Submitted: Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:15
Sharyn
I'm posting in the hope that someone can help me. I was "conned" into buying a Nissan Patrol. Which has now developed problems :( Its currently being pulled apart to see what has happened to the motor (how bad it is...) and I am planning for the worst!
Has anyone got any suggestions on replacement vs repair and the costs of each.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:27
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:27
How did you get conned??
Follow Up By: Sharyn - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:31
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:31
Slick salesman and gullible husband I'm afraid...
Anyway post is not about that... but what can I do to get it fixed. I believe that we will have to pay for it as there is no warranty.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:35
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:35
the fix is fairly simple.. You buy a complete new engine, and have it fitted. They are cheap from Nissan now since they got a deal on them... buy 1000 get 100 free.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:37
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:37
Yeah I understand but a bit of research on here would have saved you quite some heartache and dollars.
Sharyn do an archive search on this
forum type in 3.0 litre Nissan in the search options up top and spend a few hours having a read you should get the phone number etc of the people at Nissan HO (Val Davis i think it is??) try and contact them and discuss the matter and see if you can get some sort of support from them.
Other than that I think you will find your on your own sorry to say.
Follow Up By: Sharyn - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:38
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:38
Well my comment to the "other half" was patch it up and p*ss it off... I guess the choice of a long or short engine will depend on the damage and the dollars... Is there better reports of later models/years?? Has anyone fitted one to the 2001 model??
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:42
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:42
I reckon your comments got it in one. :-)
These 3.0 litre engines and the way in which Nissan have failed to suport them have caused some huge headaches and costs to a lot of people.
As I said do an archive search.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:46
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:46
Tell hubby to call Brunswick Diesel, and enquire about a Chev V8 Conversion, will only be round $20,000 and you will have a great truck then.
Follow Up By: Sharyn - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:48
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:48
Gee I wish I had the cash!!! Cannot complain about the rest of the car YET...
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:58
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:58
How much did you pay for the 3.0 litre and how long you had it?
How many Km's before it went bang?
Follow Up By: nats - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:35
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:35
Truckster,
This person is obviously in strife and all you can contribute are snide and hurtful comments. Very disappointing and little arrogant. What is wrong with a helping hand or, failing that, silence?
nats
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:50
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:50
Nats
Wtf are you on about??? I havent seen any snide and hurtful comments in this post from anyone ......Get a life buddy
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:28
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:28
is it school holidays already??
Nads, take a leaf from your own book and bleep up fool.
---------------------------------------------
From a post on OL
New Nissan Crate Motors Due In 17th of December
ZD30 & TD42 & TD42t
Nissan Has Dropped there Pricing in Line With Christmas Specials!!!!
P.O.A
Follow Up By: nats - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:02
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:02
Truckster,
Why be so insulting and rude of tone? Methinks you are a little defensive. "buy 1000 get 100 free."..... such a sensitive response.
nats (not Nads)
Reply By: Sharyn - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:41
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:41
Yes, and don't I know it... anyway too late to moan about it now... just be much wiser in the future. Very expensive lesson! Never trust a man always do your own research...
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:43
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:43
G'day Sharyn
Just thought this might be of interest to you if your motor is going to cost to much to fix
3.0 litre motor
Cheers......Dave
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:45
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:45
I read on here $7500 new from nissan...
Follow Up By: Sharyn - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:45
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:45
Thanks... Are the new engines imported by enayone apart from Nissan?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:50
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:50
Normally nissan import nissan engines ;)
the other optino is a 4.2 GU motor and gearbox.. will still be similar price for the swap
Follow Up By: Sharyn - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:53
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:53
So the 4.2 has a better history??
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:53
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 16:53
600,000klms is not unusual for one of them...
better than 100k klms.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 19:41
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 19:41
The 4.2TD is a better motor than the 3.0L......it works on old-fashioned technology; no computer/s to go "ppssssttttt".
A mate of
mine recently swapped his 4.2TD out of his 1999 GU Patrol in favour of a Brunswick 6.5 diesel. He did the spanner work himself and now has the 4.2 for sale in the Trader Section on this
forum for $4,000-.
The motor is in perfect working condition; he just wanted to experience the extra low down torque the big Chevvy delivers.
Have a look or give him a call on 0427 523 129 ....he lives in
Goulburn NSW
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 17:43
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 17:43
Sharyn,
the news is all bad. I've had the same problem and it's been upwards of $18K so far. New motor will cost every bit of $7K but by the time you start putting it in, you'll probably need a new intercooler, clutch and flywheel. It's a fantastic car now but the caravan I was going to buy has been put back for a few years. Wait until the mechanic tells you what's wrong and take it from there. It'll probably be a hole in the No.4 piston. These guys are great for parts nizzbits@hotmail.com
Sorry to hear about your bad luck.
Mick
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:11
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:11
G'day Mick
$18000.00 ???? Mate sorry but your NUTS!! LOL ........thats just about a Chev Conversion.....4.2 at the least.
Cheers.......Dave
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:59
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 18:59
Don't make me cry Dave. I should say that that's a progressive total making everything right since I bought it a year ago. First off, Nissan claimed the turbo had to be replaced. I told them it was the outlet manifold gasket after doing a bit of research. No...what would I know. Still they bolted on the new turbo that I'd bought at several hundred dollars cheaper than them...still screeching. It was the outlet manifold gasket. In April. The engine blew. Took it to Aaron at Atoc Auto's in
Melbourne. Got the last of the motors Nissan threw out there at 6 grand. Intercooler was stuffed, Radiator, belt tensioner, dual mass flywheel and clutch had to be replaced. All up, a tidy little amount. Aaron did a great job tho. Anyway, out around
Broome in July this year and you guessed it......5th gear went. Another couple of grand for a rebuild. It'll have to do me for 5 years now and I'll consider my options then when I join the silver sunami (
grey nomads!). Such is life but it's great outback where it needs to be.
Mick
Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 19:44
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 19:44
Micko, what can go wrong with an intercooler, other than a hole? My experience with inter & after coolers is they last for a long time unless they are poor quality or have suffered fatigue from vibration maybe. My mate has a GU3.0TD with about 100K on it. He only had a prob with the idler pulley so far. Nissan dealer told him it was the alternator pulley bearing??? and said it would cost a few hundred to fix. Dude end up fixing it himself for less that $25. Is it the autos that have probs or doesn't matter if auto or manual?
Maybe Sharyn & hubby's best option could end up being buy a long motor from a wrecker and trade it in. Hope it doesn't cost them to much, hey.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:40
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 20:40
Louie,
The intercooler had a fatigue crack in it that had already been welded. This came apart and couldn't be effectively welded back together. The Nissan intercooler have developed some issues due to fatigue from the way they've been mounted (so my mechanic tells me). As to the 5th gear failure, it was in the series II GU's. The factory fifth didn't have long enough splines and they tended to strip.
Well documented problem (just don't ask Nissan to acknowledge it!). The problems were supposed to have been fixed with the intro of the GU III at the end of 2001. They didn't end there unfortunately but GU III's built after July 02 didn't seem to have the major engine problems of the series II.
Patrol forum is a great spot to find out about many of the Nissan issues as they are a frequent topic of conversation.
Mick
PS - I still love the Patrol. It's in it's element outback.
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:09
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:09
Hows it going Mick,
You should do some searching on the
forum. I had just over 100k on the clock of a 01 model in 04 ,and did 5th over near
Perth . I got stung by the dealer I went to for full payment ,but Nissan Aust covered most of the cost after I wrote a letter on my return.
Perhaps you could gather your ammo and fire off a letter, couldnt hurt.
Glenn.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:16
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:16
Mick.. Do you still have your old phukt intercooler?
Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:50
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:50
Yep, ZD 30 intercoolers regularly shake themselves to death, the core construction is so flimsy they fail where the tubes connect with the header plate and always show up as a tell tale oil leak in one or more corners. Don't get me started as to why the oil is there in the 1st place, some here and elsewhere think this is acceptable, I recore these intercoolers and fully Tig weld them together and I certainly don't think its acceptable.
Regards Andrew.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:07
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:07
Truckster,
no I don't have the old intercooler. I left it with Aaron at ATOC. I'll give him ma ring and see if it's still hanging round but I wouldn't be too hopeful. Cheers. Mick
Reply By: aroundwego - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 07:19
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 07:19
Might be worth having a look at
http://www.lonards-automotives.com.au/patrol.html
Mostly the para
"WHAT TO DO IF YOU HAVE A FAILURE"
Theres a rumour going around that Nissan are releasing some crate motors on 17 DEC including 3L so I would get your dealer to check
For the intercooler maybe look at this post
patrol4x4.com/forum intercooler exchange
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:10
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 18:10
Get onto the guys and girls at nizzbits. Nizzbits@hotmail.com. If anyone can find it and at an appropriate price, they can.
Reply By: aroundwego - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 22:25
Reply By: Sharyn - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:11
Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 16:11
Well I go tthe news today. All bad!! Hole in the head, scoured bore/s etc etc... It seems to be a new engine as the repairer has refused to fix this one.
Anyone actually written to Nissan?? Can you help me with the wording etc????