O/T... What is going on, I expected some post election comment

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:15
ThreadID: 52035 Views:3955 Replies:26 FollowUps:110
I'm totally hornswaggled I expected some post election debate but there is none, absolutley none. Are we all so apathetic that we don't give a choc dipped Quokka about it anymore?

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:20

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:20
Who cares, same bucket different s**t
AnswerID: 273965

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:26

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:26
Hmmmm ... more like same s**t different bucket :)))

FollowupID: 537368

Reply By: equinox - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:34

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:34
he aint got no mandate over here in the wild west :)))

AnswerID: 273967

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:49

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:49
Come on WA is part of Australia.. :-)

I see there is a write up about the Carnegie Trail in the 4Wdriver mag written by Mick Hutton and Connie Sue,
haven't read it yet only arrived tonight and have sent the whole night on this place ,,, LOL
FollowupID: 537401

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:54

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:54
Thanks mate
I'll try and get it tomorrow and read with interest. :)))

FollowupID: 537404

Follow Up By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 15:22

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 15:22
'WA is part of Australia'

That's just a theory Richard, just a theory.

(We have tried to leave officially but you guys need us too much and wouldn't let us go.)
FollowupID: 537492

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:14

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:14
I might be a little Early on the mag as I subscribe
FollowupID: 537520

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:45

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:45
Just to correct equinox.

WA has 15 Seats.

13 showed a swing to Labor.

Only Cowan (2.2%) and Swan (0.2%) swung to the Coalition.

Rudd clearly has a mandate in WA.

Note, figures taken from the AEC website.

Facts, not a comment from me.

FollowupID: 537664

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 10:54

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 10:54
Hi Jimbo,

I dont think it is the swing that matters.
It's bums on seats that count.

As you say WA has 15 bums.

From the AEC website:

Libs - 10 bums
Labour - 4 bums
Doubtful - 1 bum

He aint got no mandate here. (my words)

FollowupID: 537674

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 13:10

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 13:10
Alan,

He's the PM of Australia, all of Australia. States choose their own Premier.

FollowupID: 537694

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:43

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:43
Jimbo,

Sssshhhhhh take it easy. You'll get 'em all fired up and talking about secession AGAIN hahahahaha

FollowupID: 537752

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 19:32

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 19:32
Al,

Now there's an idea, and they could elect Prince Leonard as their PM.

Better still, declare it a monarchy and have him as King Leonard LOL.

ATB,

FollowupID: 537810

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:45

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:45
We went out to dinner on Saturday night and the restaurant had the election on a big screen... didn't that make for a crappy evening.

When we came home, and for the next couple of days everything seemed overly quiet, as if everyone was asking themselves: what have we done?

We'll see who gets caught with their trotters in the trough first. In the WA state govt it was Norm Marlborough. For my money, the first one to show their true colours (bright red) will be Ms Gillard. Another scary thought is that she is one faulty heartbeat away from being PM.

Apologies if anyone is offended by this overtly political comment but Basil did extend the invitation.

AnswerID: 273969

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:26

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:26
Exactly GB, NZ's Helen Clark started out as an unassuming lady in the Labour party, as soon as she saw the chance, the claws came out.

Poor Rudd, if I were he I would be watching my back.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 537426

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:41

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:41
Lionel A....................Bollocks !
FollowupID: 537427

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:00

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:00
Hey Kiwi, we seem to see this woman from opposite sides of the political spectrum.

I know we will never see them or their likes again but I miss the Holyoakes, Marshalls and Kirkes in politics.

True gentlemen and statesmen.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 537431

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:21

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:21
I always thought Helen Clark was a bloke.

FollowupID: 537434

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:37

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:37
Had the OP mate

Used to be called Harold......hehehehe.....

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 537436

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:48

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:48
Hi Lionel,

Keith was a logical thinking person who worked things out so they did not hurt the grass routes people.

Jack Marshal would smile while he held a knife behind his back.

Norm Kirk had a bit of charisma but nothing else.

Helen is rather like Rob Muldoon and Keith in that she also does not want to see big business or the banking gnomes ride rough shod over the small people.

I worked for Rupert Murdock for many years and saw first hand how the journalist assassination squads twisted stories to suit their political masters.

I have some minor dealings with all the above except Keith and found Helen and Rob to be quite different to how they are normally portrayed in the confrontational media.
FollowupID: 537437

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:49

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:49
"I always thought Helen Clark was a bloke.' actually Hillin Clarke is a rotweiler with lipstick...
FollowupID: 537532

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:53

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 22:53
Election? Did someone say election??????
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>

I have election evely morning before blekfast............................

;-)))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 273971

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:06

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:06
Confucious say ' Man with election before blekfast not necessarily lucky'.....hahahahahahahahahahaha

FollowupID: 537424

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 18:33

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 18:33
stops ya from rollin' outa bed..............................

;-))))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 537540

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 23:28

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 23:28
Lucky lost his flag before breakfast

FollowupID: 537882

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:12

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:12
Election! last Sat wasn't it!

It's done, move on
AnswerID: 273977

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:27

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:27
its been and gone, it was like the cricket, the result was known long before the last day...

if week 1 is anything to go by, its going to be a LONG LONG 4yrs.. oops sorry.. fools, will open floodgate to payouts by admitting fault. then taxes will rise to pay the billions.. Oh yes. here we go.
AnswerID: 273981

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:45

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:45
Pssstt!! Its only 3 years Bruce :-)

(Thank God)

FollowupID: 537386

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:55

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:55
Im working on theory of aussies stupidity falling for the popularity contest that the media made it - nothing to do with partys or either having no policys.. I should have said 5yrs not 4.. cause they feed you bleep for 6mts per election, and theres goign to be more than one session of rudd, well 1 of him and 1 of that redheaded cow who will boot him out

and whats up with a WHAT WOMEN WANT Party?? Imagine if blokes tried a WHAT MEN WANT party?
FollowupID: 537388

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:03

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:03
LOL I hear ya and I know where your coming from :-)

By the way Julia Dillard is my local member :-(((((
Still reckon her and Kevin Dudd have been at each other for quite sometime.

FollowupID: 537389

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:20

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:20
Now that Elmer Fudd has shot his rabbit, what or who will he target next. Julia perhaps?
If he's got any sense, he would be investing in rear vision mirrors too because Tinkerbelle is just behind him and waiting for the first slip to sink the dagger in.

Just my thoughts. And before anyone else says it.................
"Don't blame me, I voted Liberal." and I'm from WA too.

Disco.
FollowupID: 537392

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:29

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:29
Sorry T

But John

The name calling is that really your thing, sounds a bit school girlie to me... The Libs or Nats how ever you voted for lost big time. and now there starting to show there true colours (split ends) the big "C" is gone a running and now there talking about butting a woman in as leader... LOL

Now thats a cop out if anyone seen one, everyone knows you only put one in when in opposition

Anyway how the Troopy going?

had a look at the new model yet?

I'm going to wait about a year, by that time the pay rises will have started to kick in, the union bosses will be running the country and the dollar will just be starting to fall...

FollowupID: 537394

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:38

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:38
Truckster
Well put, same thoughts as me,

------------------------------------------------------------
Name Calling , geez look who's yappin'

FollowupID: 537395

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:41

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:41
How did Pauline go Doug .. LOL
FollowupID: 537398

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:53

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 00:53
Well at least we got some political crap going which was the point of the thread in the first place :-)

FollowupID: 537403

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:15

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:15
It did'nt take long

FollowupID: 537425

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:35

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:35
May be too mant Nat's and Lib's on the forum and they have nothing to say.. LOL

AnswerID: 273983

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:50

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2007 at 23:50
many many not mant ,, :-)
FollowupID: 537387

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:22

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 01:22
be ready
AnswerID: 273998

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 06:21

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 06:21
Still nursing my celebration headache from sat night.
AnswerID: 274003

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:16

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 07:16
I detest the system and main stream politics.

One Man One Vote would sort our politicians out. This preference system stinks. You vote for a good fella and get a R Cranium

I only make up my mind when I get to the booth.Australian Fishing and Lifestyle Party got my vote this time...I see in the results they attracted around 17,000 votes....hahahaha

We shall no doubt see where the pre-election promises go........out the window most likely. Still waiting for that fast broadband to arrive.....lol

AnswerID: 274006

Follow Up By: Member - Gavin B (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 09:08

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 09:08
"I detest the system and main stream politics.

One Man One Vote would sort our politicians out. This preference system stinks. You vote for a good fella and get a R Cranium"

I second that
FollowupID: 537440

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 10:09

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 10:09
I'll third that
FollowupID: 537447

Follow Up By: Member - Gavin B (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 10:26

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 10:26
Right, I reckon that's a quorum gents, the aye's have it - motion passed.

I'll talk to Kevin.
FollowupID: 537449

Reply By: Kevndeb - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:26

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:26
Just hope it does not take three years and six months before the promised laptops for high schools turn up.

My hubby's boss is spewing, he deals with allot of worksites, all of of his employees are on a workplace agreement ( not an AWA), which has not been reviewed in three years. Now he reckons the country is going to hell in a hand basket, then again he does alot of business with China, which is where he is this week. My hubby likes working for him, it is a very small company, and he choses to work for him even though he could be earning double in Dampier, which is where he is this week. He is earning half as much as what the people he is training. Also hope they get rid of 457 visa, did you now that Maccas are employing people in Dampier on the 457 visa? Took hubby 20 minutes last time he was there to get dinner at the drive-through, because they could not understand him.

Me I just wish they would sort out the Family Tax A and B ( formally the married man and single man tax) having to estitmate how much we earn a year in advance, esp when Kev is doing alot of FIFO, long hours is pain in the butt. We way over estimate, but we also get a good tax return, which has not turned up yet by the way.

For the record don't blame me....I am from WA remember, memories of Burke, Grill,Malbrough and co are not that far away.

Debbie
AnswerID: 274013

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:41

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:41
What and you thing the Libs are better

With Labor you got two railway lines, the libs only one tunnel .. LOL

FollowupID: 537604

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:20

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:20
Richard that was last century.
FollowupID: 537615

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:28

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:28
You still awake .. :-)

How is retirement assuming you are?

Been on any trips lately?

----------------------------------------------

And last century tis is wait awhile opening next month will be our third suburban line in the history of WA (and Perth is older than Melbourne).. LOL

It will all work out fine you watch..;-)

FollowupID: 537618

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:30

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:30
and by the way you forgot the word so....

as in "Richard that was SO last century" .. LOL :-)
FollowupID: 537620

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:32

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:32
Still awake and alarm is set for 6.30am. TTTrips, the last was the Pyrenees apart from a dreaming last weekend. Sumthin about a Kevin I think it was
FollowupID: 537621

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:42

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:42
Nearly asleep so missed the "SO" LOL. Love the sense of humour mate.
FollowupID: 537623

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:32

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 08:32
It doesnt seem to matter whos at the helm really.

There appears to be three levels of society:

The....Have Nots.

The....Ive Got it Alls.

The....Im Working my Guts Out to carry the two above.

I think I know whos the real engine room this society.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 274015

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 09:42

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 09:42

I get lots of INTEREST from politics, its all from the bank.
thing are good, and with labour in, it will only get better.

Daza.
FollowupID: 537445

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:22

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:22
Good one Daza :-)

FollowupID: 537656

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 09:36

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 09:36
Well we voted them in so we just deal with what gets tossed at us .........no differnt to the other party.

AnswerID: 274018

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 10:10

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 10:10
Thge most dangeous thing - I think I read somewhere
THE GREENS I THNK HAVE THE CONTROLLING VOTE (what ever its called)
If they hvae THAT vote, we are fuct. they will close everything
AnswerID: 274023

Reply By: Jimbo - VIC - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 11:41

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 11:41
It's our political cycle at work.

Labor got the middle ground in 83, gradually moved left and let the Libs grab the middle ground in 96. Johnny kept dragging the Libs to the far right and Labor has seized the middle and is back in power.

Give Labor 3 or 4 terms and they will open the door for the Libs.

Be proud, we have a wonderful democratic system that never lets either party go too far without being pulled up.
AnswerID: 274036

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 11:47

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 11:47
if the Libs can rebuild a decent opposition i cant see labour getting more than one term.
if its there fault or not all it will take is a bit of a rise in intrest rates (likely) and a few strikes and thats all it will take for people to be reminded about the Hawke/keating (dark) years to send a chill over the country

Now that hes in i hope he can do a decent job but I am crap scared of seeing what i saw 15 years ago
FollowupID: 537460

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 12:32

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 12:32
What are they going to use to build a decent opposition?

Within a couple of months 3 or 4 more long term MHRs will resign, completeing the rout of the dictatorship.

Davoe you obviously forgot how Howard stuffed the economy with Fraser (11% unemployment, 11% interest rates, $40billion deficit in 2007 dollars), the rescue was successfully undertaken by Hawke. Were Hawke and Keating perfect? - no. Did Howard inherit low interest rates, low inflation, and stable employment? - Yes. Did he stuff it up when he got control of the Senate - Yes, the dictator was released and he fell on his sword and took the whole party with him. Not to mention destroying many families along the way.

Unfortunately, we now have the situation where the Federal Liberal opposition is like the Liberal opposition in all the states - so pathetic they haven't a chance of being stable let alone developing a set of policies.

The next thing we will have to look forward to is a hostile senate, led by a few liberals who have received their marching orders already but won't have to go until June 2008 - what they could potentially cost the country is frightening.

Now that the Federal Govt is Labour, I predict that a number of states will toss their Labour govts - Victoria would be a great place to turf out the incumbent numnuts, but the Vic Liberals had better find some talent ... here's hoping.
FollowupID: 537469

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 13:40

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 13:40
Gerhardp, you have memory loss obvioulsy. there was a bloke called WHitlaM who brought that on and it took years to sort that stuff out.

Indeed you have a distorted view of the world, interest rates and unemploment fell with the Howard government until recent minimal rate rises. Families destroyed? No

We are told constantly there is a skills shortage, but it is a people shortage. 3.4% unemployment in our municipality. Very hard to get people
FollowupID: 537478

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 13:54

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 13:54
Davoe,
The only reason that Australia is doing so well is because India and China are booming. The BRIC countries (Brazil, Russia, India & China) have a huge demand for commodities at the moment and the United States dollar is at an all time low against most western countries. The boom in Australia has almost nothing to do with any economic magic from the last Government. If China slows down it's economic boom (and it probably will after the Olympics) then western countries will also experience a slow down in their economies. Unemployment is not really as low as some pollies would have you believe, I don't reckon that a part time job flipping burgers should be classes as real employment.
FollowupID: 537480

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 14:16

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 14:16
Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses

My view is different from yours, so mine is distorted?

You are like Howard - blinkered and dictatorial.

Fraser and Howard had many years to correct the Whitlam fallout, but they did not do it. It was Hawke who achieved it. And I will defend Whitlam till the day I die for pulling us out of Vietnam, because I was one whose marble was drawn. It was due to Whitlam that I have a family now, with sons and daughters all working - without Whitlam, I could have been dead at 22, and definately fatally scarred like all the Vietnam vets I know. Adn all are ignored by the Liberal Governments.

But I forgot - under Labour an interest rate rise is criminal, but under Liberal it is "minimal" - and more than one is even more minimal, and 7 is still not a problem - you blinkered libs do indeed have a distorted view.
FollowupID: 537482

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 15:05

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 15:05
Gerhard, obviously anyone who disagrees with something you may say is blinkered and dictatorial. So why do you enter discussion?
FollowupID: 537490

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 15:10

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 15:10
Pardon me, but I thought it was you who fired the first salvo.

Have a look at yourself.
FollowupID: 537491

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 15:32

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 15:32
"My view is different from yours, so mine is distorted?

You are like Howard - blinkered and dictatorial." that is your comment Gerhard. LOL You quoted yourself and apply to anyone who differs, me! LOL I just fired on shot back at your poor memory and you got wound up.
FollowupID: 537494

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 16:48

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 16:48
Well I saw it all with my own eyes farmers would have begged for 115 interest rates they were paying 25% on there overdraught. Genocide in the weatbelt with so many people leaving first footty teams amalgamated then leauges and even then teams could not be filled.
vittal businesse had to sell up
Not much different in the city by then
we went from being 5 deep at the counter late night shopping to going home early. hours werent cut whole days were
I hung onto my job just by good luck. but what a job couldnt leave home on that sort of money and jobs werent growing on trees.
all those big posters in the city werent sayiing merry christmas or such like they were saying office to let - and they were on EVERY office.
say what you like but i was soooooo much better off after 96 and believe it or not
...........the resources boom has only been in the last couple of years it was in recession before that
FollowupID: 537512

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 19:45

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 19:45
John R, you obviously don't read what you write - YOU opened up with this piece "Gerhardp, you have memory loss obvioulsy. there was a bloke called WHitlaM who brought that on and it took years to sort that stuff out.

Indeed you have a distorted view of the world, interest rates and unemploment fell with the Howard government until recent minimal rate rises. Families destroyed? No"

Now the way I read that, you have said I have a distorted view of the world, and I have memory loss obviously

Only a fool would then say I started the exchange - Again, I say, look at yourself. Thank god only you see the world through your eyes.
FollowupID: 537556

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:25

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:25
Somehow I thought you were after Jimbo and Davoe. Perhaps I still haven't read that right Gerhard. You look to be still lost in a wilderness. Somebody will rescue you, perhaps let off you EPIRB.
FollowupID: 537616

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 08:28

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 08:28
I'm sure if Jimbo and Davoe thought I was "after" them (which I wasn't, except in the sense that my post followed theirs), they could defend themselves.

I wasn't attacking them, but your twisted interpretation obviously did. So even when you admit your twisted thinking in one breath, you keep attacking in your next . You really are in trouble. A bit like Howard really - even though he's wrong, will fall on his sword before saying sorry......even won't admit it to himself, let alone publicly.
FollowupID: 537642

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:21

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:21
Settle down lads, I just made a factual, unbiased, comment on our wonderful political system.

I stay away from making political comments these days, it just leads to ugliness.
FollowupID: 537655

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:37

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:37
G'day Jim, think Gerhard thought interpredly on the word "after" as I meant in order as in 1,2,3,4, etc. I was well done in the order. LOL.
FollowupID: 537660

Reply By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 11:53

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 11:53
Give it a rest this is the only place we can get away from it!
AnswerID: 274038

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 12:25

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 12:25
not much debate because the right man won
AnswerID: 274042

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 13:57

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 13:57
Interesting exercise, this.
For the last few years I've been on this forum, I've tried to gain an insight into the various contributors including what their political leanings might be.
This post pretty well confirms my impressions.
Nothing personal......
Gerry
AnswerID: 274052

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 14:22

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 14:22
Why do you care what a person's political leaning is?

I'm a labor man for federal, and a Liberal man for State. From what I've seen over my years, that has been the most positive combo for me.

My best friend is a rampant Liberal, but we both respect each other's views and experiences which have resulted in our positions.

Doesn't make any difference - I'll still always tow a fellow 4wder out of a bog, even if he's a liberal :)
FollowupID: 537484

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 16:00

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 16:00
Hi Gerhard,
I don't particularly care about political leanings either way, it's just an exercise, like putting a face to a name.
Perhaps I should stick to faces :-)
Like you, I have friends of both political persuasions and have voted on both sides. I try not to get too involved in public political arguments, which is a bit like arguing religion - they can never be won. Today's exercise is about as political as I am likely to get.
Cheers, Gerry
FollowupID: 537500

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 19:47

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 19:47
Couldn't agree more - it must be my shout....:)
FollowupID: 537557

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:53

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:53
But Gerhard, would you tow your fellow 4wdriver out of a bog if he was in a Toyota??

FollowupID: 537610

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 08:22

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 08:22
Haha, now you're asking something......are you saying a Toyota with a Liberal driver is a combination most likely to need help :)

FollowupID: 537640

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 14:20

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 14:20
time to go bush again.....
AnswerID: 274053

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 16:18

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 16:18
whyle we still have some to go see.... :-)
FollowupID: 537505

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 14:32

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 14:32
LOL look what you've done Basil hahahaha

Everyone's up on their soapboxes. Rudd will probably last 2, maybe 3 terms and the cycle will start over again.

The unions were about to disappear up their own orifices. Not necessarily a healthy situation. They invested heaps because it was virtually a life or death situation with only around 17% of the workforce in the unions.

Both sides ran predominately alarmist scare campaigns because that is the ONLY way to get the attention of an incredibly apathetic electorate. We reap what we sow so it should be an interesting few years until the next 'lottery'.

AnswerID: 274057

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 16:39

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 16:39
I don't think he will last 2 or 3 terms but time will tell.

FollowupID: 537510

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:16

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:16
LOL I think he will have to do a 'Whitlam' to get tossed after one term (we definitely DON'T want that).

The best we can hope for, without too much damage, is that he lasts two terms. Any more than that and we'll end up as the 'People's Republic of Australia'

FollowupID: 537521

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:29

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:29
Al, best guess is about $30m for the union effort as a last ditch. they will have to get that back through Rudd and his Mandarin efforts. Cost of the damage will be the next guess. Banana did I hear you say?
FollowupID: 537619

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:42

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 00:42
JohnR,

LOL or the recession we had to have :)))

FollowupID: 537622

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 07:16

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 07:16
Whitlam actually got a second term, albeit somewhat truncated.
FollowupID: 537631

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:52

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:52
Whats to say ?, "We won , smug johhny lost " ?, we are humble in our victory.
AnswerID: 274084

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 18:35

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 18:35
Well if I may say so that was a most robust debate, as young Mr Grace would say "You've all done very well".....
What interested me about this election was how the media controlled it, I'm beginning to think maybe the media is running the country. Something else to think about, we were able to debate the issue freely without being rounded up and shot because of our differing views.
Frankly I don't give a damn who is playing "government" & "opposition" they are all a bunch of self centred, self absorbed petty crooks and Arthur Daley types anyway.

In answer to the question that is sometimes raised, "where do all our taxes go?" it's now obvious, it's used to pay "retrenched Politicians" a fortune for life....
AnswerID: 274086

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 18:40

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 18:40
Its been an interesting exercise but on to more serious matters.

Julie Bishop can park her stilletoes under my bed anytime....lol.
AnswerID: 274090

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 19:59

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 19:59
Yeah was looking at her tonight and just thinking better her than Dillard :-)
I just happen to like blondes a little more than red heads :-)

FollowupID: 537560

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:55

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:55
You blokes ain't thinking about Bronwyn Bishop where you ..

FollowupID: 537612

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:58

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:58
arrr I shouldn't have said that...

I'm starting to fell SICK.. LOL

yuck
FollowupID: 537613

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 08:27

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 08:27
What's wrong with RedHeads John? hmmmm....

FollowupID: 537641

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:16

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:16
Nothing wrong with red heads Lyn.
I love red heads nothing better than a nice red head.
I just happen to have a slight and I mean ever so slight preference for blonde's thats all.

But you know the old story....Any port in a storm :-)

P.S. I like the hmmmmm.... its make you sound like my mum :-)

FollowupID: 537653

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 13:26

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 13:26
Lionel, you my old cobber are indeed a man of impeccable taste. I suspect however that putting her stilletos under your bed is about all she is good for....
Time will tell, time will tell..
Oh BTW if you do convince her to park hers stilletos under your bed can you advise her hourly rate????
FollowupID: 537697

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:23

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:23
Lyn,
I wouldn't let John of the hook so easily.
Redheads have the something special about them don't they.
Des
FollowupID: 537711

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:47

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:47
Indeed we do Des, it brings out the fire in people and some people have this overwhelming compulsion to whisk some of us off to Cape Leveque..lol :)

FollowupID: 537734

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:49

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:49
Des I can remember (in her younger years) when Lyn was a blonde. :-)

FollowupID: 537735

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:09

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:09
for the record, I have never been blonde....
FollowupID: 537741

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:13

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:13
You sure???
Maybe mousy or some such similar lighter colour???

Or maybe old timers is hindering my long term memory??

FollowupID: 537742

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:18

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:18
Mousy!! never...

always...red, reddish, auburn, chestnut, but never mousy and never blonde..lol..

FollowupID: 537744

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:25

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:25
Chesnut thats it!!, I knew it was a lighter colour... I guess thats close to mousy blonde. :-)

I gunna leave this topic alone me thinks!!! :-)

FollowupID: 537745

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:55

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:55
Geez, a mousy redhead.

RATS!!!!!
FollowupID: 537757

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:25

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:25
nothing mousey about me
FollowupID: 537771

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:22

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:22
I new a redhead once, for some reason she was called Ginger Mick... LOL
FollowupID: 537831

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 07:09

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 07:09
LOL Richard...

acutally my mother was going to call me Megan, then decided that I was bound to be a red head and I'd be called Ginger Megs..

My nan was a red head, she was called Blue, she got into a few too...LOL...firey with an irish background
FollowupID: 537896

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 08:24

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 08:24
Here's my tac on the day...and I won't align myself to any side..but I worked in one polling booth in Central Victoria and it was a very busy booth, the only one in the town and we had about 4000 voters. The day started about 7.30am and finished at 10.30pm and I didn't get home til just after 11pm.

I spent the day rotating between marking off peoples names in the voters register and guarding the ballot boxes...then after 6pm counting the votes.

When you're sitting at the ballot box people speak to you, they moan alot of the time about HAVING to vote...and I smile and shake my head and wonder how they'd feel if they didn't have that right..it doesn't bother me...I have a vote, I'll use..however each to their own...but one thing I did gleen whilst sitting there making small talk with strangers was this..."I couldn't vote for the Libs I don't want Costello as PM"...that was the most common statement I heard, obviously I didn't add to it..not allowed to, have to be apolitical when you're working for the AEC.

In the end it was quite close, in our booth anyway...quite a lot of informals...a waste in my opinion...the senate ticket was a nightmare..alot of people filled in below the line and you have to check the whole thing to make sure it's 90% correct...most were, the greens got a big vote as did the shooters party..LOL....

and What Women Want got a lot of comments...I kept telling people this woman wants Hugh Jackman but I don't think that was one of parties policies....

anyway it was a long day...but we all had a bit of a laugh and the scuritneers were nice people who weren't over our shoulders too much..

Lyn
AnswerID: 274169

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:21

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:21
I agree with you about the informal vote, a real pity.

I guess it's also those same informal voters that spend the next 3 odd years whinging the loudest about the government of the day and yet they wasted their right to influence the decision.

FollowupID: 537654

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:36

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 09:36
Just looked at latest results

House of Reps 428,576 Informal 2,521,094 no shows

Senate 340,767 Informal 3,437,388 no shows

These are progress figures.
FollowupID: 537659

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 13:29

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 13:29
Sad isn't it Gramps.... Though I have been tempted on so many occasions to just get my name sigend off and walk out...
FollowupID: 537699

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:52

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:52
A lot of informals were because people had ticked a box and not put a number in it...

at the booth I was at, only 2 House of Rep tickets were unaccounted for, and all senate tickets returned even if not written on...
FollowupID: 537737

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:03

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:03
Al thats a bloody lot of votes that could have made a big difference??
Surprised at the No show numbers??

FollowupID: 537738

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:40

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:40
Basil,

Once I just scribbled "p... off" on both tickets and walked out. Total waste of a vote and I did'nt feel any better either LOL

John,

"No shows" is my terminology to account for the total enrolled less the formal and informal counts. It would include those not yet counted (remember, this is a progressive count as of this morning), deceased but not removed from rolls, those overseas and not bothering, the seriously ill, insane, incarcerated (maybe ???), etc etc etc. But yes, it does seem an awful lot and who knows what influence they may have had.

Lyn,

I can understand that. For some people it's all too hard but I can't think of an easier way.

FollowupID: 537750

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:44

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:44
Al,

the Senate ticket is ridiculous it needs to be changed....

comments on tickets make those of us counting them smile - sometimes...
FollowupID: 537753

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:56

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:56
Lyn,

LOL I bet you've seen some funnies. I only just stopped myself in time from telling them how I really felt. I think it was during the dim, dark Malcolm years. Never could like that bloke. Total waste of space for mine. He still is.

For the Senate, instead of having to number 2347656325421319854874363 squares below the line, just number the squares above the line. Even that gets a bit tiresome.

FollowupID: 537758

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:08

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:08
Ummm Errrrrr!!! Al you only had to mark one box above the line for the senate and that meant your vote was apportioned in accordance with the respective party preference arrangement for that party below the line.

FollowupID: 537763

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:17

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:17
John,

Understand that and it's very easy but some like to buck the party preferences but not to the extent of having to fill in 2347656325421319854874363 squares below the line.

FollowupID: 537766

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:21

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:21
John,

May be that would give people too many options and only add to the confusion :)))

FollowupID: 537767

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:27

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:27
Most senate tickets I checked...did not follow a party line...numbers were everywhere on average 5 - 10 min checking to make sure they were correct.
FollowupID: 537772

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:28

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:28
OK now worries.
Its just the way your post read.
"just number the squares above the line. Even that gets a bit tiresome"
I read it to mean you were suggesting that we had to number the squares above the line in numerical sequence rather than just place a 1 in one box only above the line.

My misinterpretation of what you said, sorry.

FollowupID: 537774

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:34

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 17:34
No need to apologize mate. I'd be really worried if everyone understood all of my ramblings LOL I should read it back to myself before hitting Submit :)))

FollowupID: 537776

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 11:59

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 11:59
I don't know who my member is yet.
AnswerID: 274205

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:29

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:29
Wombat,
By now I thought you would have given him a name.

maybe Dick, Dicky, Willy or even Wills if he stands out in the crowd.

LOL of course
FollowupID: 537714

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:37

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:37
Mr Lexic,

'He' is actually a 'She'. First name name being Franny with an 'R'. I believe her enemies may call her crunt.
FollowupID: 537715

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:44

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:44
Does that mean your a cross dresser. I've only seen you wear blokes clothes.
FollowupID: 537720

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:52

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 14:52

Here she is - our Franny with an 'R'.
FollowupID: 537724

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:50

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 15:50
Wombie, I"m in the same electorate...last I heard we should know by the end of the week..
FollowupID: 537736

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:05

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:05
Hi Lynda.

Last I heard the incumbent was ahead by just under 600 votes with postals usually favouring Liberal, so it looks like she'll get another term. You can be guaranteed that such a close result will require a recount though. Maybe they should get the recount done by someone with the initials EA to get the Labour candidate up?
FollowupID: 537739

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:07

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:07
Did Ruth's ex-boyfriend get re-elected?
FollowupID: 537740

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:16

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:16
LOL Wombie...that'd do it..

who is Ruth's ex boyfriend?
FollowupID: 537743

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:25

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:25
Steve Fielding - Family First senator was for many years in secondary school.

Ahhhhhhh the stories I could tell.
FollowupID: 537746

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:31

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 16:31
ahhh...he polled well in the booth I was in...looks like he's in again..
FollowupID: 537748

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:26

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:26
Here's what happened:

1. People were fat & happy but "tired" of Howard, hence no "anger" in electorate.
2. People do not warm to Costello.
3. Lib's blinked on the retirement issue and Costello came into play.
4. Labor had good spinmiesters and a good rudbot to "stay on message".
5. Press gave Labor the best ever dream run with little scrutiny, helped by not appearing anywhere they would get asked a tough question or could not control.
6. Lib's campaign was messy, Howard overstayed.
7. No issues (including Workchoices) had any impact whatsoever, cancelling each other out.
8. Less than 6% of the country changed it's vote.

Here is what will happen:

1. Labor mistakenly think that people love them and everything they stand for and begin to execute.
2. Libs move to the left and flank Labor on a few key issues.
3. Labor find people were just kidding/not paying attention and expected them to be different.
4. Polls go bad.
5. Labor left challenges to try and save the ship, Messiah Kevin .07 shafted and is not the Messiah after all, just a very naughty Country Party farm boy.
6. Kerry O'Brien declares we can "do what we like this time".

We are in new territory: Gov't changed in time of prosperity, sitting PM loses own seat to political novice with media profile but nothing to say, Labor leader sitting to the right of Genghis Khan, Labor candidates with made over images and designer specs but Libs doing midnight unauthorised pamphlet drops. Anything is now possible and if the polls go bad early, 1 term for Labor is on the cards if Austalia is paying attention.

IMHO

OT
AnswerID: 274293

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 22:15

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 22:15
OT I think you are on the mark with most of what you said. I wonder when Mr Garratt admits he wasn't joking when he said that they'd change the policies.
FollowupID: 537848

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:30

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:30
I voted Librel because im a Libra.

Daza
FollowupID: 537905

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 10:23

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 10:23
Yep!! What he said is just about it I reckon.

FollowupID: 537919