GREENDOG gets done over by the boys in blue

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 21:51
ThreadID: 52162 Views:4197 Replies:14 FollowUps:42
Well there i was drivining my 8 tonne v8 super car last Friday. Just out side a little farming community called Manoora.when i got pulled over by an un marked cop car for being on the the phone.When the cop told me what i was being pulled up for i nearly bleep me self laughin.25 mins i spent on the side of the road bitchin with them saying no no no,i then explianed the missses might ring or sms me about now as she has just finished work maybe thats what you seen me checkin me phone,the cop then says no you were on the phone,they then check in and out going calls but nothin,then they search the v8 nothin and me gettin bleep off. They give me the phone back and it rings it's me wife i answer it while in conversation with the 2 coppers,then as soon as i answer it it cuts out NO SERVICE me just about LOL,then the young copper pulls he's phone out and see's oh i've got no service either,they still give me a Caution for being on the phone. Man talk about a loud of S#%t.You really have to wonder about why they are out there in the first place after going through crap like that.cheer's GREENDOG

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:00

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:00
You seem to be admitting to checking the phone to see if there was a message while driving.

In Victoria, holding the phone and checking the screen is regarded as using the phone, because it means the driver is not concentrating on the road. It doesn't matter (quite correctly) if the phone hasn't rung, or if there is no signal. You can still create or attempt to create a text message when there is no signal.

I'm happy that you didn't run headlong into someone's son or daughter with your 8 tonne truck while you were not paying attention, and it sounds like you deserved to be pulled over.
AnswerID: 274595

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:30

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:30
I'd say you would be a copper with that kind of reply,and yeah i check the phone from time to time don't you ? but not when he was giong past me as you can pick them out a mile a way,and yes it is allso offence to have your phone in your hand even if you are not on the phone.
But to be pulled over and be accused of being on a phone in a non service area bets the crap out off me and the only reason they searched the v8 is cause they thought i had another phone,
FollowupID: 538200

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:39

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:39
No, I'm not a copper, and no, I don't handle my phone while driving.

I'm not that important that whoever is ringing can't wait until I want to talk to them.

And I'm just not in favour of 8 ton trucks running head on into another vehicle.

To then look for sympathy about getting what you deserve from the police on a forum is just plain dumb.
FollowupID: 538201

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:53

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 22:53
Well i don't fancy running into another vechile either,thats probally why i wasn't on the phn,and i wasn't looking for sympathy why look for sympathy when you haven't done any thing wrong,I was just posting same thing that happened to me
FollowupID: 538205

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:55

Saturday, Dec 01, 2007 at 23:55
Greendog

Fess up and Shut up!

Be a cool dude and just admit you were watching porno vid clips to pass the time on a boring stretch of the road.

FollowupID: 538214

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 01:38

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 01:38
Lay-de-Loosie.
Good to see a dash of humour injected. (Almost restores one's faith. Almost.)

Got done just N of Hay in Jan,1973. Went past a purple XU1 and a cattle truck, just before the gravel started.
Probably scared the crap out of the driver, 'cause he was watching his prey, not his mirrors.
Two of the most humungous cops I've ever seen unfolded out of that little Torana, both with sidearms. One got me, 'n his mate got the truck.

Buggerit! I didn't know coppers drove stuff like that: or that Civvies were armed right back here in Aust!
Anyway, I copped a fine (not sure what for), and still chuckle about it.
Onya Greendog - hang in there.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 538220

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:30

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:30
GREENDOG
There's a huge difference between an office Johnny or a Mother taking kids to school to a professional Truck Driver, Truckies manoeuvre the vehicles through intersections , Cities, and Mountain ranges while using the CB mike in one hand, steering wheel and fag in the other , bottle of Coke between the legs, No problems, been like that for years.So a phone to a truckie is just another part of the job,
I would be more concerned if I knew a driver was on drugs than using a phone .

FollowupID: 538231

Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:48

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:48
Gerhard 1,

I notice in your statement that you don't handle the phone whilst driveing. Perhaps one could imply that maybe you are handling something else !
FollowupID: 538247

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:51

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:51
And what was the point of that stupid comment?

Keep your smut to yourself.
FollowupID: 538248

Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:09

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:09
Gerhardp 1,

Crikey we are touchey. Not only are you a book of knowledge of whats right & wrong, but a converted Christian to boot ! Looks like were all in for a ear bashing ! Praise the Lord. I shall go & give myself 6 strokes of the cane for being so smutty.
FollowupID: 538251

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:57

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:57
HAHAHA, Don't forget your leather collar before you go to town with the cane Shane !
ROTFLMAO at that image !!!

Pezza
FollowupID: 538263

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:45

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 00:45
Hey Greendog,

I reckon they should've booked you as you have admitted to looking at the phone...that is enough...read the rules. And when you see an accident with a dead body from someone "checking their phone" (who has never had an accident in their life) then you might feel different.

Stop ya whinging mate and get on with it, YOU GOT A CAUTION :)

The COPS are out there trying to do the right thing by the good people and if it takes a ticket or two, then so be it. How many times have you got away with something...anything... ????

Oh well, this message will probably stir you up a little, but I am being factual friend. be cool :)

AnswerID: 274617

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 02:49

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 02:49
BOOO HOO get over it ya sook!!!!

Ya f@rked up and got caught!!!!
AnswerID: 274622

Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 06:21

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 06:21
Not sideing with anyone, but what's the differance between checking a phone, changing a CD or cassette, changing a station or mucking around with one of those MP3 players. You still take your eyes off the road. Yeh ! & I used to push Semi's ! I think some people tend to be overreact & pretend to be JC or Osama with a major prediction of a disaster about to happen. Everyone is guilty of taking there eyes off the road for various reasons or you ain't a male!
AnswerID: 274628

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:40

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 08:40
Shane
Eyes are sorta moved away from the road too when a bloody Bee gets between your back and the seat , I use to smoke back then and thought a spark was burning my shirt, brings one back to reallity when that happens , or the red end of the fag drops off onto your lap , both of those experiences happened while driving a Roadtrain Car carrier....oh and another one was big Black and Yellow Wasp on my shirtless Hip.....ACTION

FollowupID: 538232

Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:21

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:21
Should have deleted the "be" before overreact !

Doug T (FNQ),

Totally agree. Got caught by a walloper years ago for speeding & with a schooner in my hand driveing down the road. I had a mate in the cab & quickly passed the glass to him but it hit the wheel & dropped the contents over my lap. The copper climbed the steps, smelt the grog, asked me to get out & then told his mate I was that drunk that I'd bleep myself. Ended up in Liverpool copshop overnight & I wasn't even drunk. I just think some people tend to throw in adverse comments in regard to the above Post when in all reality some of them have never driven any thing bigger than a Dinky Toy & with the same road experience to boot. We all tend to have a winge about coppers & everyones entitled to it without the do gooders.
FollowupID: 538237

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:15

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:15
Gerhardp1 And Dunco,

Are you two clowns for real !
I suppose you're going to tell us that you've never taken your eyes off the road to look at a billboard or read a street sign or heaven forbid move your eyes inside your vehicle to read your gauges !!
Pair of twits.

Pezza
AnswerID: 274639

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:22

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:22
Pezza,

LOL that woke you up. Good to see you're still with us :)))

FollowupID: 538238

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:29

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:29
I reckon nervous people like those two are a danger on the road and should have their right to drive removed.
FollowupID: 538239

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:07

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:07
Trucky used to have a good saying about removal from the gene pool that I think is apt. Makes you wonder what regime some grew up under doesn't it. Make a kangaroo court polite.
FollowupID: 538264

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 17:02

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 17:02
Ha ha, heya Gramps, how are you young fella ?
Always been here mate, just like most long term regulars (except for those constantly jibbering, flag thieving Croweaters, some of whom seem to be able to make a humurous story about a melting ice cube or spilt water:-) I've taken to lurking more than posting as of late.
Find it easier to bite my tongue most times, not to mention the extra rest my two pointer fingures get lol.
The two comedians above must've caught me on a good day :-)))
You'll have to forewarn us as to your next journey up here to paradise so we can organise another gathering for you to grace us with your presence.

Pezza

FollowupID: 538309

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 21:10

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 21:10
LOL no point being here if I've got to bite my tongue all the time. I prefer not to die wondering hahahahaha

All is well down here in God's country - NSW. We even let Zuk go back to the deep dark north without putting him through the third degree.

Mate, sometimes I think this forum is being taken over by the politically correct. It's always good entertainment when you can bait one or two of them. Only wish the fish would bite that easily.

I'll let you know when SWMBO schedules up a visit with the outlaws. It'd be good to see you all again.

FollowupID: 538330

Reply By: Member - steve H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:39

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:39
Why is it that you can go through a drive thru and buy a big-mac a large coke & chips and eat that whilst driving but cant talk on the phone. Yes I admit to talking on the phone while driving and have also eaten food while driving. I know which one is more dangerous.

AnswerID: 274646

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:32

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:32
You aren't allowed to eat or drink whilst driving!
FollowupID: 538257

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:08

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:08
"You aren't allowed to eat or drink whilst driving! "

BOLLOCKS
FollowupID: 538265

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:58

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:58
"You aren't allowed to eat or drink whilst driving!"

I agree Jimbo, BOLLOCKS
FollowupID: 538270

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 13:40

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 13:40
your allowed to eat n drink and do anything else you want....just as long as you dont get caught
FollowupID: 538282

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 14:24

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 14:24
It amazes me that drivers have such little knowledge of the road laws, whether I agree if it is right or wrong, eating or drinking whilst in control of a motor vehicle is not legal ..... before you comment, think about it, they couldn't legislate that it's OK to eat a hotdog, but not OK to eat a 3 course roast or a bowl of spaghetti!
FollowupID: 538286

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 14:51

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 14:51
I reiterate, BOLLOCKS.

I've just checked the Victorian road rules. Under part 18, Miscellaneous Rules it clearly sates using a mobile phone is prohibited. There is no mention of eating or drinking whilst driving.

FollowupID: 538290

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 15:23

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 15:23
i'm with Jimbo
you can actually drive while drinking a can of beer (assumes your not a learner or P plater etc etc)...same as for smoking or picking your bugle

but dont get caught making any manouvre which they can cite "Not having effective control"...eg picking one nose and having an accident caused by your inability to have effective control of your vehicle cos you had a digit up a nostril is going to get you a fine

FollowupID: 538292

Follow Up By: bruce - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 15:59

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 15:59
JIMBO...is using a mobile really prohibited in Vic ?...blimy , here in Portland if you have not got a phone to your ear or your arm out the window holding the roof on or the door shut you are in a very small minority....seems to me to be the done thing rather than illegal....cheers
FollowupID: 538300

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:03

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:03
is prtland in OZ?

SA it is illegal to be holding a mobile phone while in the control of a motor vehicle....thats includes a parked one with the engine running......love to see them get one of those past a magistarte tho
FollowupID: 538301

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 21:48

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 21:48
Shaker's taking a hell of a time to find to find some (non existant) supporting documentation LOL
FollowupID: 538336

Follow Up By: bruce - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 10:16

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 10:16
Dear Member No 1...normally I would not bite , but this time I will...if your picture that you show is you then I can clearly understand your ignorance...I really do not know if prtland is in OZ or not , having not heard of either place ...but there are 2 places by the name of Portland in Australia , I happily live in one and have visited the other....cheers
FollowupID: 538384

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 12:37

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 12:37
so prtland errr stuff me I mean PoRTLAND is in australia?
i guess you must live in the one in Vic.....you remind me of cyclists..all cyclists have their own set of road rules.....i thought it was illegal to use a phone when driving...even for a Vic...but as you say...its the norm so stuff the road rules eh...who cares about safety....arrogant portland preeeks

and i happily live in oz too
and i'll bite at anything..welll almost anything
FollowupID: 538405

Follow Up By: Middle Jeff - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 14:25

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 14:25
Hi all, in NSW you can not drink alcohol whilst in a moving vehicle, that includes passengers.

Have fun

Craig
FollowupID: 538416

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 14:33

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 14:33
Pretty sure in most places driving with an open beer is illegal.
dunno bout specific states but in WA if nothing else it would be street drinking which is an offence
FollowupID: 538419

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 15:12

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 15:12
so... what is the difference between having a beer and or a coke while driving?...none providing you are not over the prescribed limit...so why is drinking a coke not illegal?

dunno about your street drinking bit tho

FollowupID: 538424

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:59

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 10:59
Jimbo...

Simple answer...Not allowed to eat and drink whilst driving.

Offence = "Not have proper control of vehicle"

Or ..."Negligent Driving" Which is doing something that a normal and prudent person would not do.

But you can still drive along and punch that Burger into you mate...you'll be OK I suppose :)

FollowupID: 538572

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:25

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:25
Dunco,

You must be an Archer, because that is really drawing a long bow LOL
FollowupID: 538575

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:46

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:46
Jimbo ... the answer above is 100% spot on!

You also can't read, apply make up or comb your hair, or do you think that's OK as well ???

Like most people, I do eat & drink whilst driving, but that doesn't make it legal!
FollowupID: 538579

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:44

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 13:44
Jimbo,

I only wish mate...

Anyway, don't believe me if you want...obviously you can't be told the truth as you are always right.....or is this what you do to overcome your wife always being right LOL....

Just remember next time you hear of someone having a prang from eating etc...

All good mate....
FollowupID: 538596

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:43

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:43
As usual, the cops are the bad guys! Just doing their job and getting abused for it.

I wonder who you would call if you came home to find your house burgled................

AnswerID: 274647

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:45

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:45
If they spent more time chasing crooks than motorists, less homes would be burgled.

FollowupID: 538246

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:34

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:34
Burglars don't kill 2 or 3 thousand people a year!
FollowupID: 538259

Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:42

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:42
Despite the vast increase in traffic penalties the road toll is not going down.

Crime is up some 25% in the last five years. That includes violent crimes, bashings, rapes, people being hacked to death with Samurai Swords.

I speak from experience. Only five weeks ago my son and I got into an altercation with six young thugs in our backyard. After we gave them a nice old touch up they returned with hunks of timber and a Pit Bull. The wounds in my back from the dig bite are still healing.

The cops took half an hour to turn up as they only have one car in the area on general patrol.
FollowupID: 538260

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:54

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:54
The only reason to call the coppers is to get the report number for your insurance co

ive had stuff stolen and the offenders were never caught or did i get my stuff back
FollowupID: 538262

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:36

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:36
Yep..... you're all spot on!

But that wasn't my point.......... my point is that no matter what the cops do..... they rarely get it right in the eyes of most people..... They are an under staffed dept with their own share of problems, including cops who excersise their authority the wrong way.

My point was that the guy in the original post, admitted to having his phone in his hand...... and got pulled over for it, no matter how farcical it is.... he still did the wrong thing and was caught for it. But, somehow it is isn't his fault. What happened to "Damn, I did the wrong thing and got busted...... better luck next time?"

And beofre someone tries to turn this back on me with a classic "Oh-sure-Brian-don't-you-ever-do-anything-wrong-while-driving???"........
The answer is yep...... a lot over the years. And been caught. And paid the price, 'cos it was my fault.

Hey, don't get me wrong, this is only my opinion, it ain't set in stone y'know!!!! LOL............

Jimbo.....
Sorry to hear of your experience. Isn't it a blight to think that six thugs in your back yard, when you "gave them a nice old touch up", then find it acceptable to go and get more back up and a dog to help them win the fight. Whatever happened to "The Best Man Won"?

FollowupID: 538267

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:01

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:01
Shaker
Burglars don't kill many but Alcohol, Fags and Drugs do . Are you going to campaign for the banning of them ,Alcohol and Fags are legal too,

FollowupID: 538272

Reply By: stocky - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:47

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:47
As far as I can recall from the SA road rules - HOLDING your phone is an offence under the act!

They did get a minor amendment in recent months for some poor bloke who got busted touching the answer button on his phone (while is was in the HFK holder!) so that you can know press the answer button on the phone BUT it is STILL ILLEGAL to HOLD the phone AT ALL whilst driving...sorry but you got BUSTED!

ahhh Manoora - popular place for being busted - plenty of people whip through there without a care in the world - and get busted doing 70-90 in the 25 school zone - expensive mistake and GREAT revenue raiser!
AnswerID: 274649

Reply By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:37

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:37
Years ago, when mobiles were a newish thing, and "use rules" didn't exist, my wife got hit in the rear at speed by some dude on his mobile. Our 2 year old daughter in back of car & all. At the time I was away for work in the Flinders Ranges - no mobile there, only HF radio. They had trouble contacting me. Troubled time and NO LOSS OF LIFE. Imagine if it had been worse.
AnswerID: 274658

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:30

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:30
'Play the Sailor - Pay the PRICE'.
AnswerID: 274661

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:14

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:14
Next thing you know you won't be able to scratch ya nut's wile driving without being fined for it.

AnswerID: 274712

Reply By: Member - peter C (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:35

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:35
a few years ago i was pulled over for being on the phone while driving. was a bit annoyed that the copper who pulled me over was talking on his phone( and driving) whilst waving me to pull over. when i queried him i was informed that coppers were exempt due to special skills. at the time i was driving approx 160000 k per year and had done so for many years accident free.i would consider my driving skills particularly in urban areas at least equal. exemptions make a mockery on enforcement claims that using a mobile is equal to being in excess of .05
AnswerID: 274715

Reply By: Member - Mainey (wa) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 13:57

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 13:57
GREENDOG
your post started -->""Well there i was driving my 8 tonne v8 super car last Friday. Just out side a little farming community called Manoora.when i got pulled over by an un marked cop car for BEING ON THE PHONE ""

Now it's either legal or it's ILLEGAL to 'use a phone while in control of a motor vehicle' look up the actual wording of the law it's on page ..........

If it's NOT legal, and you get caught breaking the law, then it's not the coppers fault, he's only upholding the law, after all that's his job, that's what we as citizens who pay tax's request him to do.
The government makes the laws and the Police have to enforce them.

I fail to see why a copper would pull you up if he did not see, what appeared to him, as you "using" your phone in some way, which is deemed ILLEGAL, and his job authorises him to "advise" you of that.

I do hope this is taken as being delivered in a pleasant, politely spoken voice as I have typed it nicely and quietly lol

( Any one ever asked why it's NOT illegal to use the CB while driving ?? )
AnswerID: 274770

Reply By: KSV. - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 14:31

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 14:31
Ooops! wrong button :-)))))

Hi Mainey!

Sometimes legality has very little to do with safety and this draconical “mobile phone law” has absolutely nothing to do with safety, but simple revenue rising exercise. By far it is *MOST* disobeyed rule on the road and I have not seen any evidence that because of mobiles we have higher road tolls.

Independent research shown that there is no difference in “distraction factor” between hand-held devices and hands-free. Conversation itself distract more than everything else combined.

Now lets employ a little common sense. When using hands-free one has to take his/her eyes from the road and look who is calling (probably not going to pick-up). Next you need locate green button and answer. If using normal mobile one can just lift it to his/her site and answer without removing eyes from the road. When it comes to make a call then hands-free is total disaster – it is absolutely impossible to make call without major disruption while ordinary device it is enough just lift it above your wheel.

Not only that – hands-free quality far worst then normal phones and often phone lying somewhere in console rendering bad reception. Thus conversation tends to be longer and require more attention with hands-free.

Not lets talk about something else. My common sense in combination with 25 years crash-free experience yelling that using portable MP3 players far much worse then mobiles (for talking, not for TXT – arguably most disastrous behavior). MP3 design tend to be small and has very small characters. In additional interface in majority of them done in such way that it make it impossible to operate device without seeing screen. Yet I know nothing about banning MP3 players in cars. Satellite navigation (when setting up) not far behind MP3 – even located quite convenient they are far from ideal in terms of ergonomics.

Next lets came to using something like Melway while driving. Smoking far more destructive and dangerous then talking. And how about drinking coffee while driving passing it from one hand to another to make turn.

And to finish this I can tell you what I saw by my own eyes. On freeway at about 100km/hr one lady was driving and petting her pet dog on her knees. At the same time she was holding Melway on the wheel. Not enough – she was smoking also. But hey, she did not talk on the phone so everything what she was doing was legal and therefore as some can say safe.

No-one can convince me that this mobile rules in our safety favor. I believe that in their revenue rising favor.

And last things. I hate mobiles and never talk more then 30-60 seconds on them.

Serg
AnswerID: 274776