RIP Norval park.

Submitted: Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 18:23
ThreadID: 52347 Views:4408 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Just took the dog down to the beach.As of last Tuesday,our local council has closed off all car access except in the dunny area.
So don't bother returning to the area for a beach-side campsite.
I wonder if they got jack of all the rubbish that was left behind?
Thanks a lot, MATES.
Buggerit.
Jeff.

Reply By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 21:54

Friday, Dec 07, 2007 at 21:54
Hi Jeff,

Another place gone. Hope my hideaway a bit further north does not meet a similar fate. I hope (cross fingers) to be through that way next week, if so I'll give you a call.

AnswerID: 275562

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:55

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:55
I'd be offended if you didn't call in for the night JQ.
Stuff you, personally: but I'm dying to see that latest addition. Smart little bugger: you'll know you're alive for the next year or so, eh.
teach..
FollowupID: 539503

Reply By: ads_gu - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 01:04

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 01:04
Unfortunately, if your secrect camping spot is in the Burnett shire, then you can pretty well kiss it good bye. The council in their wisdom, has shut down all beach camping access in the shire. This includes Kincunna, palm beach, Norval, Kolan mouth etc.
True, some people do leave there rubbish behind, and it is always the few that ruin it for the many, but to close the lot down is just down right rude.. Many people ( locals and tourists alike), do clean up after themselves, and should not have these glorious places taken away.
If any one is in the area, and would like to voice their concern to council, there is a number of petitions floating around.. Mcleods Offroad, and the Bundaberg 4wd club to name a couple.

Ads
AnswerID: 275573

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 08:13

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 08:13
Kinkuna isn't closed, went there last weekend
FollowupID: 539341

Follow Up By: ads_gu - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:42

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:42
If hasn't yet it will be..
FollowupID: 539399

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:28

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:28
Thanks for the contact. Happens I'm in town Monday, so McLeods is obvious.
Mate, we usually crawl S to the mouth: wish you were a member, cause I don't wish to pursue this publicly.
You may remember the big "fire break" that went in a while back? I guess that was on Bundy sugar land (so I'm trespassing?), but I don't know.
Bugger me. Terribly sad.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 539516

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:29

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:29
Thanks for the contact. Happens I'm in town Monday, so McLeods is obvious.
Mate, we usually crawl S to the mouth: wish you were a member, cause I don't wish to pursue this publicly.
You may remember the big "fire break" that went in a while back? I guess that was on Bundy sugar land (so I'm trespassing?), but I don't know.
Bugger me. Terribly sad.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 539517

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:54

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:54
RosscoH,
READ MY LIPS.
" Norval closed Tuesday past": never mind the Sat/Sun before that.
Sad eh.
Jeff.
ps. Sorry mate, that wasn't meant to be personal. I'm probly still in shock at this overnight closure. Mate, I can't begin to estimate the tonnage of boulders moved. Some savvy soul on site will possibly offer an estimate. I would guesstimate an area somewhat larger than a country footy field, encased by 70-140cm pebbles, spaced close enough to prevent 4wd ingress (Jimnys and Diahatsus excepted, god blessem.)They look extrusive volcanic, so probly carted from Bagara area. How far, one way? I dunno, 70k ?

Anyway, we're still breathing, so it ain't over yet.
Gerryatrik Geff.
FollowupID: 539526

Follow Up By: ads_gu - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:16

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:16
Well, I have not seen how they closed the access, but if that is true, the council have no problems spending rate payers $$ to cart many tonnes of rocks from Bagara. Perhaps they could have spent the money on some skips and garbage removal every now and again..Not sure if i am allowed to do this but there is a thread here www.tour-oz.net/forum in the camping section. May be of some interest.
FollowupID: 539533

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:44

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:44
Its so sad Jeff,
we went to Norval last week. The place was taken over by brain dead hoons and scumbags on the weekend. We had to remove 4 big rubbish bags of smashed glass and cans and bottles before we could set up camp. Then we got invaded by some louds at 3 o'clock in the morning who were churning up the beach and had their getto blasters on full power.

So thanks a lot for spoiling it for all of us you lowlife scumbags go and break your bloody necks!

Merry Christmas to our friends from interstate who have been using the area for years and now will have nowhere to go this Christmas when they come up.

Sad that the irresponsible action of a few bludgers can spoil it for everyone.

Udo

AnswerID: 275585

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:51

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 07:51
Jeff
G'Day mate. is that where we went for the drive just recently .???

D&D

#

AnswerID: 275586

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:17

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:17
Yess mate.
Allecallem RS jusnow. We wait and see. As I told you, we'll probly go back to El Arish area, and I'll build a track for my Gopher before total senility kicks in. That way I can do hill climbs, water crossings, or savannah tours - possibly without interference.(as if: hahaha. some pric would find a way.))
Doug what's happened has happened, but I doubt that that is the end of it.
Meanwhile, anyone want to buy a degraded 10 acres (30 attached), Superb creek:eerily quiet. Phone Dusty.
Mind the flamin mildew DnD.
JnJ.
FollowupID: 539511

Reply By: kcandco - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:43

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:43
I see this as a win win for the council. Firstly they don't have to pay staff to clean up litter left by the inconsiderate campers and secondly they are forcing campers into caravan parks (council and private) so boosting their revenue. Site fees are going up and up. By the time I get to go for the "The Big One" I'm afraid I wont be able to afford the site fees..... never mind the fuel.

Kc
AnswerID: 275700

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:09

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:09
kcandco:
if that ain't a bullseye,it's gotter be close.Been happening since Moses was a pup probably. First hit us on properties around 1990.And that was in our old stamping ground!!
(Hence my forward thinking to offer a 4wd Gopher track near Tully: imagine the queue! Ex Truckies, burnt-out Tour operators, unrequited Bank Jonnies. Not to mention the smart-arse pseudo academics who have done nothing but know all.....on second thoughts..
G.Geff.
FollowupID: 539528

Reply By: Simali - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:12

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 22:12
What a shame! We have been there twice now and it seemed a perfectspot for taking the kids, It seems more and more lately that some of the simple things we used to enjoy as kids wont be there for our kids to have the same experiences. We dont ask much, just a place to put a tent by the beach, let the kids play in the sand and come 5 o clock light a fire cook some food and settle down to relax for the night. Yes it gets my goat that like everything in life its the 1 or 2 that determine things for the 30 or 40 thousand, people need to start being accountable for their actions and how do we teach our children that??? by closing the sorts of places that you can take them to teach them these values!! Why oh Why cant these people see this ??? Why should the minority rule?
AnswerID: 276154

Reply By: Big Woody - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 06:45

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 06:45
Just to clarify I believe the closures only apply to areas of land controlled by the Burnett Shire Council and not the sections controlled by the Qld National Parks & Wildlife Service.

This means that the Mouth of Kolan River Conservation Park and the Kinkuna Section of the Great Sandy National Park, both of which require permits from the QNPWS, will continue to be accessible to us for beach camping. I think from memory it is about $4 per night to camp in these areas. There is a limit on the numbers of camping permits that they issue for the Kolan River but at least we can still access these areas and camp at affordable rates wand not be forced into caravan parks.

I don't agree with the closures nor do I agree with the timing of the announcement of the closures without forewarning the community. There are going to be many people turning up with loaded 4wd's at Christmas only to be turned around and have to head home again due to either booked out National Parks or the expectation that they have on being able to camp with their families for free.

I also think that we have been quite spoiled in this area for a long time and have been just far enough from the over-regulated south-east corner and all the issues that go with it. This has meant that we have been able to have free beach camping 20 minutes from home in isolation from crowds etc. I think those days are over for us and we will only see more and more of this as the region grows.

I will be signing the petition but I honestly don't hold much hope on it affecting the outcome as councils will always have the issues around liability and insurance as the primary reason for restricting access to these areas.

The future for me probably means that as the freedoms of living in a region that does not have too many rules dissappear, then also I pack up my family and move again to another place that will allow my family to live a simple and safe lifestyle until again the growing monster from S/E Qld catches up with me.

Our other solution has been to "buy"our own space and this year have purchased 2800 acres of steep mountain area with creeks, rainforest, great camping, hiking and best of all, no other campers and we make our own rules.

Brett
AnswerID: 276171

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 07:17

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007 at 07:17
Brett,

I think your "other solution" is the only safe one. Good luck to you.

FollowupID: 540076

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 01:57

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 01:57
Jesus wept Big Woody: 2800 acres: Awesome.Did you win the raffle? ( Or tempt the devil?) Had a Rellie buy 600 acres of slope just S of Innisfail, maybe 30 years back. Last cyclone fairly unfriendly, but not particularly vindictive.
So where are you?That's a bloody large backyard, eh. Especially near the coast.
Brett, this last camping closure is the icing on the cake. We've only got a hectare bloc N of Tully, but, like you, we're gone.
(Strewth, did I just say that? And I'm thinking of selling this hole!! What sort of anti-salesman am I?).
As always, hahaha, and royalties to Gramps.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 540248

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 06:22

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 06:22
Hi Gramps and thank-you for the kind words.

Hi Jeff,
Yes we do feel lucky to be able to have our own private space to escape to. The bonus is that we did not realize prior to the purchase of the land that it has never been logged and have found several creeks that run for many km's with virgin rainforest. Thousands of palms and rainforest timbers with girths equivalent only to those that I have seen in National Parks like Fraser Island and Lamington Range. It is amazing to hike and not see one tree stump and have even found a red cedar with a base diameter of about 6ft. As the mining industry is so progressive in this region and we have no intention of ever clearing or deeloping any of the land I am currently exploring the drafting and signing of a conservation agreement with the Qld Government which will protect the land to a great extent and help to preserve it in it's current form.
We live by the beach at one of the coastal towns out from Bundaberg and the land is about 1.5 hours drive from here.

Brett
FollowupID: 540251