New troopy

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 17:44
ThreadID: 52022 Views:2787 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Heard from a mate today who has a new LC Troopy V8, for a work car and who works in the north of SA. He reckons the front wheel track is 3 inches (approx) wider than the rear to fir the new V8. Result is that in rough going you pick a line to avoid ruts with the front wheels and the rears can still fall in due to different track widths. He had probs getting through areas where he previously had no probs with old Troopy. Any one else heard of this??

GB

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 17:50

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 17:50
Yes, The front is wider to accommodate the v8.

Toyota too cheap to widen the rear to match, says lots about their attitude to customers I reckon.

Profit first, no care about an unsafe vehicle with no ABS and no airbags even as an option.
AnswerID: 273905

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 18:41

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 18:41
Troopy, tray & 76 wagon all the same. When first released I questioned the stability of different wheel widths on the same car particually on steep rutted tracks or at speed on tram tracked roads. Those towing camper trailers will have a dilemma now, do they match the trailer wheels to the front or the back axle?
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 273917

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:13

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:13
What about tyre wear?? from front to rear, All sounds a bit Iffy eh!.

FollowupID: 537316

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:39

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:39
I doubt tyre wear would be effected much if at all. Will just have to see long term particually when I get mine later next year for work. The release of this current crop of fill in Cruisers must be knocking the sales around a bit. Know quite a few who put their purchase on hold due to the dissapointing package from Toyota. Anyone know the sales figures for year to date?
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 537325

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:32

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:32
Craig I thought they could not make enough to satisfy the demand??

FollowupID: 537340

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 21:30

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 21:30
Concidering I live in the heart of 4 wheel drive country with much forrestry, recreation and farming in the area, I would be lucky to see a single V8 Cruiser every 2 or 3 weeks. The local dealer despite normally supplying large government departments has had only a handfull pass through his yard. In fact since their release in April I've seen far more of the new Jeep Wranglers on Victorian roads than new Cruisers. That's why I ask if anyone knows the sales figures as any shortage seems to be a build issue not because they have more on order in Oz than previous models. I don't personally know a single person who has bought one which is unheard of for a new model Toyota. Anyone who was concidering upgrading to the V8 (including myself) kept their old vehicles due to being dissapointed with the new range.
Cheers Craig.......
FollowupID: 537351

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:23

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:23
slowly slowly they are making an appearance on the mines. a big part of the slow uptake is they are turbo so need AFFF foam fire extinguisher set ups rather than just the normal setup PITA and expensive
FollowupID: 537435

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:23

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:23
Crackles The C/T tracking problem is easy I guess, the last tyres across the sand would be the rears so you would want the C/T track to match this..... But with all this power the V8 is surposed to have maybe put the C/T track outside both the vehicles 2 tracks and make it work LOL
FollowupID: 537523

Reply By: Garbutt - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:46

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:46
I'm guessing it will be corrected in the next model??

garbutt with a hilux
AnswerID: 273931

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (central hig - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 06:45

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 06:45
They are all up here, there's hundreds of them around.
TB
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 274004

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:37

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:37
ditto.

All across the West they are everywhere.
FollowupID: 537528

Reply By: pete - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 22:34

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 22:34
I've had one for work for the last couple of months and I've had no problems due to the rear wheel setup - although it does look a bit daggy with the original tyres and rims. My personal vehicle is also a Troopy - a 2003 model with a TurboGlide turbo. I'm finding the new engine to be very good - smooth, powerful and still relatively economical - really pushed it for a few hours today on a highway up the Top End - sitting on 120km/hr with a heavy load inside - averaged 14.2 ltrs/100km. So far so good - a few river crossings during the wet should test out the low slung alternator.
AnswerID: 274140