Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 16:29
Chenj3-2
I know this may have been discussed many times but I still could NOT find the concrete answer re earthing for the campervan.
backgrounds:
I imported a Toyota Hiace KZH138 4WD high roof campervan from Japan, this van was built as a campervan by Bigfoot Japan where the mains power is 100V instead 240volts.
This van comes with Inverter, Battery Charger and external power connector (three pins but earth pin is NOT connected, 100V A/C).
Questions: I want to re-wire this campervan so it meet OZ regulations and practices. Should I wire the earth pin on the external power connector to the vehicle chassie ? if so, then should I connect the earth point on the Inverter (300Watts) to the chassis too?
Thanks in advance
Reply By: pjchris - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:05
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:05
If it was originally wired for 100VAC then you will probably need to replace all of the wiring in the van....by a licensed contractor, of course and they should know...
And yes, I would connect the Mains earth pin to the Chassis and also the inverter..But I'm not a sparkie so I may be wrong
Also the caravan would require an RCD (Safety Switch) fitted
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:17
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:17
>If it was originally wired for 100VAC then you will probably need to
>replace all of the wiring in the van
Certainly check but I would be _very_ surprised if US wiring is not capable of carrying 240V.
As for the earthing; I suspect you should earth both the chassis and the inverter - I think Bonz will know for sure what the regs are.
Follow Up By: pjchris - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 21:11
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 21:11
IIRC in most 110V wiring the power points are not earthed and the flex run in the walls does not actually have an earth wire embedded in it at all.
Such cabling would not be suitable for 240V.
Just find a Sparky friend and get him to have a look they'll know straight away.
Reply By: disco1942 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:38
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 17:38
You are working on a trade that is
well covered by regulations. If you work on it yourself and stuff it up you could be up on a manslaughter charge . Suggest you consult a qualified tradesman who is conversant with the regs that cover portable dwellings - your local caravan repairers may be able to refer you.
You may also be in the same situation with your gas installation if that has not already been seen to.
Some reading for you on imported electricsThis Link was written concentrating on 5th wheelers but applies to you
My neighbour had heaps of problems transferring rego from one state on a
grey import Nissan Urvan conversion. had extra expenses to comply. Often these cheap imports turn out to be expensive - best of luck complying. Just don't cut corners, you could be in much deeper trouble if you do.
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:19
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 23:19
Here is another pitfall for motorhomers
See Link