Life's a bloody mix of scenarios to say the least.

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:26
ThreadID: 51833 Views:3395 Replies:17 FollowUps:11
Been going through a bit of crap at work recently with a new young fella Manager who doesn't know bleep from clay. He came within an inch of being dropped today!

Came home in a foul damn mood. Couldn't be bothered working on the camper trailer.

Damn dog settled me down.

Still wondering why the hell there's all these mongrels out there waking up every morning trying to make a man's life a misery.

Might be time to sell up, and buy a house in Boulia. Christ I'm bleep off tonight.

I'll settle down tomorrow.

Reply By: Garbutt - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:29

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:29
Pat the dog, have a beer, it'll all be better later.

GB
AnswerID: 272824

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:37

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:37
garbutt

Booze or the dog won't fix this problem

Kim
FollowupID: 536139

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 23:10

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 23:10
Kim, yes it will. Get the new chum pye-eyed good and proper and then let the dog have his way with him. The photo's that you take should keep him under control for a while LOL.
FollowupID: 536163

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:30

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:30
Just do it Kim, you must be long in the tooth by now anyways, no time like today, I've all ways said..

Cheers Richard

I've only got 10 years to Go.. :-)
AnswerID: 272826

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:01

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:01

Thanks for that. I'll go and see a real estate agent tomorrow.

Kim
FollowupID: 536149

Reply By: Jimbo from Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:34

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:34
Kim,

I understand exactly.

Hence my choice to go into business for myself. This is not without its pressures and problems, but it is better than putting up with the chit I have had to put up with from some bleep knucles in the corporate world.

AnswerID: 272827

Follow Up By: Jimbo from Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:42

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:42
Excuse the poor spelling

that was supposed to be

Fork Knuckles, or something very similar
FollowupID: 536143

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:32

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:32
that's where i am at present Jim. corporate crapola. Glad to see things have worked out for you. The world is my oyster if i want it to be, just trying to work out when to jump coz I'm killing myself staying where I am.
FollowupID: 536190

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:50

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 21:50
Mate !, i"ve been down that road, Don't let it wear you down!, get on top off him, prove your broader range of experience, if it is still a miserable situation, Get the hell out of there!. Only my thoughts,

AnswerID: 272835

Reply By: Member - pot hole (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:39

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:39
Let the dust settle mate and in a couple day's If you still feel the same way, do what ever you feel you have to do.

But let the dust settle.

Cheers pot hole
AnswerID: 272850

Follow Up By: Jimbo from Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:50

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 22:50
And then drop the prick.
FollowupID: 536159

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 23:26

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2007 at 23:26
thats a tough situation Kim, but on the other side when we had our fishing boat and had 4 or 5 deckies working for us at sea for 13 or 14 days at a time tuna longlining we would often get a bit of "disagreement" on a tough day.
My view to the crew was that their comments would be taken aboard but at the end of the day;
I would rather do it my way, be wrong and pay/suffer the consequences, than do it YOUR way, maybe the wrong way, and STILL suffer the consequences.
AnswerID: 272858

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:33

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:33
G'day Kim,

I hope you have a better day today mate.

Make it happen eh?
AnswerID: 272875

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:38

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:38
Make a decision and move on. Life's too short.

AnswerID: 272876

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:49

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 07:49
Sorry for this . Totally inappropiate post.

Kim
AnswerID: 272880

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 10:40

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 10:40
You did good. You told someone that you were pis***ed and never hit anyone.

I was often thought of as being rather brilliant where I worked in my last job but it was actually just that I was made to look good because I was surrounded by idiots . As someone else says on this forum "there is nothing common about common sense" !

Over the last few years I had several acquaintances sudden slip off the edge and none of them was a chain smoker or weighed 250 kg. I decided that I would go on a permanant ski holiday (Spending Kids Inheritance). If it's cold I stay another half hour in bed, if it's a great day I go fishing, if it's inbetween I enjoy myself by replying to uneducated greenies comments on internet forums :-)) When the airline has a seat sale I book a cheap flight - pick up the Troopy and head 'out there'. I can live real cheap in the Troopy well away from the temptations in the big boys toy shops. Perhaps we should join up for a few hours fishing sometime.
FollowupID: 536231

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:37

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:37
Kiwi

You living in NZ?

I've been there nine times over the years and it's beautiful country. particularly the South Island.

You've got to get your cattle under control though. I finished up getting flattened by a cow with attitude in a valley leading up to Mt Aspiring many years ago.

I can't get any time off from work next year to head off north, but I may be able to find a week around July/August to do a bit of trout fishing in the Highlands of Tassie.

It's all Fly or spinner fishing. If you try "dead lining" the locals will probably take a gun to you! LOL

Kim
FollowupID: 536347

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 06:18

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 06:18
Yes Kim, I am in NZ but grab the $240 airfares quite often and hop the ditch to the West Island. I am off down south in a couple of weeks and the combined fare for one person plus vehicle from nth to sth is about the same as me flying over to Melbourne.

I will be wandering around Tassie in Feb and then move the vehicle up to Ql in June.

Hope you wern't doing something you shouldn't have to upset that cow :-))
FollowupID: 536384

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:08

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 09:08
Hi Kim, been there done that.
As a non violent person I found myself in the boss's office holding my hands together so I didn't deck him. I'd put up with it for four years, and I'd had enough.
Took leave and straight into a trip. On that trip I realized that I didn't need any of it, so I bailed.
Met the boss a year after I got out. He'd had to retire.
Sometimes I still wake up after dreaming I'm back at work, but it isn't very often.
Life's too short. Think carefully and if you possibly can manage it.....GET THE HELL OUT !
Good luck with it.
AnswerID: 272897

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 11:40

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 11:40
Hello Kim

You are unlikely ever to meet a situation that will be improved by you getting an ulcer .

But then again , work must be enjoyable , perhaps it is time to move on .
AnswerID: 272921

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:01

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:01
What is his (Managers) problem that he appears to cause the tension between you?
Maybe instead of hitting him you just ask him "Whats the problem"?
You may be surprised with the results it achieves.
The other option is going above his head and speaking to his boss about the issue.
And if all that fails then punch him out and retire :-)

AnswerID: 272935

Reply By: Member - big bo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:13

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 13:13
Kim, From my experience those sort of people always come unstuck in the end, do the crap that he wants to do, document it, ask him to put it in writing etc. don't you get the sh..ts, give them to him.
AnswerID: 272937

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:23

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:23
Thanks for all your support fellas.

Once again, apologies for the post. It's been a hard year. I don't know what got into me.

Kim
AnswerID: 272982

Follow Up By: Member - Brian A (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:42

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:42
Kim,

I don't see that you should be apologizing for the post. You felt the need to post. You did it, and I believe overall the support has been positive.

On ya

PS. I've sent a member message
FollowupID: 536302

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:34

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:34
Gday Kim,
Better today are we?
Did ya drop him?

AnswerID: 272997

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:17

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:17
Gidday Hairy

Yeh, settled down a bit.

I took an hour off work this morning to talk to a Real Estate agent.

How's your trip planning going? Decided on the colour of the fancy dunny yet?

Kim
FollowupID: 536329

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:20

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:20
Gday Kim,
Yeh trip is getting close. Three and a bit weeks.
Bugger the dunny I reckon, stick with the shovel!

AnswerID: 273005

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:43

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:43
I understand ya story. Nathan comes home once a week feeling th same about someone ( he's got more chances cos he has 3 jobs and works 70hrs) ...the only thing stopping him is his security licence......

Like my Dad always says...."point them in the chest and warn them if they do it or say it again they will get their heads knocked off" - nothing like a good warning!!!!

Laura
AnswerID: 273008