4wd recovery around Perth

Submitted: Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 21:26
ThreadID: 52134 Views:5446 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Just a quick one.Im off for a couple of days around seabird and lanclien and have been cut down to one 4wd.My mates Patrol (MQ P40 motor) is having power loss under load so we will be taking my GQ and towing a full trailer.We are going right off the main tracks so I would like to know if anybody knows of a 4wd recovery company working this area? A mobile contact number would be good.I have full faith in the mighty GQ(TD 4.2) but best to be prepared for the unexpected.Just to put my mind at rest.Carrying the UHF and GPS so location is not a problem.
Cheers Niffty
GQ HQ+ 720 ute Perth

Reply By: Sludgie - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 22:03

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 22:03
Gidday Niffty,
If memory serves me right there is a bloke in Lancelin that recovers vehicles for a hefty price.His phone number is on signs in the area and I think you can google for Lancelin 4wd recovery.

Sludgie
AnswerID: 274460

Follow Up By: Member -NIFFTY (WA) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 22:14

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 22:14
Cheers Sludgie
We have been out in this area many times before but have not seen any signs before.Thanks for the tip.I will try another google and see what happens.Money doesnt really count if you go tits up. :-) Ive got a business to run and have to get back on time.
Cheers Niffty
FollowupID: 538036

Reply By: brummie pete - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 23:21

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 23:21
i have definetly seen signs dotted around the back of the dunes with amobile number for recovery ,but i dare say there is probably a number at the entrance to the dunes area if i remember correctly .pete
AnswerID: 274467

Reply By: brummie pete - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 23:22

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 23:22
i have definetly seen signs dotted around the back of the dunes with amobile number for recovery ,but i dare say there is probably a number at the entrance to the dunes area if i remember correctly .pete
AnswerID: 274468

Reply By: Adapi - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 23:32

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 23:32
Nifty

you get into trouble give me or BigPete a call we will come and get ya,

Ozzie
AnswerID: 274470

Follow Up By: Member -NIFFTY (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:31

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:31
Done and I will supply the liquid refreshments.
Cheers Niffty
FollowupID: 538096

Reply By: time waster - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 08:02

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 08:02
Invest in a set of maxtrax $295 now and you won't regret it we used them 4 times the other weekend down at robe and they were just amazing
AnswerID: 274484

Follow Up By: Member -NIFFTY (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:23

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:23
Im not so worried about getting stuck as we usually get ourselfs out It is more of a "if some thing goes bang" senario.
Cheers Niffty
FollowupID: 538094

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 14:08

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 14:08
Depends on where you get stuck time watser... I was out with an aquaintance and his new Disco and Tvan who had the shiny new orange things and he managed to bury them deep in the Simpson dune he got stuck on...
FollowupID: 538126

Follow Up By: time waster - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 18:19

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 18:19
I think if you are towing you would want two sets and lay them on the track about where you would reckon you would get to on the dune and use them to get extra grip half way up.

Yes it would be a big ask for the maxtrax to give you enough traction from being bogged on the dune with a trailer in tow, you could always unhitch the trailer use the maxtrax to get the car over then pull the camper over.

All great fun though.
FollowupID: 538164

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 18:30

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 18:30
He had four of them and was looking at other potential uses for them after that experience...

If he'd spent the same amount of time digging his car and letting his tyres down in the first instance he'd probably not have needed them - and in any case, the snatch would have been quicker although it was with two Chev V8s cruisers.
FollowupID: 538166

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 08:34

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 08:34
Would be a sad day indeed if you couldnt get help from from other 4bys around if the need arose
AnswerID: 274489

Follow Up By: Member -NIFFTY (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:30

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:30
Mate we have been up this way before and not seen another 4by for days during the week.Thats what we like about it.The only thing we see is cray boats.A really well hidden spot and about a 15 km walk to lancelin along the beach.Can on occasions pick up others on UHF. We should be fine.
Cheers Niffty
FollowupID: 538095

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:06

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:06
Worst case scenario, call the SES, thats what they're there for.
AnswerID: 274510

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:24

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:24
Of course the SES volunteers have nothing better to do.
I would hope that if you resorted to calling the SES for assistance from getting stuck whilst 4wheel driving that a suitable donation be made to the local group that recovered you.

FollowupID: 538085

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:34

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:34
My Uncle is manager for a SES unit....he has a huge slush/shh fund from rescuing bogged 4X4....he is in country area...it is quiet profitable...in a non-profitable way....no price is put on a ' rescue" but some people are very grateful for being pulled out.

FollowupID: 538097

Follow Up By: Member -NIFFTY (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:36

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 11:36
Yeh I would not trouble them with this sort of thing.And I dont like orange otherwise I would join. :-) boy I would look bad it that gear.
Cheers Niffty
FollowupID: 538098

Follow Up By: Member -NIFFTY (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:15

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 12:15
Oh yeh and I forgot to mention the trailer Im towing is an ex SES job.
Cheers Niffty
FollowupID: 538105