Shortest way around Aus

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:18
ThreadID: 51854 Views:4616 Replies:20 FollowUps:19
Is it shorter to go Anti clock wise? or Clock wise around Aus?

And what side of the vehicle will take the shortest track?

If so what tyres will need replacing first?

If you ride a Bicycle the same way around Aust, then what side of the bike will travel the shortest?

Reply By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:37

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:37
It's obviously a shorter trip going anti-clockwise, but both sides of the vehicle, unless your driving skills match your obviously limited IQ, will get home at the same time, but you will use more fuel that way heading into the prevailing westerly winds over the longer trip across the top end.
This can be counterbalanced by lowering the drivers side window halfway, but only if your drivers side mirror is angled no more than 18 degrees.
The other thing you need to be careful of is the passenger side tyres. As most of the load will be on the drivers side with all the left hand turns, you will need to lower the passenger side tyres to add a little bit more friction so you don't have to adjust the wheel alignment.
Tyre brand won't matter for the 37.6 kilometre difference in distance.
I don't see any relevance regarding the bicycle, as someone with your mental imbalance would need trainer wheels, and that adds a whole new requirement.
AnswerID: 272970

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:26

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:26
LOL!!!

This was a good one!

Serg
FollowupID: 536300

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:39

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:39
Weel if you travel clockwise you are on the left hand side of the carriageway so that means your car would be closer to the ocean and hence you'd travel further. Now the right hand tyres would travel slightly less distance as well because there would on average be more right hand turns than left.. As far as the side of the car is concerned it would be hard to mount an argument to say it'd travel less.

How much have you had to drink today??

AnswerID: 272971

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:40

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:40
Has the trip started with the front or back of the car leaving your property?
Same coming home, front or back, will make 10m difference in wear to the tyres?

To my way of thinking, the passenger side tyres will get the most wear which ever way you go, since they will be on the outside going around roundabouts, and hence get more wear.
But are there more left hand than right hand corners to even up the wear?

I tihnk some one needs to check the results on the road.
AnswerID: 272972

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:45

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 17:45
I think the original poster sucked a few of you blokes in....:)
AnswerID: 272973

Reply By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:02

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:02
96 GXL 80 series,

My answer to that is you have too much time on your hands. But, I will play your game IMO anticlock wise may not be the shortest however it would be the quickest (time) due to the wind pushing you to my home town.

As for tyres you know as well as I do that question is a joke (IMO), however, I know that the spare should be in better condition that the rest (unless used to replace flat).

Debbie
AnswerID: 272976

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:31

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 18:31
You are a perfect example of the saying " there is one in every crowd"

Unfortunately for us, you have found this site and seem intent on making a nuisance of yourself and wasting everyones time everytime you post or reply.
AnswerID: 272983

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:27

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:27
Maybe people that start ridiculous threads like this should have a 7 day ban imposed!
FollowupID: 536318

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:29

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:29
So should we ban friday phunnies too, stifle the imagination of the masses EH
FollowupID: 536319

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:15

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:15
I think his kindergarten teacher needs to watch more closely what he is doing during his time in their IT class.....Children shouldn't be allowed to use the internet without adult supervision. ;-)
FollowupID: 536328

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:36

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:36
:-) You blokes have helped him by actually posting a reply.

Maybe just ignoring the problem will help it go away.

You need to remember that quite a lot of school kids are now on holidays.

FollowupID: 536333

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:18

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:18
agree with John(vic)
FollowupID: 536343

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:39

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:39

I dont think this one is going anywhere mate

Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 536348

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:59

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:59

Maybe it would be a good idea too, seeing as people won't stick to the forum rules & keep them to one thread!
FollowupID: 536362

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:22

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:22
It depends where you live which will dictate where you start/finish. BecauseIf if you choose to drive into the direction of earth rotation your trip will be much longer, it would be a bit like one of those exercise walking conveyors, lots of steps but no progress sort of thing if you know what I mean.

However if you travel in the same direction as the earth rotation your trip will be much shorter, a bit like a tail wind sort of thing if you know what I mean.

Our experience has been if you go with the flow, that is the direction of earth rotation sort of thing , if you know what I mean, you use less fuel, less wear & tear on vehicle, tyres, nerves etc if you know what I mean.

Good luck & thanks for lightening up my day!!
AnswerID: 272994

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:36

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 19:36
Have you ever tried this in reverse (gear)? I heard it evens up the wear in the gearbox. Is this true? I would have thought it would increase engine wear. I knew a guy who drove 15km in reverse coz his gearbox packed up. When he got home he realised he forgot something and had to go back. True story.
FollowupID: 536322

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:04

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:04
Me thinks you are trying to bait Doug into biting. Personally the shortest way is to fly.

AnswerID: 273002

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:39

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:39
Are you kidding - this cannt be a serious set of questions ! ! !

......go clock wise if I can play the game..... when the southerly kicks in you can get a heeve - ho up the hill to the north.

Tyres.....replace the spare first! what are your detours????

and a bike ? fk. .... you really are wasting time ......Im going back to the telly!

Laura
AnswerID: 273007

Reply By: Jimbo from Best Off Road - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:51

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:51

We're laughing at you, not with you.

Seriously, you're about as funny as a fart in an elevator.
AnswerID: 273011

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:53

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:53
I reckon KSV & DUNCO got it right. Where is your sense of humour? Cheers
AnswerID: 273012

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:59

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 20:59
I want to go the L O N G way round.

AnswerID: 273015

Reply By: Scrubcat - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:28

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:28
My dear fellow, what sort of answer do you expect ?. There is insufficient information in the question.
Do you mean driving, flying, swimming or by sea in a boat ?

You will save heaps on tyres if you were to go by either of the last two options.

Could I respectfully suggest that you try the third option, solo without a life jacket.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 273025

Reply By: Boobook2 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:47

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:47
If you travel 1 km south, then 1km west then 1 km north and you end up where you started, where are you?
AnswerID: 273031

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:24

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:24
In a submarine;-)

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 536357

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 23:26

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 23:26
North Pole
FollowupID: 536369

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:01

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:01
North Pole
Mike R

Bingo
FollowupID: 536402

Follow Up By: brushmarx - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:05

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:05
It is really the North Magnetic Pole, quite a walking distance from the North Pole.
FollowupID: 536418

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:42

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:42
No, you need to read the question again.

He said "travel 1km South", not "travel 1km Magnetic South".
FollowupID: 536424

Follow Up By: brushmarx - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:34

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:34
But.... if using a magnetic compass to find your direction from the geometric North Pole to go South, you would need to travel magnetic North on the compass up to the stage where you would reach the Magnetic North Pole.
Effectively, would there not be two places this would work from?
FollowupID: 536456

Follow Up By: ob - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 15:34

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 15:34
When did good ol Aus get moved to the North Pole? To make Santas trip shorter?
FollowupID: 536481

Reply By: BorisK - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:53

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 21:53
All the time Ive read "this" forum in the past, Ive enjoyed the wise character of the forum with the Aussie humour and wit of some of the people when given a bit of a lead such as 96 has tried to give here. But all of a sudden its going sour. My wish is for it to get back to what it was like so I can keep getting my daily fix of it. Some of you need to chill.

"With Respect" Boris
AnswerID: 273032

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:11

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:11
"My wish is for it to get back to what it was like so I can keep getting my daily fix of it"

Boris ,I have been visiting this site for a few years now , and over that period of time i have seen quite a few weird and wonderful posts on here , but i don't seem to really understand what the hell you are talking about , i don't think that much has changed , just the fact that there seems to be a few IDIOTS getting on here , i mean i don't mind a joke every now and then, im sure just like the rest of you on here , but when someone just goes on and on about crap all the time it starts to wear a little thin, isn't that the reason we have FRIDAY FUNNIES ????

"With Respect " Dave

FollowupID: 536355

Reply By: Kenny Wilson - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 23:48

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 23:48
If you travel anticlockwise it will be at least 3.14 metres shorter, if you do your pye sums for every 1 metres from the centre of road is 2 x pye
AnswerID: 273051

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:05

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:05
Why not do it as a figure 8??

That way the wear and tear on the vehicle and tyres would equal out and the distance would be even.

Kev

AnswerID: 273084

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:51

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:51
C'mon people lighten up.... the poor bugger probably has PTSD, you really should humour him/her without enabling him/her....
AnswerID: 273117

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:23

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:23
Ok BooBoo, I'll bite, 1 km south, 1 km west, 1 km north would put me 1 km west of my starting position.

Is it a trick question of something,

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 273122

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:27

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:27
Oh bugger,

Yep got it now....NP....durrrrrr!!!!!!
FollowupID: 536469

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 15:22

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 15:22
Do a Forum search.....
I'm sure this has been done 10000000000000000 times before !!!!
AnswerID: 273134

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 17:46

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 17:46
Yes but was it done clockwise or anticlockwise, that is the question!
FollowupID: 536503