Any takers for the Tanami?

Submitted: Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 11:19
ThreadID: 52192 Views:3556 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Well, it's frightening how time has flown and I find myself 2 weeks away from my big trip. Still got so much to do on the ute...
I'm leaving Alice very early on the 15th December towards Halls Creek; overnighting at Rabbit Flat.
Is there anyone going up that way then or within a day or two (in either direction) so I know I'd have company/rescuers/cold beers?
Tracy

Reply By: Moose - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 14:13

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 14:13
Hey SoloGirl - I hope the aircon is in good nick because it's going to be bloody hot out there! May your journey be a safe one.
AnswerID: 274772

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 15:04

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 15:04
Make sure ya got heaps of water on board...
AnswerID: 274781

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:56

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:56
Good luck and be safe SG...

Grrrr!!!
AnswerID: 274796

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 17:00

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 17:00
Bloody hot out there this time of year???
Do you really have to do that trip now?

AnswerID: 274798

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 17:38

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 17:38
It will be bloody hot but then I am sure you knew that, and it doesn't seem to stop the locals.

From Rabbit Flat to Halls Creek is the worst section of road, and the least travelled, but as far as Rabbit Flat you still get the Yuendemu mob going up and down regularly as well as a fair amount of mine traffic and trucks.

Prepare well. Take lots of water, and make sure you have HF radio or similar, checking in every day so VKS737 can keep an eye on you.

Drop me an email on andrew @ vividadventures dot com dot au if you want some help.

Andrew.
AnswerID: 274808

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:18

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:18
Dont let them scare you off, a bit of heat wont kill you, only lack of water will.
Keep an eye on the weather....a rain isnt out of the question.
If your worried about travelling on your own...ring the Halls creek cops before you go and tell them how long you plan to take to get there.

Have fun.
AnswerID: 274812

Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:36

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:36
Trouble with the rains is being stuck at creek crossings , 5 or 6 days is common . Best method in wading is to let someone brave attempt it first . Extra food is in order , perhaps the best is a couple of extra bags of rice . Have a great trip .
FollowupID: 538476

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:50

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:50
Gday Rotord,
Trouble with the Tanami isnt so much creek crossings but the whole road becoming a creek and once it goes under properly you could be there for weeks, not days.

FollowupID: 538478

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:42

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:42
Hairy's right, as usual. Big rain that way can mean a big lake. A very big lake if you get my drift.
Heat exhaustion etc is a real possibility, don't rely on ink a hol to refresh you...it won't.
Watch for wildlife and those mine trucks. They don't give you a second chance.
If by yourself...check with the police at both ends of the track before setting off, and do have some form of satphone or HF comms, with an epirb for worst case scenarios.
You'll probably have a ball and nothing will go wrong.
Travel safely.
FollowupID: 538526

Reply By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 19:53

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 19:53
HI Solo,
I guess you're well prepared so good luck ! I am really more concerned that you have some reliable communications.You can always wait out a wet spell but need some coms in case of breakdown /accident etc.I've done some solo outback myself but always be prepared for "Murphy"
Travel safely,
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 274834

Reply By: Tracy I - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 23:21

Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 23:21
Thanks to everyone for inspiring me to have an absolute blast on this trip! I'll be taking heaps of water, got my spare radiator hoses, bags of rice :) and hey, if it floods, well we ARE going scuba diving ultimately so we'll have all that kit too!!
I'm trying to finalise hiring a sat phone for the Tanami track only and the nasty bit coming back (exactly WHICH nasty bit I'm still not sure - so many choices of dirt and heat!).
I will be letting Halls Creek police know I'm on my way too.
I'm aware of wildlife and trucks and will be giving them both wide clearances. My intention is not to race the track but to get to the other end safely. Yes, crap happens, and as Mary said, Murphy is always around. He seems to travel with me permanently...! Hot? It was 43 in Alice yesterday and we were out bush on the bikes - ouch.I'm also letting camp sites etc know that if we're delayed it will be because of flooding etc. It all adds to the adventure.
Good advice about no ink ahol; never helps when you need you wits about you.
Thanks again to all you great people...
Tracy
AnswerID: 274874