First of many galleries from my last trip uploaded

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 18:42
ThreadID: 52027 Views:2749 Replies:12 FollowUps:11
I have just uploaded pics from the Stuart ranges up to my website.
This is the first of many galleries that will be uploaded so sit back and enjoy

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 18:43

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 18:43
Sorry done it again.The Forgotton Artists
AnswerID: 273919

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 18:49

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 18:49
Peter,

Looks good, but I didn't see my photo.:-))

AnswerID: 273920

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:01

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:01
Hey Peter, some great pics mate..! Getting us all fired up for our trip around Oz now, early next year.
AnswerID: 273923

Reply By: Bega Photographer - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:55

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:55
Hey Peter! Great images. Really enjoyed going through your albums.

May I ask the same as I asked someone else? The dust on the sensor Mate. I see in the first group of photos, several with dust spots, I suppose on the sensor.

1) Is it just to be put up with in such rough and ready conditions, using a digital SLR camera?

2) What steps do you take to prevent it? Can of compressed air?

3) Do you clone it out, post processing?

Laurie.
AnswerID: 273934

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:51

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:51
Dust on the sensor is a fact of life with digital cameras - even those purporting to be able to remove it.

So to answer your question:

1. probably yes - I do clean my cameras frequently, but not in the desert

2. hygeine basically... but the sensor actually attracts dust and there is no way of changing lenses, (which is what you need to do with DSLRs) in the outback, without leaving it open a little. To make matters worse, many lower end lenses actually suck in air when zooming or focusing... and dust too ;-) DO NOT SPRAY COMPRESSED AIR IN YOUR CAMERA... it comes out bloody cold and breaks components and cracks sensors, plus the propellant leaves oils on the sensor if you are not careful. There is a technique which I used from a company called Visible Dust whick uses compressed air, but not into the camera body.

3. For web galleries at low res, or just for proofing, I might not bother. For things I care about I clone... and Lightroom has an excellent clone tool.

Andrew who knows he is answering for Pete, but got kicked into action by the thought of the compressed air...
FollowupID: 537346

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 21:33
Thanks, Andrew.

Compressed air = bad, huh? Ah well, I've got one of those little puffer squeeze bottles, somewhere.

Laurie.
FollowupID: 537353

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:00

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:00
yes, well the puffer might also puff dust in as well as air, so I avoid that too... others are not so paranoid...

But you need a puffer to clean your lenses for sure...
FollowupID: 537360

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:46

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:46
Andrew, Thanks for covering this one for me......
As you know from a post a year or 2 ago I really don't give a s@$t about my camera......... It is part of the process of getting pics onto the web or into publications......
To tell u the truth I really do not care let the end user do the work LOL
It works for me :)
FollowupID: 537399

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:50

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:50
Hey Laurie,
I am intrigued as how did you see my galleries when I have only 1 up as yet?????????? Maybe you are looking at the old gallery which I have never liked in the first place...
FollowupID: 537402

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:56

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:56
Laurie,
By the way. you may know my father.....
he just retired form the maritime........ If you do say g'day for me
FollowupID: 537415

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:56

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:56
Laurie,
By the way. you may know my father.....
he just retired form the maritime........ If you do say g'day for me
FollowupID: 537416

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 11:42

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 11:42
Sorry Peter, I don't know a Blaker of retiring age. That's my age, ya know.

Followed the link you gave. Five or six albums, 75 images in total.

The dust spots were on a couple of photos on page 1.

Perhaps I look at things a bit too closely and critically.

I thought some of your aboriginals were just the greatest, particularly the boy by the cattle trough. You really got what being an aboriginal boy, way out there, is about.

I also associated with the dry salt lake photos. I've recently been out near Lake Torrens and Pernatty Lagoon. As it turned out, although I saw both lakes from a distance, I didn't physically get to stand in the bed of either. I did, however cross the channel onto Andamooka Island, in Lake Torrens, and I photographed in many of their tributary creek beds and salt waterholes.

Laurie.
FollowupID: 537459

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 13:18

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 13:18
No worries mate,
I was just curious as I do have many hidden galleries on the web and thought u may have stubbled upon one of them. :) I will make them live at some stage.

"Sarafina"

is a girl of 6 years old.....
She was very clever for a six year old too
FollowupID: 537476

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:57

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 19:57
Nice pics, Peter

That solitary rock is somewhere on Mt Wedge Station?

AnswerID: 273935

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:08

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:08

Where was Pic 14 taken?

Kim
AnswerID: 273937

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:08

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:08
Hey Kim,
Pic 14 was taken on an outstion in the western desert of australia
FollowupID: 537406

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:15

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 20:15
Enjoyed your photos Peter. Great colour and composition.

AnswerID: 273939

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 21:20

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 21:20
Gday Peter

Thanks for sharing your pics with us mate, i really enjoyed them
Cheers.......Dave
AnswerID: 273950

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:45

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:45
Hi Peter

Nice pics

are they stills taken from a moving camera?

know a chick in BK that does the same,,, Strange Images,
cool way of doing it gives you a lot if images to edit from.

Me I'm lucky to take one good photo a year... LOL

AnswerID: 273984

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:13

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:13
Richard,
I wish they were pics taken from a pro vid camera but the dude with the pro camera was there for another 2 weeks after I left. All those pics were taken from a d200 nikon
really should get the fuji velvia pics processed soon.
peter
FollowupID: 537407

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:46

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:46
Good photos Peter. Aboriginal children are very photogenic. I like the one of the girl in pink t-shirt on the old machinery.
Barnesy
AnswerID: 273986

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:30

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:30
Peter,
Excellent shots.
Thanks for sharing.
AnswerID: 274009

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 09:49

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 09:49
Have to say I enjoyed the photo's also. Just learning how to take photo's myself and of course it cost as much as my other hobby (more in fact AHHHHHHH).

I as someone say hereabout I take one good photo a year and that proberly by mistake lol.

AnswerID: 274019