Advertising Site Denied

Submitted: Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:06
ThreadID: 52118 Views:2917 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
Well it had to happen, the boss finally blocked the ExplorOz site so every time you log on it now sends you a message from the Net Marshall- advertising site- access denied, your attempt to access a non work related site has been recorded. Joy. My justification has always been we are in oil/gas and mining, need to keep current on track opening/closings and weather.

Bugger so I can now only log on in the comfort of home unless there is an IT guru out there that can tell me how to bypass.

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:10

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:10
Do a google for proxy servers. You browse to that site and then enter the exploroz address and can view it via the proxy web site. There's always a way around!

Leroy
AnswerID: 274343

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:20

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:20
Unless the proxies are blocked as well as they are here ;-))
FollowupID: 537902

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:55

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:55
defeats the purpose of the proxy...
FollowupID: 537906

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 09:07

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 09:07
Which would be the reason the IT admin have done it to stop the 'wasting' of time and resources.
I had to request that I be allowed access to some sites to get past 'big brother' here as apparently the software here allows it to different users.
FollowupID: 537908

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 09:35

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 09:35
how may I ask is your local admin going to block a site on a remote proxy that he has no control over? I don't think you understand.

Leroy
FollowupID: 537913

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 10:21

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 10:21
Leroy,

Did you just read what you are saying? Good IT departments generally have full control over what you can access, proxy or no proxy.

Block access to the proxy address (eg www.browseatwork.com) and it doesn't matter what the proxy site could display. :-)

FollowupID: 537918

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 10:48

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 10:48
Andrew,

Did you read what I was saying? If I was running a remote proxy server and you can browse to it to get access to exploroz, your local admin cannot block a site that you are browsing to via my proxy. They can block access to my remote proxy site though.

There are thousands of remote proxy servers. You have no chance of blocking all of them. Go to proxy.org and take your pick. New ones pop up all the time. So your IT dept blocks browseatwork, you just use another remote proxy server.

Leroy
FollowupID: 537928

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 10:56

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 10:56
That proxy server method is what the school kids use at school to browse what they like.
Not sooner does the school block one then they are on another.

FollowupID: 537931

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:09

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:09
Cheeky little buggers!

Leroy
FollowupID: 537935

Follow Up By: techo2oz - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:10

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:10
G'day Leroy,
A "good" admin will block all access out except via the internal Proxy. (like deny all IP and all Ports for all workstations except the server/machine running the proxy) Therefore access to outside proxy can only be via the internal proxy.

Then any content filtering on the internal proxy would still prevail.

FollowupID: 537936

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:11

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:11
Yes i did read what you said.....and stand by my comments. They can have "control over" the proxy site by not allowing access to that site in the first place.

========================================
and you can browse to it to get access to exploroz
========================================

Well this is a different kettle of fish and it is not what you mentioned in followup 4.

FollowupID: 537937

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:34

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:34
techno,

'Then any content filtering on the internal proxy would still prevail'

Nope not the case. If you are at work then try for yourself. Go to a know blocked site.

Andrew,

followup 4 'how may I ask is your local admin going to block a site on a remote proxy that he has no control over?'

Do you even understand the concept? Your local admin can only block your access to the remote proxy website. Read follow up 7 by John. Even school kids work it out!

Leroy
FollowupID: 537938

Follow Up By: techo2oz - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:56

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:56
Leroy,
I see what you mean.. Sort of. On our set up it allows limited access. Unfortunately all it means is more work for me. :-(

However thank you for the heads up.

FollowupID: 537942

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 12:03

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 12:03
My son and his mates laughed at the Liberal Governments spruiking of the net protection software they recently made available for home use to block various sites.

As the kids said they try that sort of stuff at school and we get around it easy as.

FollowupID: 537944

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 12:09

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 12:09
No worries Peter....no offence take to the 'any good admin' comment either ;-)

John, I haven't seen the net protection software but I wouldn't place to much faith in it.

Leroy
FollowupID: 537949

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 12:22

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 12:22
======================================
Do you even understand the concept? Your local admin can only block your access to the remote proxy website.
======================================

Congratulations, you now understand what i have been saying....no access to proxy site, no access to any other non-approved site through the proxy, pretty simple to comprehend.

Whitelist filtering would stop access to any proxy sites, though it would take some time to manage initially and may stifle legitimate work requirements.

FollowupID: 537953

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:34

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:34
http://www.browseatwork.com/
AnswerID: 274347

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:41

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 08:41
One question from me about this - is the advertising site message a standard thing? You may not know but I wonder if the boss did it or if the site has been listed somewhere (on a content control site)? We have not really changed much in the last few days related to advertising functionality however the Toyota campaign started a few days ago. I really suspect it was a manual entry in the blocking system however not many people would bother entering sites in a block list unless you used it way to much!

Here is a trick to try go to this URL and see if it works - Forum

If it does I will do some work in the background to make this URL fully operational across the site. Let me know?
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 274348

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 23:09

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 23:09
David, I reckon its just the category heading that the prohibited site has been placed in, same thing at work, although EO is allowed there still.

One thing they do bar access to tho is sites that are only IP addresses rather than the resolves url name. Apparently it is a sign is a lazily built site (their words not mine) and they bar access.

i.e. 202.139.234.85 instead of www.exploroz.com

I dunno what it all means tho, being the computer guru that I are.

FollowupID: 538047

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 18:25

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 18:25
Mate!!
I just wouldnt stand for it!
Resign imediately!

Unless of course you can blackmail the IT guru.
Ive found if you get a bit of dirt on the IT person, or find an area were they need your skills you can general use good old blackmail.......cruel but fair.

AnswerID: 274429

Reply By: PradOz - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 19:28

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 19:28
my problem is harder (for me anyway)

boss has blocked access to internet for some and me its through my work laptop somehow. when I am home I just plug it into my net cables and off I go no worries. At work no such luck. They have restricted who gets what. They were supposed to change mine according to the general manager and it should have been done by now but still waiting (they are always slow). If only I knew what setting to change as then i'd plug in at work and off I'd go. with 5 IT guys they wouldnt even care if it was done as they would think one of the others had gone and done it. anyway,

waiting waiting waiting - yawn .......
AnswerID: 274435

Reply By: South - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 20:36

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 20:36
Best tip I can give you is to be friendly with your IT department. Im a Systems Engineer so I control everything, and if someone has an attitude problem then they go directly to the bottom of the list, and on the flip side, if your nice and understanding you get helped much sooner... It also helps if your good looking (females only thanks)...

Proxies are a waste of space, for all the configuration that goes into integrating them into your network, people just whinge and whine, so they just allow all. Why invest 5k into something your not going to use in a months time!
AnswerID: 274439

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:25

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:25
Wow- i didnt realise my comments would generate so many replies. Will try all options and definitely the blackmail option

AnswerID: 274513