Other 4WD forums

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 11:06
ThreadID: 52258 Views:3847 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
Whilst I've only ever used this forum for 4WD purposes I assume that there are heaps of others out there.
Which are worthwhile frequenting and which aren't?
How many of you are forum tragics who use multiple sites?
What about non 4WD specific, but outdoor related sites - what's around that's interesting?
Thanks from the Moose.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 11:15

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 11:15
Moose
Yeh but this is not just a forum , this is a FORUM that's packed with Information.

#

AnswerID: 275083

Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 13:33

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 13:33
Doug - I must disagree on a technicality.
This forum is simply a forum - a place within a website where people can ask questions, post replies, make comments etc.
The information is found within the rest of the ExplorOz site (albeit that information [of varying usefulness and accuracy] is imparted through the forum).
I'm sure that there will be information to be found on other 4WD forums as well - I doubt this site is unique in that respect.
FollowupID: 538791

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 14:26

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 14:26
Elk
I'm buggered if I know, everytime I go to this Forum I seem to be seeing lots of buttons and links to a whole range of handy parts to this Forum, ....must be a dream , ....yeh gotta be a dream, this is only a forum ...............??

#

FollowupID: 538799

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 14:36

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 14:36
And might well there be some information found on other 4WD forums but not like this one , have a look at Places ,Treks ,Topics, buttons at the top ,But you have made up your mind there are other web sites better , That's your choice , I feel I have no need to look any further than this place for Information, to give Information, a Discussion or a bloody good argument/Debate about a product, or to have a little fun , But right now I don't feel like an argument or any fun, See ya .

#

FollowupID: 538803

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:40

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:40
If its 4WD stuff you want try this one Its pretty good

http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/
FollowupID: 538856

Follow Up By: bware - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 02:49

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 02:49
Hi Moose,

You are correct on your technicality; Doug shows that he doesn't understand that the forum is only a section of the website in his follow-up 2 of 4 where he states
"..... links to a whole range of handy parts to this forum...", where he should have said 'website' instead of 'forum'. But I'm sure you get that.

Don't let Doug's manner put you off using this 'website' or becoming a member; he is not this site's ambassador (he needs a few lessons in tact and diplomacy first!).

In answering some of your questions, this may be the best 'all round' website you will find. On the other hand, if you are a Landcruiser owner,for instance, LCOOL is more informative on technical issues. If you are a bird watcher there is almost no info here. The same goes for canoing, abseiling, fishing etc. But there are numerous sites out there on every subject. If there is an outdoor activity you are interested in, just google it and you will get results for specific sites like this one that are a wealth of information and have a forum you can participate in. When you say 'outdoor related' I think you need to be more specific if you want feedback here. What do you want to know about? Regions? Activities? Food and wine trails?

Doug, your replies and follow-ups have me in stitches; and I'm not laughing WITH you LOL

What are you actually saying? At first it seems that you don't understand that a forum is only a part of a website. Look at the top of the page; it says 'home', 'forum', 'places', 'trader' etc. The links are to other parts of the website, not other parts of the forum. There is no other part of the forum; the forum doesn't have sections. It has links to other parts of the website.

Then you go on to say some good things (in your next reply) about the site only to finish off with a 'schoolyard' reply about not wanting to argue or have fun, even though Moose hadn't replied to the previous reply. (I've had my say with my hands on my hips and I don't care what anyone else has to say; reminds me of my 6 year old son)

So you misunderstood the post in your fanatacism for this site. OR you deliberately wound him up ( but considering that you love this site so much, you wouldn't deliberately risk bleep off a potential member, would you?)

Take a mirror to bed and wake up to yourself
:-))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 538922

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 11:24

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 11:24
Thanks bware. I don't care what Doug says - he just needs to take his meds and have a good lie down. And to remove the blinker from his one good eye :-)
I have certainly found this site to be useful and when I feel that I can contribute something useful I do. I don't post just for the sake of seeing my name on the screen - which I suspect some others do.
I agree that it is packed full of great info.
I was just interested in what other sites people frequent. I could certainly Google but first hand experience from those who have trod that path before is better. I wasn't after anything specific - just wanting to find out what's out there. Once I have a list I'll check it twice - oops off on tangent there! No - I'll check out the recommended sites and see if there are any I like.
FollowupID: 538970

Reply By: brummie pete - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 13:29

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 13:29
I get on an american website IH8MUD.com its quiet a good site ,not a lot applicable to australia but some of the technical stuff on offer is very interesting reading .
I found a thread by a icelandic fella very interesting on waht he was doing to his cruiser .Well worth a look . pete
AnswerID: 275104

Reply By: Smudger - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 17:22

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 17:22
I'm into 4WDing, camping, and exploring. Also sailing, photography, shooting and ..and well, and I've found other forums that have heaps of single subject info and dscusson, but none that come near ExploreOz for the wide ranging subject matter, which is all somehow conected. Plus, and probably as a result of that, this is the most active forum I'v encountered.
AnswerID: 275150

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:50

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:50
Moose,

I predominately use ExplorOz but Lurk and occasionally post on 4WD Monthly forum and also LCOOL.

AnswerID: 275183

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:11

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:11
Hi Moose,
It's an interesting question you ask because you have decided that ExplorOz is a 4WD site yet no where do we actually brand ourselves with the limitation to 4WD only. In fact, our site tagline is "4WD, Camping and Caravanning". If you take a look at the long list of TOPICS in the left margin of every page of the site (duplicated in the TOPICS menu at the top of the site) you'll see the core site content actually includes boating, campers and trailers, motorhomes, and within those you can browse articles about wildflowers, photography, prospecting and many other non 4WD but outdoor related activities. The Trek Notes section of the site contains over 150 trek notes Australiawide which are graded by suitability to 2WD, AWD, 4WD, Caravan, Camper so there is something for everyone here on this site if you like Exploring - which is where the name comes from. It is true that a 4WD slant is prevalent - but that's simply the means to get you there. The 4WD vehicle is the most versatile for people who want to do the kind of Exploring that is promoted here so in that your right. Anyway, I'll step down off my soap box now. But I am interested to see what list we get of other non 4WD outback related sites. The unique thing about ExplorOz is that it has survied 8 years now and is listed in Australia's top 10 travel sites (we're # 7), and we're listed # 10 of Automative sites. There is no ranking for 4WD sites as there is nothing else other than ExplorOz on the radar used by the media buyers - I'm talking Nielsen, Hitwise etc. Sure the magazine publishers also try their hand at websites but these tend to only operate with forums, but no other dynamic site content as of course that would conflict with their core business - a monthly magazine publication that you need to spend $8 or $9 to buy. We have no other business than ExplorOz and it takes an office full of people fulltime to operate the business of this site. So please take a look around the content and features on the site - we put a lot of effort into it and would love suggestions from people like yourselves looking for something else. We are happy to embrace anything "outdoors related" as its all relevant and we are in a good position to fulfill the needs of our audience so long as we know what it is that you are looking for. Please feel welcome to use the Feedback form under the About Us menu to send any suggestions too.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 275189

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 11:35

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 11:35
Hi Michelle
I guess I have subconsciously labelled ExplorOz as a 4WD site and yes you are correct that such is not the case. However the bulk of the stuff on the forum is certainly 4WD related - which is why I was attracted to this site in the first place.
All I was after was a "lazy" way of seeing what other sites are frequented by the users of this one. I could Google but it is much easier if one gets a recommendation from others. I have no intention of leaving this site however it can't hurt to see what else is out there.
Keep up the great work you guys do with this site.
FollowupID: 538973

Reply By: Himble - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:28

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 20:28
A sensible and considered response Michelle! I have no argument with what you have posted...well done!

There are many forums relating to 4WDs, caravans, travel in general etc. but ExplorOz has the canny knack of covering all aspects in a distinctive manner.

For myself, I'm a member of a number of forums - 4WD specific and caravan/travel specific - and all of them (including this one) provide me with great info to augment my knowledge.

Some of you may know me from some of these forums - if so, g'day!! ;-)

Himble
AnswerID: 275190

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 07:51

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 07:51
Yep like Himble i'm a member of other forums, i take imformation from all of them, i would say that no one forum has it all.

If you want info on comp and highly modded trucks/4WDs then Outerlimits or Pirate is the go, if travel and campers is your thing then Australia4wd, My Swag, Campertrailer Yahoo site are great, Vehicle specific, for LandRover AULRO, D2au, for Nissan, Patrol 4x4 for Landcruiser LCOOL.

Lots of good Forums out there, just visit them, you'll be supprised.

AnswerID: 275231

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 11:39

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 11:39
Thanks Baz
Exactly the sort of info I was after. Never even knew that Pirate, Australia4wd and My Swag existed. Have seen the others mentioned on here in the past. Will check them all out and see what they're like.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 538974

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 21:18

Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 21:18
Moose, another site that I frequent is www.4wdaustralia.com.au which I reckon is every bit as good as this one

AnswerID: 275351

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 14:41

Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 14:41
Awfully bloody similar. Got me you bugger!
FollowupID: 539229