Which Gauges??

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 11:43
ThreadID: 52358 Views:3644 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Well I've just purchased a 2 gauge pod for the cruiser and I'll put my EGT Gauge in one but was wondering what the best gauge would be to put in the other??

The standard Toyota gauges cover oil pres, water temp, battery V, and fuel. The only thing I can think of really is a boost gauge.

Anyone have a better idea??

Reply By: ob - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 12:02

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 12:02
Hughesy
IMHO a turbo boost gauge would be a good idea, the other alternative if you have an automatic and tow with it would be a transmission temp gauge

AnswerID: 275608

Reply By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:08

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:08
G'day Hughesy,
What is your vehicle ? Funny thing I am doing the same on my new 70 TDV8. Thought I might do turbo temp and ??, thats as far as I get.
Where did you get your pod ?

Regards..............BIGDOG
AnswerID: 275612

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:31

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:31
Howdy Bigdog,

Mate I've got a 100 series.

Do a search on ebay mate. The 2 stores that I know sell 4x4 gauge pods are "btpartsspecialists1" which is Black Toyota and "extremelimitsoffroad" which is where I bought mine. They are overpriced for my liking but you ain't got much choice.

Both these mobs will let you purchase by credit card over the phone too if you don't want to go thru ebay.
FollowupID: 539381

Reply By: Fnqt2 - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:34

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:34
Gday , iv done the same to mine , got the gauges from summit raceing http://www.summitracing.com/ and cups from autobarn
AnswerID: 275743

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 12:15

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 12:15
I would like to install a pyrometer but sadly dont know where it connects to and where to get the sender from Would also like to put a quality oil temp gauge on my 100 TD
Any constuctive help is appreciated
FollowupID: 539570

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 13:09

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 13:09
Graham,

Get it touch with Ian from Thermo Guard

FollowupID: 539578

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:30

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 16:30
That looks a treat. Yeah I think I'll get the boost gauge. I was thinking about a second volt gauge for the 2nd battery???

Graham, I'm waiting for the gauge pod to arrive before fitting my pyrometer but they are pretty simple to fit. The one I bought comes with the sensor kit and it can be installed simply by drilling a hole into the exhaust and fitting the supplied clamp over the probe. Or you can weld a special fitting in place and screw the probe in. Then simply run wires back to gauge and then another couple of power/earth wires for the backlight and power and bob's ya aunty...

It will be fiddly but certainly nothing too hard.

Go and have a look at one at an auto shop and see how easy it looks. Recommend looking on ebay before buying as you can save yourself some $$$ - with the money saved maybe pay to have it fitted???
FollowupID: 539603

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 18:02

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 18:02
All Toyotas should be fitted with a "running cost" meter, as the HUGE initial costs and the subsequent drop in value affects your kilometer running costs in a bad way. They were supposed to be fitted as original but Toyota couldn't find a reliable bearing mechanism for the gauge as it would be turning so FAST.........

AnswerID: 275803

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:25

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:25
Thanks for tip Bonz. I diconnected my "running cost gauge" the day I picked it up;)))

My Missus now does the metering for free and you don't even have to have the ignition on to get a reading....
FollowupID: 539683

Reply By: Fnqt2 - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:11

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:11
Gday there, i put the pyro prob into the beaudesert exhaust boss
The fittings that came with pyro kit are 1/8 so i just used a 1/4 to 9/16 male with cap , just drilled a hole in the middle of the cap. Recived excelent service from summit raceing took seven days to get the gaugesSite Link
AnswerID: 275828

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:25

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:25
G'day Hughesy
EGT arrived from the States this morning. Will be fitting it soon.
Just a question- what thread do ya reckon would be set into the exhaust pipe..?? Would it be a gas thread??
AnswerID: 275914

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 19:11

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 19:11
Hi Signman,

I see you've sorted this out before I had time to reply.

Where did you end up getting your EGT Gauge from mate??
FollowupID: 539844

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 08:37

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 08:37
G'day Hughesy,
As you- got the EGT from the US via ebay. $135 incl postage.
Got it yesterday- and fitted it last night. Mounted in the centre 'binnacle' in the Troopy (where the extra fuel gauge is). Very sensitive in operation, haven't got round to taking readings under various conditions yet.
Hope all goes good with your install.
FollowupID: 539915