Red centre - bush camps

Submitted: Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 20:55
ThreadID: 51915 Views:3056 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
I've done the search and not much turned up

can anyone recommend any nice spots to camp outside the national parks after we've done the Uluru/Kings Canyon bit etc

some seclusion and water, preferably is all we ask - wondered if there's anything maybe around Haasts Bluff away from the throngs or maybe the Eastern Macs other than Ruby Gap?

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:12

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:12

I suspect Hairy will respond to this. He's as ugly as a buchers' hook, but lives in the area.

Kim
AnswerID: 273398

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:20

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:20
as long as he doesn't scare me little dog off ;)
FollowupID: 536732

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:51

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:51

Before this post enters into the ridiculous zone, Hairy knows the area very well, and I'm sure he'll assist you with your planning.

Kim
FollowupID: 536742

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:54

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 21:54
hope so.

cheers, Kim.
FollowupID: 536743

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:17

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:17

Most of the good camp sites are in National Parks around Alice Springs. Camping fees are nominal in the Territory.

Birthday Gap outside Alice(will have to ask locally for directions) has water, so has Ellery Creek Big Hole(have to walk to water and normally a few toiurists around) and Boggy Hole has water too(camp on the waters edge and may be lucky to have place to yourself). You will need a permit to camp in the Haasts Bluff area. There isn't water around there except for near sacred sites.

AnswerID: 273421

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:50

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 00:50
Gday Steve,
Firstly..Kim...Go and get *$%^#, Im a well groomed gentleman and Im sure Willem will vouch for that. LOL

And GXL.....what!!!

Ok.. Yeh mate there are tons of places...water maybe a bit hard ..When are you coming?
but plenty of places to get away.
What are you looking for?
How far from town?
How are you set up?
How long do you want to stay?

AnswerID: 273424

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 09:45

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 09:45
aah, Hairy, da man...

First, just to clarify, we have our little Jack Russell and cannot possibly leave him behind - the wife and 2 kids would poison my beer - hence the no Nat Parks, although nothing to stop us day-visiting and leaving the said pooch in the camper - talking of which, is a Coromal Silhouette, Pioneer model which means it is the off-road "Ritz" version. Plenty of high clearance but in the rough and touch stakes is probably slighly better than a Honda CRV. What I'm saying is it is really a soft roader similar to the Jayco Swan/Outback Campers. Towing vehicle: Land Rover Defender. We have solar and Gennie enough water capacity for 5 days or so. We will have done the Rock and Kings Canyon and will be looking for somewhere peaceful and preferably away from tourists (like me ;)) so will probably be coming around from that direction eventually into Alice and the Eastern Macs. Ruby Gap sounds nice but from the sound of it wouldn't get the camper in. Any ideas welcome, matey.

FollowupID: 536825

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 09:49

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 09:49
btw, if you'd prefer, you could send us an email:

stevemac9@bigpond.com
FollowupID: 536826

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 10:21

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 10:21
Gday Steve,
Here are a few options...

Hahahahaah....I just started writting down some direction for a few places (some on blackfella land) and the dogooder alarm bells started ringing!!!!!

I will use your email......

FollowupID: 536830

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 20:51

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 20:51
Hairy

I'm a deeply seneative person as you well know. Those comments came from my twin brother!

Kim
FollowupID: 536908

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 12:23

Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 12:23
Gday Kim,
I know my English isn't as good as some, but your spelling is atrocious...
"seneative"....its senile!!!!

FollowupID: 536991

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 09:11

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 09:11
Haasts bluff - all the land surrounding it from memory is Aboriginal so good luck....the clostest we camped to it was Red Bank Gorge and Kings Creek Station....RBG was good as there were only us...didnt go see the gorge - we were over it by then!!

East McD's...we camped at Altunga even though I dont think its "legal" ...we had no choice....leaking diesel tank that needed fixing....

Laura

AnswerID: 273441

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 10:09

Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 10:09
Plenty of nice bush camping spots to spend quality time around Arltunga in the east Macs - Paddy's rock hole was good for us, but water comes and goes of course - nearly dry when we arrived but we struck a little bit of rain one evening and when it cleared up, the rockhole became infested with hundreds of frogs ! Re the western side - we had thought of a run out along the Haasts's track and maybe back along the Tanami track but a local thought we were crazy - bleak, desolate areas out toward Haast's was the response - "you won't find anything to do or see way out there".
We put it on the backlist for later.
Goss's Bluff was well worth the visit (a crater).
Can't report bush camps in general that side - we stayed mostly in the parks etc.

AnswerID: 273570

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 13:21

Sunday, Nov 25, 2007 at 13:21
thanks Dazza.

I reckon we'll perhaps do the loop/must sees and head east.
Input appreciated.
FollowupID: 537002