OT. The people that want work related issues done around their property but arn'

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:32
ThreadID: 52161 Views:3072 Replies:13 FollowUps:18
Just getting so sick of some people wanting work done in regard to excavation ,landscaping etc, asking for a price !, excepting the quote, and on the completion of work admitting their happy as with the job, but have only got half the funds!!. all my life if i have had any work done from a contractor of any discription the money has always been there, providing the job has been done to satisfaction. I'm convinced some so called australians will use and abuse others, their predecessors are rolling in their graves.! It's a bloody shame, but in small business its amazing what goes on.

Axle with the Chits again.

Reply By: Louie the fly - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:08

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:08
I had a guy come in earlier in the year. He wanted an enclosure made for a piece of plant located outside. Having been in the industry for many years I know what is required in the way of access, ventilation, ducting, etc. So I said I would give him a quote. He said no, just do it. I insisted on the quote, knowing what some of these small wineries are like. He accepted the quote, we did the job, invoiced it and he came in and complained about the price. What a DH! I told my boss I will never do another job for this guy. I also told the customer. He aint been back & we are still busy as without his crappy little jobs.
AnswerID: 274598

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:26

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:26
Louie, Its always a prob with this sort of customer!, You don't miss them in the good times, but when its slow a little bit of money is better than none. A condidriction to what i posted, but sometimes these turkeys have to be suffered. But i know where your coming from!!.

FollowupID: 538199

Reply By: vuduguru - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:53

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:53
Hi Axle,

After 15 years landscaping I got sick of the unpaid bills and got a proper job. Guess who's self employed again in a different industry.
Doh!
AnswerID: 274608

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:58

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:58
Hmmmm!, its a Worry!.......Lol.

Axle.

FollowupID: 538206

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:12

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:12
Hey Axle.

I don't know if this helps but, Any tour booking or internet booking we ask for a credit card # to secure the booking, we charge the card 2/3 days prior and if it doesn't go through we ring and get another # or open there seats up for sale.

We often get request for private charters, When you give them the price you often get silence for a while then they ask if you have something cheaper, they want the car to themselves but don't want to pay for it.

So perhaps for your smaller jobs, get a credit card machine and ask for their #, Tell them they can pay by cheque or cash on completion but you have that # if they don't.

Hope this may help.

Cheers Steve.

AnswerID: 274612

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:39

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:39
I agree with the Credit Card thing - 99 out of 100 people are happy to pay with CC, because to them that means they are not really spending money - it just gets lost in the numbers at the end of the month - it doesn't matter if they owe $20,000 or $30,000.

99 out of 100 people do not have any cash at all, many feel unsafe carrying it or even having it in the house.

So yes, just add the bank's cut onto the bill plus a fine for not paying cash, and you can charge their card even before you start work since they won't notice when it disappears into their total owing...
FollowupID: 538212

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:10

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:10
There are risks with that Steve... without sighting their credit card and knowing it is legit, and without a signed contract with them it is hard to prove that they knew your cancellation policy.

Your bank's chargeback will not only strip you of the funds, but a $60 per transaction fine, even though you did all the right things.

If you can get them to fax you a signed "mail order" form you have more power to avoid the chargeback.

HTH
Andrew who finds altogether too many slimy folks, but still tends to start with the premise most people are good.
FollowupID: 538215

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:52

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:52
Hey Andrew

I haven't had a problem in 7 years of business with credit cards, either internet or over the phone.

If it is a internet booking they have an email of out terms and conditions, with our over the phone bookings people are made aware of the conditions.

We hold our own manifest so internet bookings are done by myself or my wife, phone bookings are done the same way, even though we can't tell if a card is stolen unless it is declined we haven't had a problem as yet.

Living in Jabiru I often need parts for Darwin, so I ring and pay for it by card and then a mate owns a coach company and delivers them FOC.

When we take a card we take full name,date, phone # as well write phone order on the slip the bank will accept this as a signature , most of our booking are advanced so if a card is stolen then it would probably be reported before we process it.

our system is EFTPOS not the slide machine, so we have permission from the bank to take phone orders, so if there is a problem the bank will sort it.LOL.

Cheers Steve.

PS : how did you get on with Bill from OAMPS.

FollowupID: 538218

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:57

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:57
I must be that 1 out of 100
i had solar hart installed a few months back and when i walked in with 4 1/2 g to pay they sort of didnt know what to do with it i guess not handling cash is easier for well set up businesses these days
FollowupID: 538235

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:30

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:30
I've not had the problem either Steve, but did run an internet payments business in a past life and saw a lot of it, including with travel industry.

Bill never ended up getting me the quote - on the face of it he thought my existing insurance was pretty much on the mark give or take a little.
FollowupID: 538240

Reply By: Hoyks - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:33

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:33
When I was doing contractor type work, our worst customers were Barristers and the like. Blokes with a big flash house, $100000 car, a trophy wife and no cash........... apparently.

I did a job on a yacht once for a dodgy looking bloke that looked like a poor mans Alby Mangles.
It was a difficult to access and summer in Townsville so was hot as. We charged double, with a bit on top of that, and had no arguments.
When we were done I wrote up the invoice expecting to hear the old 'can we have 30 days', when the bloke pulls out a roll and starts pealing off hundreds....He had nothing smaller.
AnswerID: 274613

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 01:25

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 01:25
"We charged double, with a bit on top of that"

thats how it works in WA at the moment. Then they dont ring back and tell you they cant do it til you have to chase the tradie.
FollowupID: 538219

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:27

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:27
"a dodgy looking bloke that looked like a poor mans Alby Mangles"

OMGoodness Alby Mangels ALREADY looked like a poor mans Alby Mangels, HOW COULD IT BE WORSE hahahahaha

Now thats got my mental pictures all discomflabulated

FollowupID: 538254

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:18

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:18
"discomflabulated"...now your having me on Bonz....
FollowupID: 538303

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 19:59

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 19:59
noooo MN1 I was definitely discomflabulated, and my vonblurterdiverter was misaligned for nigh on 3600 milliseconds

FollowupID: 538320

Reply By: mfewster - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 07:11

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 07:11
Axle, anyone who gets work done and then re-negs on a decent job etc is beneath contempt. If there is going to be an issue paying, it should be raised before the worker is out of pocket. But I have to take issue with your "so called Australians" statement. This is like the pollies who want to label everything they don't agree with as "unaustralian". This is suggesting that everything about Australians is noble and admirable etc etc. This is just legend and every country has the same legends about themselves and their soldiers etc etc. "Real Australians" are just as heroic, good, bad, scum, petty crims and outright crooks as every other nationality on Earth.
AnswerID: 274630

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 07:25

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 07:25
"Real Australians" are just as heroic, good, bad, scum, petty crims and outright crooks as every other nationality on Earth."

Now that's just unAustralian......LOL
FollowupID: 538229

Reply By: Batman69 - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:45

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:45
Axle,

Yeah I reckon you are right but for every story like your's there maybe one like mine...

Get a quote for an excavation job. It was $500, not a big job.

Guy doesn't turn up on time, then lobs two days later, he is pushed for time so puts an excavator and two tippers on the job so he can get it done quicker to suit his time pressures with other jobs. Doesn't get the job finished as quoted. I am left to fix the rest up by hiring a dingo digger.

I have a pile of rubble I need removed from completing the job so I ask him an hourly rate to remove he says $80 an hour and says it will take 45mins. Arrives the next day removes the rubble in 25 mins.

I recieve an invoice for $1200 two weeks later. I get charged double for the initial job because he ran with two tippers to get job done quicker plus rubble dump charges. Then charges me $200 for the rubble removal cause he has a two hour minimum fee he neglected to tell me about.

I paid him the quoted amount of $500 + gst and the $200, I am not impressed and tell everyone I ever talk to in town what a rip off dodgy prick he is.

All I wanted was a fair job at a fair price.

Bottom line is in business and in life in general there are always people willing to take others for a free ride.

I hope you don't get too many more customers like the one you mentioned.

Good Luck
AnswerID: 274635

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:49

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:49

We have a medium size plumbing business operating out of the
Gold Coast, 12 years ago, we had over over EIGHTY THOUSAND
DOLLARS owing in bad debts, which had accumulated over a period
of 3 years, we still had to pay our bills ect, it was a nightmare,

The money wasnt owed from the normal mums & dads clients,
it was owed by the so called wealthy white shoe brigade,

I took a month off from my plumbing business, and went debt
collecting, with a vengeance, I would leave one of my work trucks
in there drive way so they couldnt get there bmw,s out or mercs ect. I would make such a commotion in the street and shame them into paying. I lost a bit of skin now and again, but it was better than losing our house. now I only contract to government
agencies.

Daza
AnswerID: 274636

Follow Up By: Member - pot hole (SA) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:45

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:45
Hi Daza

Gold coast sunny place shady people.
FollowupID: 538527

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:10

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:10
Hi Axle, Its all part of "Business" I suppose.

Ive been self employed for many many years and have copped my fair share of bad debts. They do leave you out of pocket and at times, very disappointed because your've been taken advantage of. Sometimes the cost and time needed to recover the debt out weighs the debt itself. It certainly hardens ones approach to business.

As anyone who is self employed will know its virtualy a 24/7 thing. Its basically your whole life. Your an accountant, receptionist, tax collecter, paperwork jockey, tradesman, labourer and chief coffee maker. Many sleepless nights to boot. But when that big cheque or progress payment comes in its suddenly all worth it. [ well it is before you pay your suppliers, GST, provisional tax etc...hehehe]

Any way, just my Sunday morning ritual....coffee, ciggie, quick brouse on EO and off to work.....lol.

Cheers...Lionel.
AnswerID: 274638

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:36

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:36
Oh! and just an after thought, a lot of folk seem to be under the impression that if your self employed you must be rolling in $s.

Most self employed people I know [ in our community at least] earn around the average wage, give or take a few dollars.
So a bad debt can and does leave a large hole in ones income.

Lionel.
FollowupID: 538242

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:32

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:32
Lionel,

The biggest issue I was told to me when I stated out by my uncle is cash flow, meaning accounts to go out asap and followed up if past due date asap.

I guess in 25 years to only get stung twice I figure was good (two to many I feel) I found out it was costing me money to chase up bad debts so I now use an agency to nail there ass.

Not that I have any issues now.

I do agree bad debt on self employed people can cripple a business.

FollowupID: 538306

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:19

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:19
My old boss gave me some advise when I started out for myself. If you give a quote and they want to haggle with the price RUN AWAY, and if the person does not want to give a deposit up front RUN AWAY also.

The only two times I have been caught (small amounts under 10000) was when I had no work and I needed to work to feed the family. In the end it cost me money and I was worse off then before I did the jobs.

I had to tell the wife one year as it happened a week before xmas the person did not pay and thus we have NO money for Christmas. Not something I enjoyed with a couple of kids.

I'd rather not do the job and struggle on than do a job and be worse off and deal with low life mud dwelling gecko's.

PS sorry to hear of your customer, I now have a very nice Debt collector a person does not pay my next phone call is to him, has never failed yet :):).

AnswerID: 274641

Reply By: stocky - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:58

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:58
mobile EFTPOS - great invention :-)
AnswerID: 274651

Reply By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:19

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:19
My dad had a successful specialised engineering business for nearly 30 years. He said that he would rather go broke sitting on the front verandah having a beer than go broke for some tight customer. He even told one once (multinational mining equipment manufacturer). From then on he always got a fair dollar for the work he did for them. Long term relationship building in business is the most important thing. Once they know you're not ripping them off they are generally good.
AnswerID: 274654

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 20:32

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 20:32
mate, i hear your pain. i don't even start a job unless i got 60% up front. been caught to many times. i just tell them thats the way it is or get someone else.
AnswerID: 274699

Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 07:49

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 07:49
I had this all the time in my previous business - and all were from non Australian background , and was what eventually broke me( amongst other things )

all i can suggest is a staggered payment - if the job is over a set period of time ( more than one day ) at each stage of the job you collect a payment - they don't pay then you don't continue with the job. Get it on paper ( in the quote ) If they don't agree to it in the quote , then thats a good indication they don't have the money , so dont look at it as having lost a job ......

get bank cheques also - not personal ones - if they winge about the price of say 4 cheques then you say you will cover the cost ( but obviously pre factor that into the quote) there about $7 each from memory - very little to pay for guaranteed payment in whole

Boc

AnswerID: 274736

Follow Up By: tdf - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 08:35

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 08:35
Bank chqs are not secure anymore the person giveing you the chq has 3 days to cancel the chq same as personal chq.
FollowupID: 538366

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 09:35

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 09:35
wow , always thought bank cheques were the most reliable payment source other than cash .

i guess the only sure things are Taxes and Death ..... everything else is hit and miss

Boc

FollowupID: 538375

Follow Up By: Member - pot hole (SA) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:53

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:53
Ozboc that's good advice,

at least that way you don't end up at the end of a job with zip.
FollowupID: 538529