Deep cycle hours using inverter

Submitted: Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 16:29
ThreadID: 51993 Views:2264 Replies:2 FollowUps:5
Not having used inverters before can anyone give me an idea of how long I can run 2x 25 w 240V lights on a 105AH deep cycle for or alternatively give me a formula to work this out.
All help appreciated thanks guys.

Reply By: KSV. - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 16:51

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 16:51
May I ask you where you got 25W fluoro light? Biggest what I sow was 14W (apart of long one of course). If you thinking about conventional globes think again – 11W flouro runs as 60-75W conventional! And my estimation I can run two of them from 75AH battery for about 25 hr.
Serg
AnswerID: 273759

Follow Up By: howesy - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 16:56

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 16:56
Got them from Bunnings about a year ago. I use one as my front porch light (bayonet fitting) it supposed to be equivalent to around 250W normal globe. Not so bright when you first switch on but after a minute it lights up the whole front yard. They were on sale back then so I got 4 of them.
FollowupID: 537162

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 17:21

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 17:21
Load = 50W lamps + 15% inverter loss = 57W total
Current required at 12V for 57W = 4.75A

Batteries should never be discharged below 50% and preferably not
below 70%

50% of 105Ah = 52.5Ah
30% of 105Ah = 31.5Ah

Therefore:
50% battery discharge = 52.5Ah / 4.75A = 11 hours

30% battery discharge = 31.5Ah / 4.75A = 6.6 hours

AnswerID: 273762

Follow Up By: howesy - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:03

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:03
Thanks heaps for that, so for the 3 to 4 hrs I might run them overnight would shoe it in.
Good man thanx for the response.
FollowupID: 537179

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:45

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 19:45
Not a problem Howesy - be sure to fully recharge the battery every couple of days to maximise it's life or... better still... buy a Coleman dual fuel lamp :)

FollowupID: 537184

Follow Up By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 10:45

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 10:45
howesy,
does the battery have to run anything else, maybe a fridge ??
FollowupID: 537453

Follow Up By: howesy - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:07

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:07
The fridge draws slightly less than one of the lights so when and if I use the fridge I would only use one light. The fridge by itself would easily get 2 days but my usage would 9 times out of 10 be overnight.
The fridge is mainly for extended trips most times I use the old faithful esky.
FollowupID: 537517