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:14

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:14
this is a bit like asking whether to vote liberal or labour. everyone will have an opinion and some of those people may just happen to even have experience with these systems too.

you wont go wrong with the correct couplertec system for your vehicle. you could go wrong with an alternate type of system though.

i have couplertec and i have no problems with rust etc even on stone chips etc and even after all the beach driving i have done in NSW and QLD. my paint on my 1999 prado is beautiful and i always get people asking why my paint always looks so good - even with a black car that could do with a wash it looks good, and it even keeps the chromework shinier. i know quite a few people with the couplertec systems and they are all happy with them.

my mate works at the oil refinery where the environment is highly corrosive. they have had these systems in the past and they have proven themselves there to work. google your enquiry and spens a bit of time doing some homework. remember some systems are designed more for installations which remain in contact with the water. they are not difficult to fit either. good luck
AnswerID: 272816

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:21
Snake oil when used on a motor vehicle I reckon.
AnswerID: 272822

Reply By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:26

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:26
Reiner G
Have a look at this thread 43334 it tells the whole story and some.
Colin
AnswerID: 272823

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:01

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:01
Hi Reiner

It's great if you want to use your vehicle as an artificial reef (works on jetties, etc), otherwise I wouldn't bother. Just my opinion, based on experience.

AnswerID: 272838

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:12

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:12
Hi Reiner
Live and work in a coastal area with the usual problems associated with salt spray. Had 10 work cars over 24 years and everyone of them had rust in all the usual places.
Fitted couplertec to the next three since 1998 and have had nil - nothing - zero rust even on the stone chips.
Snake oil or smoke and mirrors I would not now have a vehicle without one.
My opinion for what it is worth.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 272839

Reply By: F4Phantom - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:22

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 00:22
I think this is the only system on the market which is not a fake. The other systems do not act like the coupler tec system, they try to run a circuit over the car but have no electrolyte so no citcuit is actually formed (this is what the boat systems and bridge systems sue but the boat has the salt water where cars dont have this), this system uses the paint of the car and two metal surfaces to form a capacitor. I had never heard of this system and now I am probably going to get one! The logic is sound according to chemistry.
AnswerID: 272864

Reply By: downtools - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:41

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:41
G'day Reiner G,

I fitted a heavy duty couplertec system to our Patrol 12 months ago.
One of the bolts in the Kaymar rear bar that was supposed to be cad plated is just mild steel, no coating. This bolt already had the early signs of rust. I left the bolt there when I fitted the Couplertec to see what would would happen. Without any further protection, fishoil or anything the bolts surface has dulled to a dark brown with NO signs of rust. We camp and fish on the beach a few times a year so I'm happy and convinced the system works. (No affiliation just happy camper)

Cheers Nifty
AnswerID: 272890

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:51

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 08:51
Thanks Nifty and all the others for replies. I done a lot of reading on the net and decided to get the couplertec system. To be honest I wasn't a great believer but I changed my mind . We go to the beach about 4 times a year and the car needs all the protection available. I will fish-oil it as well and keep it clean. My HJ47 was over 20 years old and didn't have much rust. Looking after the cars does pay in the long run.

Reiner
FollowupID: 536207

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:42

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:42
I thought this system would be 'snake oil'. I have now read there web site and am now convinced that it is indeed snake oil !

I would be interested in Mr Hardings view :-))
AnswerID: 272902

Reply By: Member - Hanker (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 15:08

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 15:08
Kiwi Kia is a real profit of doom must have had a bad system fitted to his vehicle to know all the bad things of the said product.
AnswerID: 272947

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:18

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 17:18
No, just a bit familiar with electronics and chemistry
FollowupID: 536678