Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 13:59
Luke2
I'm looking at hand
winches and would appreciate some advice from people who've used both types. The ARB Magnum sells for $395 and the Black Rat sells for $600. They are both rated to 1600kg. The Black Rat has the traditional Tirfor style pressed steel case whereas the Magnum has two flat plates bolted together (looks like Aluminium?).
That's a big difference in price and I'm wondering why? Is the Magnum no good (cheap and nasty and will fall apart)? or is the Black Rat overpriced? (maybe the cost of the Tirfor-style casing bumps the price up? but $200 more?
If anyone has compared the units or if anyone's got a Magnum and has worked it hard and is still happy then please let me know.
Reply By: DaveO*ST-R - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 17:04
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 17:04
No great knowledge of the Magnum or Black Rat, but have you had a look at the Big Haul, made by Beaver. If you do a search, you will find they are supposed to be the bees knees, next best to the Tirfor (from memory a review by 4WD Monthly a while back?). You can pick them up for just under the price of the Magnum.
Big Haul
I have one...bloody good hand winch !!
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 18:04
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 18:04
A couple of years ago I did quite a bit of research into this issue and settled upon the Big Haul - I paid $400 for the winch and about another $100 for the TT protector, snatch block etc.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 18:08
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 18:08
Whatever you buy this is an essential like to read before using snatch blocks with a winch:
Snatch block basics
Reply By: trolute - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 17:32
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 17:32
I have a 'green-meanie', which is the same as the magnum - i.e. simple pressed metal sides, very cheap looking.
But, I have now been using my one for three years, and have used it in anger to pull my Patrol GU ute out from mud, sand and even a saltpan, and it has never skipped a beat. I do, however, open it up every year and clean and regrease the insides. I also use a snatchblock and nylon extension straps. I deep sand, it will not pull the Partrol without snatch strap.
Great things, slow and hard work, but 1) very versatile - can pull backwards and 2) because its hardwork, you learn to be more carefull about where you put your
wheels...LOL
Trolute
Reply By: Luke2 - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 09:29
Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 09:29
beaudy - thanks for all the info. by the looks of it the Magnum and the
Big Haul are pretty much the same unit but with different stickers. I had a look around over on the 4WD Monthly
forum as
well and it looks like i can't go wrong with either winch. And apparently the Big Haul did
well in one of the 4WD Monthly comparisons recently. I can't see why I'd spend the extra $200 for the Black Rat. The local 4WD Megastore has a special on the Big Haul at the moment with a free carry bag (usually $50) for $399 all up so I'll probably go with that. Cheers!
Follow Up By: DiesAl - Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 13:30
Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 13:30
Gday Mate, I think you'll find that Beaver make both Black Rat and Big Haul. I have the Big Haul, got it from a mate who works at beaver.
Al
Follow Up By: DiesAl - Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 13:34
Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 13:34
Sorry, should've mentioned I have also bought a heap of Black Rat gear from him.