CAMPING IN THE GOOD OLD DAYS HOW THING HAVE CHANGED.

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:09
ThreadID: 52168 Views:5443 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
I was telling my grand kids how we used to go camping in the 1950
era, My mum & dad owned a 1948 Austin A 70 sedan they would
load up the pack rack on the roof with the 15x 15 tent , the wooden ice box , camp stretches , tables and chairs, kerosene stove,
alladin lamp, all the clothes and tinned food ect, and because you
couldnt get frozen chickens in those days, we would take live chooks
in wooden crates in the dicky seat at the back of the car, and head
off to the Gold Coast and set up our tent at Main Beach camp ground, just 2 kilometres north of Surfers Paradise. and stay for the
Christmas Holidays, I dont no how we got on without our Engel or
Waeco.

Daza

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:22

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:22
PS.
The chooks wouldnt come home from their holiday.

Daza
AnswerID: 274642

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:06

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 16:06
now there's a thought....how does one take live cray away with them..i get sick of frozen ones
FollowupID: 538302

Reply By: Jimbo - VIC - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:27

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 09:27
IMHO things have changed for the better.

Hot shower, cold beer & food, 12 volt (safe) lighting, tents that don't take half a day to put up, comfortable bedding, etc etc.

Enjoying the bush does not mean enduring hardship any more.

AnswerID: 274643

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:08

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:08
Oh Daza! It brought tears to my eyes, Mate, as I imagined the modern day equivalent at Surfers Paradise. I couldn't stop laughing enough to get through reading it to the missus.

So Dad gets a squwarking chook out of the wooden crate, probably in the shade of a tree.

Dad takes the axe in his right hand and proceeds to the tree stump.

One good blow and the chook's head falls to the ground.

Dad lets go of the struggling chook which then races round the immediate area of the caravan park, banging into anything in it's path, with blood flying everywhere.

Eventually the chook drops and Dad picks it up.

Dad carries the chook over to the tent and starts the plucking and gutting.

When finished Dad raps up the feathers, guts and head in news paper and sends you to the old 44 gallon bin with the mess.

Wouldn't go down too well these days, huh?
FollowupID: 538250

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:24

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:24
I'm cracking up, just imagining the looks on the faces of the younger campers as the axe falls and the headless chook does it's final run...

The place would then be inundated with the RSPCA and the axe wielder would probably finish up in court...
FollowupID: 538252

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:27

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:27
Only some things jimbo
imagine how many extra places there were to camp back then.
even by the time they had put up the taj mahal you would still be driving to get to the nearest campsite and even that is overcrowded
FollowupID: 538253

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:32

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:32
My dad would take the chooks down to the edge of the Nerang
River near the mangroves and do the deed, then use the guts for fishing, the other campers would do the same, with there birds.

Daza
FollowupID: 538277

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 13:57

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 13:57
So you ate well enough then. Fresh chicken and fish, huh? A bit of canned food thrown in.

Laurie.
FollowupID: 538284

Reply By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:28

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 10:28
Daza, did your dad have one of those clip on airconditioners for the Austin?

We used to go camping regularly when we were kids, during the 60's & 70's. MAinly up the river (Murray). It was great fun always. These days we have a family holiday house on the river. Nowhere near the fun camping was. When we go camping we rough it as much as possible as the experience is what you go for. I'm off in a couple of weeks time to Pt Elliott with son's school aquatics camp. Tents, 4WD, fishing (and car fridge).
AnswerID: 274655

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:42

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:42
Hi louie

We had a sliding sun roof in the old girl. I think he sealed it up.
if you wanted to be cool you could sit in the dicky seat, and smell the
exhaust fumes, and get sore eyes.
(its a wonder the chooks didnt get gased on the trip down the coast)

Daza
FollowupID: 538278

Reply By: Member - steve H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:45

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 11:45
Dazza
My wife and son both work at that caravan park (or tourist park as they call them these days) You wouldn't happen to have any old photo's would you I am sure they would love to see them. Have you been there lately. They have just dealt with a few hundred schoolies and i reckon they were as mad as chooks with their heads off.

AnswerID: 274662

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:49

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 12:49
Hi Steve

I will get the cook/wife to have a look in the old photo albums,
they would be all black & white, if we have I will get back to you.

Daza

FollowupID: 538279

Reply By: Member - Warren R- Karratha WA - Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:41

Sunday, Dec 02, 2007 at 22:41
Great yarn Daz...I have similar memories in Esperance and the Kookaburra caravan park in Busselton (WA). The ice truck coming round every day or so, stinkin' bloody hot, millions of flies...but the best fun you could ever have as a kid.
AnswerID: 274716

Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 07:25

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 07:25
don't go back as far as that , but was thinking the same thing this weekend when i was up on the Upper Turon in my Jayco Flamingo outback :)

15 yrs + ago i would go camping with my mates had the basics( 1 change of clothes and some canned food ) i would then sleep in the

friends boot of his Hq holden - which was actually pretty good :)

today - its a pleasure to go camping now- just a little preparation work before i leave

AnswerID: 274734

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 15:57

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 15:57
Love the rig pic Ozboc

I wonder what the babies would turn out like lol
FollowupID: 538432

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 12:21

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 12:21
would probably look like a Disco , or even worse -- a holden Jackeroo .... shudders at the thought :)

Boc

FollowupID: 538777