auto or manual
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 07:28
billellen
Hi everyone- We have recently purchased a Nissan Pathfinder STL 2.5 T/D auto series 3 which we are very happy with. After Christmas we will be picking up our new caravan and leaving home - the caravan should weigh around 2.5 tonne when loaded -
what we would like to have some advice on is when we have to pull the van up a very steep
hill e.g.
Toowoomba climb, should we leave the vehicle in auto and let the motor do the work on its own or should we change back to manual and use the gears - any advice would be greatly appreciated - thanks a lot in advance. Cheers.
Reply By: Jimbo - VIC - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 08:23
Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 08:23
I always change manually when I see an appropriate
hill approaching. This way I am in the sweet spot as I hit the
hill and sail happily over.
I find leaving the auto to do its own thing, by the time it changes down it is struggling and then often needs to change down a further gear.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:00
Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:00
My wife asks "why change manually when the Auto is designed to pick the best gear for the conditions ?"
But I can look out the window and see the approaching
hill and make the change to the best gear BEFORE the
hill, while the engine is still under light load.
Reply By: KSV. - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:14
Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:14
Auto sux for towing. Actually for everything. It just personal opinion and lots of people reckon other way around.
“Manual” in autobox is not manual – does not matter what advertisement says - but rather semi-manual. I.e. it still can shift by itself if certain condition met.
But you still be much better of if you downshift it upfront, thus as mention in previous post try to eliminate possibility shift down even future.
Also be advised, that towing such heavy load by auto without proper external oil cooler is asking for trouble.
Happy towing
Serg
Follow Up By: Member - andrew G (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:06
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:06
Hi R51 has excellent Oil cooler as standard dosent need any extra cooler
Trans will stay in 4th or change down to 3RD if it needs too in Manual Mode..Unless the wind is behind you. Weight for pathy and van dosnt seem to matter just the wind resistence of van.
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:50
Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 09:50
Auto Mate, definitely Auto.
When your've got a can of coke in one hand and a sloppy hot pie in the other the last thing you need is to be playing with the shifter...lol.
Cheers....Lionel.
Reply By: lifeisgood - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:17
Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:17
Thats a heavy van for the 2.5 pathfinder. You would expect about 250kg at the ball. There seems to be some problems with fitting weight distribution equipment to the factory towbar hitch receiver on the current model. Without this levelling gear you could have a sagging rear end. Worth asking a few more questions of dealers and looking for old posts on this site.
Someone may be able to pin point them. There is a pathfinder web site somewhere.
The Patrol may have been a better match for 2.5tonnes of van.
Just my opinion but I would have thought 1800kg was enough for the little diesel. Dont forget the headwinds on a full size van can be tough.
I would drop a gear to get the revs into the max torque band for the vehicle in advance of the major
hill and keep it in that rev band as you climb.
Good luck wi
Follow Up By: billellen - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:34
Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 10:34
to lifeisgood - thanks for your reply - according to the book the 2.5ltr Pathfinder will tow up to 3000kgs - we have already fitted a Hayman Reece tow bar and WDH - friends of ours tow a 22ft van with same vehicle and say it is a breeze.
Reply By: awill4x4 - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 13:43
Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 13:43
With those sorts of weights get an auxilliary front mounted transmission cooler and an auto trans temp gauge fitted so you can monitor just how hard your auto is working under various conditions and adjust your driving to suit.
Try to tow with the torque convertor locked up as this minimises the heat transfer to the auto trans fluid. I don't know whether your auto has t/convertor lockup in 3rd gear but that would be the ideal gear to tow in if your t/convertor will lock up in it.
Regards Andrew.
Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:22
Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:22
Definitely use manual changes. That is what they are there for. As was said above, the auto will struggle in the higher gear then likely have to change down again. Use manual, get to a good speed for the
hill and cruise up at that speed.
Reply By: Member - andrew G (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 16:57
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 16:57
Hi Billellen Congrates on getting Pathfinder. We have just compleated 18,000 km towing a full offroad van halfway round oz for 3 months Van weighs in at around 2200kl. We also were worried about towbar breaking off have heard heaps of stuff about it. But bar was great you are not allowd to use a levling device with the Nissan bar.
We took van over corrugations and sand mud holes etc etc if it was going to break we would of done it only diff you may have we have a very flexible coupling on the van.(cant remember the name of it)
As for towing in Auto or manual we did both tring to conserv fuel made no differnce to fuel economy, met heaps of othe Pathy owners on the trip we all talked about the same thing Fuel economy. 20 lt 100km average... not great when you have a small
tank 330 km till low fuel light comes on.
Nissan dont like people towing in 5th in the manual mode, that shouldnt be a problem as most of the time it just stays in 4th even when it says 5th on dashboard, you will soon see what i mean when you drive.
All in all was a great 4by for the trip, Met another R51 owner who really wanted his Pathy to stay in 5th towing an AVAN, he got Nissan to recalibrate gearbox, I asked Nissan about this and they Said NOWAY.. will stuff transmission stay in 4th...
Hope this helps and have a great time....
Reply By: Member - andrew G (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:18
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 17:18
Billellen Forgot to mention that The Manual Mode in Pathfinder is great for going downhill. It will slow the van down and take the pressure of the Brakes in Pathy and Brakes on Van manual works really
well using the engine to break like all diesle 4bys..
You will be impressed by Perfomance of Pathfinder going up hills too
no way it struggled i actually could go past most Rigs up
hill on Twin lane Bitumen just shift down to 3RD (yes it revs a bit but never stresses out) You will be plesantly supprised how it climbs hills.
Patrols are great for Offroad Rock climbing Better articulation etc etc but as for Towing no way. Pathfinder is great tow car.