Things we do for mates

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 18:44
ThreadID: 52157 Views:3224 Replies:11 FollowUps:2
How many of you have ever had a phone call in the middle of the night saying "can ya help me out? im stuck"....

A few weeks ago on a saturday night, i'm just about to climb into bed for the night, when the phone rings. It's 12:45am.

The voice on the other end says "hello Dave? It's Kerley... I'm somewhere between Port Gawler & Thompson's Beach & the Droopy is bogged to the diffs, can ya tow me out?"

So i wake up no. 3 son (shane adelaide) & tell him to get his bum outta bed to come help me, then i ring no. 4 son (Littleborgy) to get him to come out, too.

We load up the ute with shovels, hi lift jack, planks of wood, ropes, and anything else we could think of to pull the heavy POS out... LOL. Meanwhile, Littleborgy is doing the same with his GQ at his place...

We head out together & meet Kerley on the track to Thompson's (he started walking towards Port Wakefield Rd, so he could direct us to where he was stuck). When we asked him WTF he was doing there at that time of night, the reply was "I'm here trying to help a mate's brother out... He's bogged too... about 1km from where i'm stuck".

Anyway, we proceed to where he's stuck in the black, stinky muddy, rotten seaweed crap & sure enough, he's well & truly stuck. "How the $%^& are we gonna get it outta there, Pete?" "$%^&ed if i know" comes the reply.

So we dug a hole at the back of the Droopy, dropped the spare tyre in there & used it as a base plate for the hi lift so we could get the planks of wood under the rear wheels. After that, we used Littleborgy's GQ with a 1/2" thick by 30m long cable to gently pull him out. We were all quite surprised at how easily the GQ pulled it out. Job well done boys! So we thought...........

4am... "You reckon you can help me pull out the other fella's Patrol?" Asks Pete. "Nope, do it yourself" we joke... We find another track behind the dunes & Pete in the Droopy makes a track up thru the dunes to get on hard ground within 500m of where the Patrol is stuck.

Basically we done the same as we did with the Droopy (hi lift, etc), then we were able to use the PTO winch on the front of the Droopy with the cable & about 300m of 1" thick rope. Very slow process with the PTO winch, but it did the job.

I know some of you will ask "how come you didn't use the winch to pull the Droopy out in the first place?" but you had to be there to know why we couldn't.

So there ya go... That's the sorta thing we do for our mates... I planned to go to the 4WD show that day, but we didn't get home until 7am that morning, so there went that idea.

Cheers.........Dave

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 19:21

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 19:21
Good on you Dave (and boys)

Having been on the receiving end of a post midnight recovery, I can tell you it means sh1tloads to see your mates come to the rescue when you're stuck high and dry - I didn't get home until 10am the next day, and my mates all missed a days work.

I tried the 'thanks mate', and 'let me pay for fuel', and 'I'll shout you tea'

All I could get from them was "Toohey's New - What Mates Do"

Pretty special
AnswerID: 274572

Reply By: bware - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 20:35

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 20:35
Borgy, That's a good story.

I too have been the 'rescuer' and 'the rescued' during the early hours. Good on you. It's s h i t at the time but we all remember it :-)))
AnswerID: 274581

Reply By: PeterInSA - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 20:46

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 20:46
Kerley and his mate were luckly their vehicles did not go under water on high tide.

Dave it looks like you beat the tide.

AnswerID: 274584

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 20:52

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 20:52
Forgot to mention , as we were pulling the Patrol the tide was on its way in, water was lapping at the sills
Also Kerley had one of his mates do some work on my boat motor the week b4, and i still had to give him the $100.00 for it , needless to say he wouldnt accept it from me.

Cheers........Dave
FollowupID: 538184

Reply By: vuduguru - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:26

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:26
Good on ' ya for being a mate. Some say they are but it's times like those...
Remind hm he's owned!
AnswerID: 274588

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:55

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:55
Then SWMBO says "What were you doing all night???? I thought you were going to mow the lawn today!!!"

"You can go all the way out there in the middle of the night for that no good %&^% but you can't (insert any menial task you can think of here) for me!!!!!"

It's what mates do but the girls will never understand. Actually I'm not sure I understand but I do it simply 'cause its what you do for a mate.

Reminds me of a Banjo Paterson poem called the Mylora Elopement. Too long to put in here but it is a story about blokes and what we do.

Love hearing that stuff, thanks Dave.

AnswerID: 274593

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:15

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:15
Been there done that and had the same feelings of worth and thankfulness. Life is full of opportunities to help

Gr8 story Borgy

AnswerID: 274601

Reply By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:47

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:47
While a friend will drive a hundred miles to bail you out of jail in the middle of the night.
Your best mate will be sitting beside you in the cell saying "That was bloody great, let's do it again"
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

AnswerID: 274618

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 03:03

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 03:03
I think Borgy deserves the all round good guy group hug award...so altogether splithshiiiiit!!!
AnswerID: 274624

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:34

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:34
Well thank you Mr Hairy , that was ever so sweet ....you made me feel all warm and fuzzy.....

FollowupID: 538258

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:00

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:00
Good on you for helping your mates out!!!!!
Reminds me of an incident a couple of years ago.....Got a knock on the door one Friday at 5 ish.... mate Pete is standing there saying his Mav is down to the left headlight in a bog not far from my place...... now Pete's truck has 8" coils.... so that's a serious bog he is in! We go down there and about 15 minutes later he is out of the mire on the end of my snatch strap. We drive to the end of the track..... which is the end nearest my house and furthest from his, he thanks us and then heads back down the track to go home..... a few minutes later, he calls us on the radio,..... "errr... I'm stuck again!" we drive back in to find him back in the swamp! We spent 2 hours trying all sorts of recoveries involving our Patrol and his wife's Four Runner..... but the Mav wasn't going' anywhere...... Eventually we gave up and rang another mate who has a winch on the front of his Mav..... he heads over, on the way some clown in a new Falcon sedan side swiped him, tearing up the side of the Falcon but not doing any damage to the Mav, He arrives and assesses the situation, runs out the winch cable and 10 minutes later Pete is back on the track again. This time we insisted he take the long way round and not head back through the bog!!!...... by now it was after 8:30.... 3 1/2 hours after Pete got stuck... THE FIRST TIME!!!! we gave Pete stick about that for ages!!!!!!

That boggy track is now a road that I drive on a few times a week, and it brings back the memory of that Friday night every time I drive down it!!!!
AnswerID: 274653

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:46

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:46
I still think of that night pretty often, and know that if i were stuck & called Kerley, he'd help me out, its what mates do (plus, we gotta have bragging rights LOL).

Forgot to mention in there dad, that when we got the Patrol out & Kerley came back down from the dunes, he got stuck again, but this time it was just a snatch job & he came out easily (mighty GQ to the rescue again)

Also, when the Patrol was coming down, he decided to take the same track that Kerley did & he also got stuck... Kerley, wanting to make it an even score (2 recoveries to the GQ, 2 to the Droopy), hooked up the snatch & pulled him out...

Cheers, Brad

P.S. I've got a photo of the Patrol's wheel full of mud & crap on my phone... If i can work out how to put it on here, i'll put it in my rig pics

AnswerID: 274663

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:03

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:03
Was wondering when that recovery was going to be put on here, would've been good to help out but my phone was playing up and the phone didn't ring.

Well written

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 274858