OT: Wood fired Pizza ovens

Submitted: Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 23:03
ThreadID: 52006 Views:3938 Replies:2 FollowUps:4
Thank you for responses Bacterium et al.
The best site I've struck is the (google) FornoBravo site.
Unlike EO, membership is free, and as far as I can tell, totally benign.
Mate, (and others),FornoBravo have free e books: they also flog pre-fab oven kits, and I guess that's how they maintain their site.

In saying that, I remain true to my belief that EO and FornoBravo are the best in their fields. (Please, show me better.)
Travel safe, cook good, eh.
Jeff.

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 08:46

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 08:46
Jeff,

So when do we get the invite to taste one of the pending pizza's hmmmmm :)

Looks a good oven my wife would freak if I wanted to build one to add to my bbq, webber, smoker and camp ovens LOL. They sound like a great oven to cook roasts in and I dare say the flavour would be fantastic from a wood fired oven. Yum can feel a webber coming on lnow where is my smoking timbers ol.

AnswerID: 273847

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:42

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:42
Brian,
I'm champing at the bit, I tell ya. Just waiting for the Medicos clearence before I hook in. (Fn sunspots: nothing serious).
Where in NQ are you based,btw? I have a feeling it's near Cairns; dunno why.

Mate, as a bait-layer of considerable ill repute, I'll be happy to practise on the local dogs and In-Laws, before subjecting Real People to the poison. Consider yourself the first Real Invitee.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 537342

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:41

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:41
I dunno why you think I'm in Cairns ........ more like Brisbane although close same state :)

Yes good idea test on rellies first same plan I use when trying something new problem is I must be doing it all wrong they keep living and coming back lol.

FollowupID: 537372

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 17:49

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 17:49
some good stuff on this site http://www.fornobravo.com/pompeii_oven/pompeii_oven.html
AnswerID: 273904

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 21:01

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 21:01
Red Frog,
I was referred to FornoBravo site by one of our brick manufacturers here in Bundaberg, and I reckon it's ok. I reckon if one can't build a damn fine Pizza oven, (be it a mud job on a casual site, or a permanent flash-murry job), having visited the FB site, then one should stick with take-aways.

Yep. Top site.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 537347

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 12:04

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 12:04
this is another good site I came across

wood ovens
FollowupID: 537463